The Nano Vs Cost

Big Eye

Hi Bros,

Anyone of you guys out there have any ideals or pics that can share with us on your successful nano tank setup with the least amount of money spent.

The challenge to the limit of space and money.

CHEERS :D

:bow:

to reduce $$$, try to get 2nd hand stuff...

There are bro upgrading, if you buy stuff from them, you are helping them recoup or get some $$$ for their new project AND most imporrant will also help yourself!

For my case, I bought 2nd hand:

Red Sea Skimmer, coming 30kg LRs, Various Corals, Light set, fishes...Overall they will cost $400 - $500...

MOST my stuff are 2nd hand, except my ehiem Liberty 200 & surfcae skimmer are from my previous planted tanks.

Just a picture of what you need for a Nano:

Tank 1½ - 2ft tank (many louhan people are getting rid of them) can get 2 with WI stnad and use one as Sump! Less than $50, I got ONE TANK FREE, owner treat me drink tea for getting rid for him!! hahah!

Lights, many here are letting go of their PL for T5 or T5 (upgrade to MH) or 150W MH (upgrade to 250W MH) buy them! value for money! 150W MH going for price like $150... mine if $25 FL light but I upgrade it with spare ballast and PL tube to 2x36W.

Skimmer like weipro 2012 cost $20 - $50 with pump! I got a HangOn Prizm skimmer which cost more, since I got no sump to hide bulky stuff...

Return Pumps, LRocks, Sand, Live Stocks, additives can also get from people giving up or upgrading. prices range from rediculously cheap to reasonable, never cut throat! Hobbist don't cheat other hobbist!

You will be able to start a "VERY WELL" equipped and stocked Nano with ±$300... I did mine with that slightly more budget, as I got lot of other stuff as package deal. buying new will cost you more than double! My tank thread

heres the breakdown of cost for my nano.

LRs - from my previous tank

Softies - from my previous tank

Sand - from my previous tank

Lights - comes with tank

Powerhead - comes with tank

Filtration(bioballs,filters) - from my previous tank

LS

Griessingeri Goby - $60

Camel Goby - $ :whistle

2 x ###### Shrimps - $12

No skimmer.

So total setup should be less than $ 100 excluding livestock.

heres the breakdown of cost for my nano.

LRs - from my previous tank

Softies - from my previous tank

Sand - from my previous tank

Lights - comes with tank

Powerhead - comes with tank

Filtration(bioballs,filters) - from my previous tank

LS

Griessingeri Goby - $60

Camel Goby - $ :whistle

2 x ###### Shrimps - $12

No skimmer.

So total setup should be less than $ 100 excluding livestock.

Dude, you used everything from your previous tank of cos super low budget!

Just the mini tank with the built in lights and filter will cost $70 - 120 liao!

filter media $10 (cheap ones) if Ehiem, BioHome then another story

LR 5 KG & Sand cheapo also about $30

5 small of piece of Beginner LPS Coral $25

humm...dear nano bros,

what I meant was the hardware and maybe your tanks photo with the DIY hardware and how well the corals or live stock are doing leh!!!!

As for me -->

Skimmer -- $free (as I got it from someone because it was spoil)

Air pump - $16

2 Dymax Lighting 2 x 2ft T5 -- $56 ($28 x 2)

Digital Themometer - $7

Hang over Filter ( small) - $5

JEPO Power head - $15

Timer - $8

EHEIM Surface skimmer - $34

EHEIM Cannister Filter 2213 - $96

Valve and mis piping stuff - $21

Magnet - $8

Bio Home - $18

2 seachem De*nitrate - $36 ($18x2)

Sand 0,0.1,0.3 size - $20

Cheap left over Dead Rocks from Fish Shop 15kg - $60

Total: $400

I will go take the Pics now post it later....heeheehe!!

Cheers Bros.....

:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P:P

jd.. laxing lah.. he is juz new to here.. hahax.. explain to him lor.. hmmm.. after all wad exactly he trying to make.. hahax.. sry..

oh very very the sorry guys but i thought the bigger easier for you all to see....... to details!!! Guess i was wrong... Anyhow thank you my friends for the trouble of resizing the pics for me........heehee!!!

I own you two....

Here are more pics....

post-69-1108178481.jpg