Why does coraline algae change color

minsmarine

Half of my tank were covered with

I noticed that start from a few day back, they become more on Red side rather than Pink. Anything to worry ?

So far

PH 8.3

NO2 0

NO3 <5

PO4 1

Ca 440

Mg not measured. All are tested with salifest ( wrong spelling ).

Oh they r growning on LR. Some even on the dead SPS frag.

No bubble appear.

Just changing color, so me bit kiasu to ask :P

My LR r start growing green stuffs ( like grass ) past 2 weeks while coraline algae chaning color to red.

Ok now good or bad, and why , how :0 so many q hah

No bubble appear.

My LR r start growing green stuffs ( like grass ) past 2 weeks while coraline algae chaning color to red.

Pic tells a thousand word, show us a pic.

Eric

No bubble appear.

same here.

has been happening for quite a while...but no hair algae

the red stuff not sure if slimy but like ink on the glass can be clean off

already have coraline "roses" here and there :D just imagine how quick and fast they coat

they are red, slimy and can be cleaned off leh.... u sure they are coralline algae and not cyano??!?! <_<

what he meant was red algae doesn't mean cyno... could be coralline too.. i have lots of them too :( still think purple is nicer... haha..

no lah...mine is hard...not slimy kind..

Yah loh, read somewhere that coralines comes in different shades, from deep purple (almost black) to pink. ;)

As long as they are hard and encrusting, I would not loose a sweat of it. :P

Yah loh, read somewhere that coralines comes in different shades, from deep purple (almost black) to pink. ;)

As long as they are hard and encrusting, I would not loose a sweat of it. :P

yes i agree.. i got lots of green and red as well.. weird rocks i have <_<

what he meant was red algae doesn't mean cyno... could be coralline too.. i have lots of them too :( still think purple is nicer... haha..

I like those deep purple ones. ;)

Have lots of them now growing. I prefer them to the common purple ones. :P

Which types you like Bro Ekia? :)

I like those deep purple ones. ;)

Have lots of them now growing. I prefer them to the common purple ones. :P

Which types you like Bro Ekia? :)

The deep purple ones of course.. need to grow a number of purple coralline layers over each other to achieve deep purple... need lots of time and calcium.. haha....

Ok guys, it's what I noticed. After 5 days away from my tank.

Where there is direct light from MH, all gone DEEP RED. I am very sure it's coraline alge cause it's hard , can't get rid of it. And it's change the color from purple.

Where less light, Purple.

Low Low light, pink.

So I would say, depended on light source.