My Sun Coral Opened!

RockLobster

• Replies 60

When the sun smells 'food' in water column, they should opened up big, big..... Yours is not fully open leh.... can try target feed them with soaked pellets, mysis shrimps, henry formula food, they will open even bigger.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

you must had a hard time getting them to open up initially?

they get better than this. when fully bloom, almost like a jewel coral.

The trick is fixing a daily time schedule to feed them. trust me they can tell the time like a clock. you can use kareen advice on the types of food to use. Mysis shrimp and cyclopeeze is a good start

you must had a hard time getting them to open up initially?

they get better than this. when fully bloom, almost like a jewel coral.

The trick is fixing a daily time schedule to feed them. trust me they can tell the time like a clock. you can use kareen advice on the types of food to use. Mysis shrimp and cyclopeeze is a good start

Thanks!

Currently I have the full range of Kent Marine food which I'm cycling everyday to feed them.

Thinking of getting cyclopleeze(???).. thanks for the advice...

But I suspect the water flow to powerful thats why it didn't extend all the way out? :paiseh:

Previous I put it in the part of the tank where the flow is not that much so dunno if i should move it to another location..

I used to think that Sun Corals require strong water flow. But from my recent experience, I found that they don't really care about water flow or lights.

As long as you feed it regularly, it will bloom happily for your enjoyment -- even in bright lights and slow flow. That's what I observed for mine. :)

Here's mine from ML.

It is in the sump because I haven't decided where to put it.

The sump is lit all day and water flow is very slow.

But as soon as it smells food, its tentacles will extend to catch food. :yeah:

One word. Champion. :upsidedown::upsidedown::upsidedown:

Think the mod can remove my pic..... you just set the standard for me :paiseh:

Here's mine from ML.

If you not sure where to put it, I'll sacrifice some space on my tank lor...;)

Here's mine from ML.

But as soon as it smells food, its tentacles will extend to catch food.  :yeah:

wah!!! very nice leh...what u feed to make them open up so big???

i feed mine with cyclop...

by the way..dun bombard me ok ... i actually saw blue sun coral at pasir ris...

on that piece, there is orange, red, yellow, black and blue... did not check out the price..cos that time not really interested in sun coral :pinch:

btw, congrats to RockLobster..you must have a hard time making them opens up.. :D

by the way..dun bombard me ok ... i actually saw blue sun coral at pasir ris...

on that piece, there is orange, red, yellow, black and blue... did not check out the price..cos that time not really interested in sun coral :pinch:

btw, congrats to RockLobster..you must have a hard time making them opens up.. :D

Thanks, but now looking at the other bro's sun corals.... wondering if mine can ever reach that 'level' of 'openess' :P:P:P

Now looking to get more sun corals when I'm more confident that I can meet their requirements... :angel:

Here's mine from ML.

looks good, how often u feed. tentacles seems long and nice.

If you not sure where to put it, I'll sacrifice some space on my tank lor...;)

Haha ... cute. :lol:

Yup, Cyclopeeze is a good start to get them interested in food. I also give them some variety such as Henry's Food, frozen brine shimps, etc. :)

looks good, how often u feed. tentacles seems long and nice.

Almost every night. ;)

....  wondering if mine can ever reach that 'level' of 'openess'  :P  :P  :P

Now looking to get more sun corals when I'm more confident that I can meet their requirements...  :angel:

I'm sure you'll be able to achieve it.

The way to encourage Sun Corals to thrive is to feed them -- target feeding is the best.

Let me know if you have anymore queries and I'll do my best to help.

Good luck. :)

hi william,

how do you go about target feeding? inside the tank or just like what spsman recommend (take it out from the tank and feed inside a container)? :rolleyes:

i tried taking them out but their polyps retract instead of opening.. :(

i tried another method of putting a container inside the tank covering it (with openings) to target feed...but i dun see it feeding leh <_<

lastly, i just put cyclop near the power head...some polyps did open but not all...and not abit like yours.. :cry2:

how, huh? :unsure: