shrimps and crabs

• Replies 220

their harlequin shrimp is so tiny, really cute looking. at $15 each... thinking of getting 3 more. :rolleyes:

Hi Coelacanth,

I think you were a little late... cos there are 2 large ones when the srock first arrive....

BTW, Kwang brings Harlequins in regularly... you might be interested in waiting if big specimens are your choice....

Hi Coelacanth,

I think you were a little late... cos there are 2 large ones when the srock first arrive....

BTW, Kwang brings Harlequins in regularly... you might be interested in waiting if big specimens are your choice....

Hi Phang,

i din miss the big ones, just that i got two of it myself... abt 2 inches each after several molts.

Reborn selling one large one at $50, some more short of one "petal".

check out my Dancing/clown/painted shrimp. (that's their common names)

http://arofanatics.com/members/coelacanth/...arlequinshrimp/

hi bluebeard,

my porcelains anemone crabs are doing very well together leh, just that it'll chase my anemone fish away. :D

cute animals, always "fanning" itself, maybe like that i dun need a chiller cos it'll cool itself? kekekeke... :P

post-8-1038331255.jpg

Hi Phang,

i din miss the big ones, just that i got two of it myself... abt 2 inches each after several molts.

Reborn selling one large one at $50, some more short of one "petal".

check out my Dancing/clown/painted shrimp. (that's their common names)

http://arofanatics.com/members/coelacanth/...arlequinshrimp/

hi bluebeard,

my porcelains anemone crabs are doing very well together leh, just that it'll chase my anemone fish away. :D

cute animals, always "fanning" itself, maybe like that i dun need a chiller cos it'll cool itself? kekekeke... :P

hahaahhaa.. ya lor.. their fanning very cute... always wonder what are they fanning since i cannot see them.

i manage to feed those i kept last time with some kind of hermit crab pellet.

maybe mine didn't fight each other, maybe they fight with the shrimps or the other kind of crabs.

actually not alot if u know how. quite confusing at first. i enter from the malay village down there...

walk... i think u better print out the map. :P

actually walking from the malay village you won't get lost but it's a longer way.

the shortest way is,

Paya Lebar MRT

Katong Shopping Centre

Lion City Hotel

Haig Road Block 10 until you get to block 2

and down the small road and you are almost there!

i know the place inside out because i live them almost 20 years!

Hi Coelacanth,

How many Harlequins do you have???? :blink:

hi phang,

i got 3 HS altogether, two female. :D

ya, the fanning of the PAC (Procelain Anemone Crab) is actually to catch food, i saw mine netting a big brine shrimp... so they are definitely not full time plankton feeder... only part time. haha... :lol:

PAC are helpful in clearing the slime of the anemone also.

Hi coelacanth!

Nice to koe another Harlequin Shrimp fan! :)

Juz out of interest...how do u differentiate the females? I usually realize that the ones wif the blue legs (beneath its belly) is the female (larger than its partner too) n often carry eggs...

Is there another way of telling it?

I'm gonna break the cycle

I'm gonna shake up the system

I'm gonna destroy my ego

I'm gonna close my body now

hi B|uEc@rpEt,

unfortunately, thats the way i use to ###### them at the LFS too, the one with purplish pleopods are often the female... true indeed, eggs are seen after i introduced the "male" as supposed, as both of them stick together and hunt as a team... and chasing away the other female.

and also, though the female is the larger of the two, but in the LFS, u cannot tell the difference. :lol:

Wow Jelly fish?

Have not seen them in quite a while...how long have u kept them? And how do u koe its not doing well? I've heard that its real diff to keep them...am i rite to say that they r the non-stingy type n hence wun harm ya horses?

I'm gonna destroy my ego

hi B|uEc@rpEt,

i kept my Jellys for just 3 weeks. they are small so not possible to sting the horses, but i dun guarantee the baby horse. really tire me out to keep them, unless u have available sources for plankton, dun keep them. i'm left with the last one.

u can c that they are less active than previously bot, sometimes motionless. like dead. :( very discouraging.

I posted a thread about jellyfish some time back.

I strongly discourage the keeping of jellyfish as we are not able to provide:

1. The kind of specialised jellyfish tank that doesn't damage them ie. free of corners, and has a circulation system that doesn't suck them into the filter.

2. The food that they require ie. plankton and zooplankton.

Drop the demand and they'll stop supplying... let them be in the sea.

Hi C...

Sorrie to hear about ya jelly fish thingy...they r quite hard to be kept alive in our tanks. But I can understand how come u decided to give it a go :) I have a fren wif a successful species tank of jelly fishes

And oh...were u the one who was looking for decorator crabs? Or was it someone else?

I'm gonna destroy my ego