Shrimps In Tank.

• Replies 66

I having a pair of Harlequin in my 2 feet tanks.

Their diet is only star fish(selective).

Presently the female is reaching to about 4cm in length.

They sticked with their food (star fish) all the time, leaving very time to roam about in the tank. They are deal with the starfish very carefully and be surprise of the way they handler (despite their size they are able to give a F5 to the starfish and then attack it with their special tools). Finally they ejoyed the abundle supply of food slowly.

Once my friend gave me a male Harlequin, I was trilled.

Nevertheless the males begun to fight for the female and ended with one male dead.

cleaner shrimp (CS) eat the parasite off fishes.

so its good to have them. so more to makan

food (wasted) off the sand bed.

so good to have them clean your tank for u.

I like everything small (so cute..) in my tank.

esp sense of achievement when they grow big.

my CS is quite small few months back, now

all so so big..!

Just buy small one, (some LFS charge more

for bigger one) will do. They eat anything

n are greedy buggers. Grow veri fast,

n pretty hardy if condition is good.

Another thing is with bunch of CS, they

will so call set up a base, where fishes

will go there to be cleaned upz. maybe

charged a brine by CS for each wash up.

In nature that's wat it happens lah.

setup a cleaning station.

sjsheng, almost forgot. you veri chio..!!

hey guys i got this problem with my cleaner shrimp leh

very sian now..

my coral banded is chasing my cleaner, my cleaner was bought yesterday. damsel also go and ram it! lol any helpful hints? should i buy another one or what?

current population is damsel, 2 skunk 1 banded 1 cleaner

also will the cleaner clean the skunk clown?

wah i think i very cham liao..

wan,Sep 7 2003, 09:04 PM] hey guys i got this problem with my cleaner shrimp leh

very sian now..

my coral banded is chasing my cleaner, my cleaner was bought yesterday. damsel also go and ram it! lol any helpful hints? should i buy another one or what?

current population is damsel, 2 skunk 1 banded 1 cleaner

also will the cleaner clean the skunk clown?

wah i think i very cham liao..

hey ccoral banded shrimp are very aggressive and territorial thus it is understandable for it to attack your cleaner

wan,Sep 7 2003, 09:49 PM] i rather u adopt the banded..

anyway, can i use scissors to cut off the banded's feelers, pincers, and eyes?

phoar,wait SPCA come after you than you know. :fear:

i think you really suay.i used to keep them together in a 1 ft tank.very peaceful leh.

Your 2 ft tank. has 4 pieces of rocks.(no idea which are live which are dead) crammed into a corner. giving almost no hiding place for the shrimps. ie. they both hide really close to each other. the CB being territorial is going to wack the cleaner out of his house. and the cleaner has absolutely nowhere else to go . Both species are shy and spend a lot of their time hiding and will almost always end up seeing each other.