Klim 4ft Tank - Migrating from 6mm to 10mm

klim

After lots of advice by friends whom kept telling me that a 6mm tank will not hold enough LR and goodies and imagine that my dining room will be like a swimming pool once it break :sick:

So when a friend told me that he wanna gave away a 10mm tank, I quickly asked for it. It is kind of :shock: when I received it...a 4*2*2 10 mm glass tank with rod iron stand...(it's so huge!)

After much deliberation, I have decided to post my tank pics here so that all the bros in the forum can give me your valuable advice!

Here it goes..... :pinch:

• Replies 184

Thats all for now...wait for the cycling...shouldn't be too long, I hope ;)

My Skimmer have been skimming for a day and no skimmate, not even bubbles... :unsure: dun know whether it spoiled a not???

Now need to shop for light...dun think my T5 NO light can support this tank...properbly a chiller too....Wa koaz, going to be broke liao...

Btw, the night which I received the tank, was contemplating whether the RIS can tahan anot...couldn't sleep the whole night.. :sick:

But then next day my wife said no problem, so I believed her lor...anything happened I won't kana blame :P(actually read thru a few thread and found many reefer also using RIS)

So risk, risk lah...No risk No gain...actually gain nothing but rather than spending another few hundreds for a few wood...also dun know how long can I keep this hobby..reason I might be going oversea.

Anyway, thanks for reading.... :D

djviper Posted on Jul 12 2005, 12:59 PM

my 6ft is on a RIS.... still standing after 8th month... 

Thanks for the encouragement... :D

sinner Posted on Jul 12 2005, 01:22 PM

do u have any ideal that wrought iron stands are RUST MAGNETS? they'll rust very very soon.... 

I know, but what to do....running tight budget, Poor Man Reefing:(

weileong Posted on Jul 12 2005, 01:24 PM

and when they start to rust, you'll be migrating again 

:cry2:

Anyway, :thanks: everybody for the comment, pls keep coming :)

bro, told u straight away whack 6ft tank already. . :lol::lol:

metal stand is indeed dangerous. . might last you slightly more than a year, but the risk is there. .

where is the bubbles ?? that u brought last time ??

it not really that tall after all can reach the bottom with a help of chair

bro, told u straight away whack 6ft tank already. . :lol::lol:

metal stand is indeed dangerous. . might last you slightly more than a year, but the risk is there. .

Okay lah, U r right :bow:

The reason I continued is because after searching the forum, found out that a few senior reefer also used RIS before.

Well, wehn the time that the stand is too rusty, will do a swap again lor..take it as rework on the tank to ensure that sandbed is clean again.

where is  the bubbles ?? that u brought last time ??

it not really that tall after all can reach the bottom with a help of chair

The bubbles is in the small tank..waiting for the tank to cycle in the mean time.

U r right..after checking it is not that tall. :upsidedown:

Your Avatar is cute...u drew it yourself?? :D

create it lol but not by me

try not to put too much rocks in the tank as the stand will give way after mths and mths

also know a few reefer change their stand after few mth