Wat has happened to SRC?

diabolus

Guys and gals,

wat have happen to this forum?

it used to be fun and peaceful. a place where information,reviews(quality ones) and advises are dished out freely and willingly. There was little flame starting,flame throwing going on.

Now, when i log on, i see reefers talking bad about others. Disgruntled businessmen trying to bring down another company by defamations. reviews are none forthcoming or totally lame(except for a few)....etc etc. Old birds like Morgan,Bawater,Hon are all gone.

Maybe we should really take a step back and find out wat went wrong. Is SRC heading into the wrong direction? Its true that our membership numbers have gone from strength to strength...but have the quality of the posts improved?

Maybe i'm just babbling nonsense, but having been in the forum for abt 2 years, i dun want to see it head down the wrong side of the road.

anyway, just my 35 cents worth.

B)

you know what...every evening when I come back after my reservist duties(lucky me...phew..), I see this discussions on flaming, cheating, misunderstanding.. rudeness..... blah blah blah ...............

Getting sick of talking about this and pple going after each other....

Please....dun we have other things to talk about???

Hear hear!!!!

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

you know what...every evening when I come back after my reservist duties(lucky me...phew..), I see this discussions on flaming, cheating, misunderstanding.. rudeness..... blah blah blah ...............

Getting sick of talking about this and pple going after each other....

Please....dun we have other things to talk about???

Bro, you're a Mod rite? You have the power! ;)

Wrong lah.... should be this pic: (Bern, Rodimus Prime dun shout "I have the power!!") :P

he-man.jpg

post-54-1107833267.gif

Wrong lah.... should be this pic: (Bern, Rodimus Prime dun shout "I have the power!!") :P

he-man.jpg

wa piangz...

u never watch the movie ar?

when Hot Rod got hold of the matrix, the background song was going "you got the power"

anyway, He-Man shouts "i have the power"

Wah... can see your childhood is very enjoyable... even the music also take note... my bad my bad... hehe... dun flame me hor!!!! This days got plenty stock for flamebacks.

Anyway, to answer your big question above: tineng and others (in another thread) is right that people nowadays relied too much on computers to express their feelings as opposed to voicing them out to the intended accused... in a gentlemanly manner of course! :)

When one complained, others will definately jump in to help "stir the shit". Then others picked up the lead and started another complain thread.... the accused will start another thread so on and forth. Then before you know it... the shit starts hitting the fan and bang... many left feeling more unhappy then before. "bro groups" are more susceptible of this as they felt compelled to stand out and support their "bro" be it an infair trade issue or a misunderstood comment.

Disclaimer: No offense to anyone who thinks its you I'm talking about... I meant things in generalise terms. :) (Now must post disclaimer liao... life is tough being a marine aquarist/hobbist that likes to find information and LIKEMINDED hobbist online)

post-54-1107833267.gif

reviews are none forthcoming or totally lame(except for a few)....etc etc.

hi bro...i'm thinking of doing a review on the aquapharm epoxy that i bought from AquaM.

but i don't really know how to and what details should be included

can you guide me?

would gladly follow the guidelines, don't wanna end up with a lame review :P

Jus like any organisation, u put humans together n conflicts sure to crop up lah. More so now that this has become such a commercialised site as well..... So Sad............ :cry2: Just remember : Everybody has his or her own agenda lah.... u, me, other members, AT, the mods.... Its just that when someone tries to impose their will too strongly on others, then u get the "push back" effect. Inevitable cause & effect

Guys and gals,

wat have happen to this forum?

it used to be fun and peaceful. a place where information,reviews(quality ones) and advises are dished out freely and willingly. There was little flame starting,flame throwing going on.

Now, when i log on, i see reefers talking bad about others. Disgruntled businessmen trying to bring down another company by defamations. reviews are none forthcoming or totally lame(except for a few)....etc etc. Old birds like Morgan,Bawater,Hon are all gone.

Maybe we should really take a step back and find out wat went wrong. Is SRC heading into the wrong direction? Its true that our membership numbers have gone from strength to strength...but have the quality of the posts improved?

Maybe i'm just babbling nonsense, but having been in the forum for abt 2 years, i dun want to see it head down the wrong side of the road.

anyway, just my 35 cents worth.

B)

Bro, nothing wld happened if ppl dealt with things in a calm and cool mind.

some ppl chose to remain silent but silent has it limits...sad but true that's how war evolve. ;)

go for it man hahaha

go for it man

Maybe we should reconsider the idea of "Premium" and "Basic" membership again....

Remember we discussed this before?

Maybe basic members can't trade or something? I dunno... just wide-guessing/brainstorming...

Anyway, as what most bros suggested, once your forum website start to grow... it is most definite that you will get all sorts of people.... no choice....

I believe once the fad for marine tank is over (hopefully), then the true reefers will remain...

AT,

I suggest we close SRC and let all the members migrate to whichever local/overseas marine forum they like.

Let 'them' have a taste of all the shit you have to endure all this while and see if they can still stick to their credo. :lol:

Oh Marineman... you read my mind!

The first order of things is to get a Gestapo organization in place, followed by giving mods the power to control street thugs to help reinforce a zero tolerance policy against any hint of dissent, any word of doubt against the all powerful, all perfect mega corporation of SRC.

Labour camps will be organized under the guise of volunteer work and protection money will be paid out to us or else!

Law and order will become an easy task because quick executions will be a 2 second job!

I can see the future, and its bright! Muahahhahhaahaha!!!!!! :lol:

I'm kidding folks, don't take me too seriously.

AT,

I suggest we close SRC and let all the members migrate to whichever local/overseas marine forum they like.

Let 'them' have a taste of all the shit you have to endure all this while and see if they can still stick to their credo. :lol:

I remember the days when SRC was newly set up. Membership was only a handful of mature reefers. We were cordial and honest to fellow reefers with a genuine interest to learn and share.

When the crowd gets bigger, there is bound to be conflict. It is in the best interest of the club that such disputes are settled as amicably as possible. Are our moderators 'High handed'? I seriously think they have been more than tolerant.

I must say it is quite funny to read the quarrels. But the moderators here are so predictable that it takes a big part of the joy away. They will let you vent your frustrations a little. Then advice to take it out of thread and settle privately. Only when things get out of hand do they lock the thread indefinitely and give warning to the parties involved.

What if i am involved and i refuse to leave things as it is and i start another thread flaming the other party? What if i use strong words and run down the moderators for interfering? What if i insist on getting support from my 'khakis' and slam the forum and everyone else who disagrees with me?

What if there is such a forum that condone my behavior because the forum is for disgruntled i.e unreasonable and unwelcomed SRC reefers like me :pinch:

What if this forum is a special place for free thinking and spirited people that find it offensive to have their posts deleted or have threads they are interested in be stopped?

I think if there is such a place. Maybe i will take my quarrels to that forum and use it as my battlefield. :lol: And i suggest anyone else who has an axe to grind to do it there to! Do your shit there ..clean up our ###### and come home to SRC smelling nice and fresh.

sniff.....I smell the fresh morning dew.... :):P