Mixed salt?

ed-15

i have 1 bio marine salt.. mixed with unknown brand.. as i buy frm the auntie at bukit timah shopping centre.. package in a clear plastic bag no brand.. so wonder can i use bio marine salt and the "unknown brand" together...

that one most likely is R******* brand..do you know the shop in serangoon area?

they are the maker..it contains silicate mann...

please dun mix the bio marine salt (silicate free) with the rainbow salt.. :erm:

Edited by DeepBlue

that one most likely is R******* brand..do you know the shop in serangoon area ?

they are the maker..it contains silicate mann...

please dun mix the bio marine salt (silicate free) with the rainbow salt.. :erm:

bro,

have you tested R******'s salt for silicates?

if no, how can u be so sure that it contains silicates?

if there are no tests done, meaning no concrete proof, i wouldn't spell the company's name out then.

beware of the legal liabilities, its not worth it.

just my 2 cents.

Edited by DeepBlue

most of us hate diatom cos' it is hard to get rid & unsightly..

it is safe for LS..but you will get brown algae all over all tank leh... if it is budget concern for marine salt..probably you can go for something cheaper and silicate free...

bro diabolus,

this is what i observed...

i usually use Instant Ocean mixed with bottled distilled water for my tank (there was no problem) ..so one day i was having budget constraint..i went to get a pack of marine salt (as mentioned above)

afew days later my tank is full of diatom. the photo period all remain unchange and i feed my ls very sparingly....

just sharing my experience with that brand of salt lor :(

Edited by DeepBlue

bro,

i understand where u are coming from,

i'm sure alot of reefers who had used this salt before can testify to this.

but until someone comes up with the concrete proof of that brand of salt containing silicates, then its better to be more discreet when mentioning names.