education in Australia

terryansimon

wolfie: Queensland is great. i hv driven over 2000++ km to melbourne. on the way visiting sydney and canberra during one of the short winter breaks for a road trip. i find sydney a little 2 complicated and busy. canberra is boring. melbourne is great 2. for reefers, cairns will be the best place.

cool... thanks for the insight dude... ;)

• Replies 56

wolfie sound like u reali interested in studyin over there! :o

i guess studyin overseas oso mean being independent & being able 2 take care of urself & being able 2 do housework by urself! :rolleyes::evil:

u r absolutely right!!! better learn how to cook!!!

hey guys i'm really interested too... taking my a levels in less than 2 weeks time and i was wondering what are the requirements to go to an australian Uni?

is it O'levels and 1 sem foundation or A'levels?

can someone enlighten me?

considering this as i am not confident to get into a local university at this point of time. not doing very well in sch now... :huh:

hey guys i'm really interested too... taking my a levels in less than 2 weeks time and i was wondering what are the requirements to go to an australian Uni?

considering this as i am not confident to get into a local university at this point of time. not doing very well in sch now...  :huh:

try harder for ur local exams. ;) u will save ur folks lots of monies by going to a local uni. can use the monies saved to build a bigger reef tank. :yeah:

:off: machiam talking to myself. ryan talking to ryan. :pinch:

considering this as i am not confident to get into a local university at this point of time. not doing very well in sch now... :huh:

the req for aust uni is simply ur A levels...

a B average will get u to almost anywhere in a good uni (GO8)...

(law, medicine & bio aside)...

it really depends on the course you want to take....some might be as difficult it get in as compared to local uni...for example i want to take vet science...but the requirements are AAB...and it is not easy to get in...me and my cousin decide to take zoology first then go on to take vet science...easier to get into vet course this way...

I suppose it really depends on what you're looking for besides earning that degree / masters etc. In WA, its all about getting away from the hustle bustle, being close to nature, and maintaining a relatively carefree lifestyle.

Like Ryan, I spent most of my holidays travelling outside the city. Take a short 1.5 hour southerly drive to Busselton's 2km long jetty and go deepsea fishing without a boat, or a little further to Margaret River to taste some fine wine and enjoy some surf, Valley of Giants or find that elusive 'Last Fish and Chips stall before the Antartic' is kinda fun. And that is just south. There is the Northerly drive through lobster industry where you can stuff your face, and up to the reserve parks to take in the raw power of nature. Think my buddies and I travelled enough distance to circle Australia a number of time.

On a realistic note, its not all about having fun. Not on 'mother-father scholarship', I put myself through school by taking a part time job as a kitchen hand in an Indian takeaway; struggling to pay rent and worry about if you're gonna have money for lunch is all about learning to be independent.

a little contribution on queensland:

Brisbane is a fine city. i see no truth on racism (except on a few rare occasions) and pauline hanson is nothing but a piece of history now. like wat i said, gold coast (surfers' para) is juz an hour drive away. along the way, there is movie world, sea world, etc. drive further down the pacific motorway, u will get to the most easterly point of australia which is byron's bay. at byron's bay, during the right season, u will get to see the humpback whales, free swimming dolphins (i saw a pink dolphin there!!!) treasury casino is in brisbane city itself, conrad jupiter is in gold coast. up the other way, there is sunshine coast......... so on and so forth. lots of koalas and kangaroos in the enclosures..........

like wat Rumor said, it is not all abt having fun. balance btw ur studies and enjoyment. i'm sure most will get thru very fine.

like wat the aussies will say: cheers, mate. ;)

honestly. i am tempted to go over there to study for various reasons.

i want to get away from this hectic lifestyle and start over somewhere else. i want to learn to be more independent and responsible. and also my grades are not very good.

i may be wrong, but i feel that if i go there to study on my own, i will learn much more than if i stay here to study. things like how to settle problems on my own, discipline independence and stuff. but of course this is provided my parents only give me just enough money.

on the other hand i know that this will be very costly for my parents and a local uni will definately be the better option.

i may just chose to stay here but i don't want to have to chose a course i am forced to take because of my poor grades. if i can't get into a course i like here then i guess going overseas will be a better option as then i will more likely be able to do i a course that interests me.

what do you guys think? :erm:

i want to get away from this hectic lifestyle and start over somewhere else. i want to learn to be more independent and responsible. and also my grades are not very good.

i may be wrong, but i feel that if i go there to study on my own, i will learn much more than if i stay here to study. things like how to settle problems on my own, discipline independence and stuff. but of course this is provided my parents only give me just enough money.

on the other hand i know that this will be very costly for my parents and a local uni will definately be the better option.

i may just chose to stay here but i don't want to have to chose a course i am forced to take because of my poor grades. if i can't get into a course i like here then i guess going overseas will be a better option as then i will more likely be able to do i a course that interests me.

do what u think and feel is right. no one can decide for u. u make the best out of urself. the future lies in ur own hands. ;)

yea...i agree with u ...by going overseas to study, one can learn more then what they learn from school...and IMO..its a better alternative to go overseas to study after studying poly then jc...cos a diploma holder earns more as compared to a A'level cert holder...so this can help lighten the cost burden...

studying in a private school taking an overseas degree is a good alternative...i would take that route if possible but there is no vet science course in local uni or private schools...so i have to take the overseas route...

however...going overseas to take up another course still depends on your grades...i dont think theres overseas uni have a much lower cut off grade to enter a course...but i do agree that taking a course that interest you is very important....or else can end up constantly changing courses...

I'm going overseas because it's the shortest route I can think of to get a degree and come back to work ASAP to support my mother. people who know me better will know the precarious situation I am in, and I sometimes wonder why am I spending even more money on the reeftank.

wolfie...nah it's okay. don't take this as an attack, but I personally find the mass comm dip in ngee ann to be a bit overhyped. which is why I decided to go overseas to pursue a dip and deg. like I said before, it's a matter of perception. but having seen one too many pseudo intellects running around, it really kinda turns you off. sad, but true. :(

ryan...your A level results should be good enough to get you to an Aussie uni. don't need to do foundation or Dip part 1/2. waste of time, unless you are attempting to enter a course that your A Level results doesn't qualify you for.

lightningstrike/Rumor...I see what you guys mean. when I was at Perth, the pace of life was too slow and agonising for me to tahan. not that I should be complaining, since my main priority is to study and not to enjoy myself. but at the end of the day, I got bored of Perth after four days and I wanted to drive back up to Melbourne desperately. *we flew back to Melbourne in the end. :P*

to the rest...

make your decisions wisely. going to Australia, be it for education or just to get cheap cars, will put a HUGE dent in your parent's pocket. unless you have loads of moral fibre and work your guts out like what Rumor did to pay for his own rent and studies, I think the main emphasis should be on education, rather than the way of life there. or the babes for that matter. I myself will be taking up a loan which will probably cripple me financially for a while when I come out to work, but it's a risk and a possibility that I have to undertake.

so before you go, make sure that your parents are completely fine with it. not nice to go there and enjoy yourself whilst studying, whilst your parents struggle to make ends meet down here. unless you are in a LPPL situation. but...for your sake, I hope not.

PS...lightningstrike...I may end up selling my tank. my mother may be taking a posting to Thailand for up to two years when I'm in Aussie Land. gee. :(

wolfie...nah it's okay. don't take this as an attack, but I personally find the mass comm dip in ngee ann to be a bit overhyped. which is why I decided to go overseas to pursue a dip and deg. like I said before, it's a matter of perception. but having seen one too many pseudo intellects running around, it really kinda turns you off. sad, but true. :(

:pinch:

I'll agree with you... partially...

not the entire course is so superb lah...

there are black sheep modules...

I'll stop my quote here... anymore and we'll have to start a "Bitch abt NP's Mass Comm" thread...

back to topic...

I haf a qn for the been-there-done-that-dudes...

*ahem*

"Given my previous tertiary bkgrd, I'm torn between doing a Bachelor in my previous study (Mass Comm), like Journalism and doing a general Bachelor of Arts (most likely majoring in Political Science & Econs)... Any advice?

:pinch:

I'll agree with you... partially...

not the entire course is so superb lah...

there are black sheep modules...

I'll stop my quote here... anymore and we'll have to start a "Bitch abt NP's Mass Comm" thread...

back to topic...

I haf a qn for the been-there-done-that-dudes...

*ahem*

"Given my previous tertiary bkgrd, I'm torn between doing a Bachelor in my previous study (Mass Comm), like Journalism and doing a general Bachelor of Arts (most likely majoring in Political Science & Econs)... Any advice?

wolfie: like wat i said, do wat u think and feel is right. u r the one who is gonna reap wat u sow in the end. ;)

you can check the entry requirements at the various UNI websites . for foundation + O level its not listed but you can contact a seperate company . i forgot who . and ask about its . its 1 year of Foundation not 1 sem . tuition fees is around 13k a sem .

tuition fee is not $13k. that is the rough average. it can be more or less. a foundation in engineering for example, can set you back up to $16k per year.

and are you sure it's $13k per sem and not per year?

that makes it $26k per year. it's like paying for a year's worth of tuition in a medical degree.

not so ex lah.

it's $13k average for one year's worth of tuition in foundation.