H&S Sulphur/Nitrate Filter 110-F1000

Melvyn Tan

bro Melvyn, i donno how to write review lah. maybe we can discuss about it when we meet again in SL :lol:

BTW we met on last friday, remember we talked about the sulphur reactor

Oh its you !!! You are such an expert and have been reefing for a very long time so gotta :bow: to you :D Yes it'll be great to discuss and learn more from you when the time permits.

Nah, my little blue hamster only drink RON92, how can I feed Jaguar with Vpower? Besides, my hamster is afraid of being eaten by Jaguar. Haha.

Denitrator is only on my wish list, not wanted list. My next immediate needs are lighting upgrade. 2x250w.

Wish list can become wanted list, see the review from zarkon, a good one.

You have blue hamster, i dun even have hamster, infact during that time of emergency, your hamster save my tank man ! Thanks again Bro !!! Will make popiah for you again...

Hi Bro,

Found this article, are they talking about the same thing here?

http://www.aquaculturemag.com/siteenglish/...dfs/PARAGO1.PDF

Yes they are talking about the various ways to rid nitrite and nitrate, and the sulphur way of denitrification is one experimented and tested success method of denitrification. Thanks for the good info bro !!!

You so modest ;)

Made a measurement today for the denitrator's output and tank.

The measurement for the tank is at 20ppm

post-14-1130514400.jpg

Output from denitrator remains at 0ppm

post-14-1130514459.jpg

By the way, photo editing is such a sensitive thing nowadays, nonetheless i need to tell all who read this that no form of editing is done, nor cheating or lying in the results....reading all the pages of debates between different factions within SRC in "debates" gives me the creeps.

Anyway...fish and reef on...

The feed is by an external pump,right?Or it come with it own pump?

What kind of flow rate is required?

Regards

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

wow. do u feed yr fishes the same way before purchase of the denitrator?

Yesh bro, feed it more infact - everyday w/o fail nori, pellets (kent formula 1 & 2) and 4-6 cubes of mysis + garlic juice quantity of feeding spread out both in the morning + evening.

Understand from sunny that henry's food is superb and awaiting to get some leh...

Do you notice any different in your fishes? Colour, appetite, behaviour etc... :)

The behaviour of the fishes have been observed - they all appears to be normal, appetite are just as good. Colours still as vibrant. One difference, when i feed my fishes with mysis using my fingers they all come nibble on my fingers, the hardest nibbler is the sohal :lol:

The feed is by an external pump,right?Or it come with it own pump?

What kind of flow rate is required?

Regards

It comes with its own pump. Whether you run it internally or externally, the same pump will be used to draw the water from the sump.

Some pics on the bacteria

post-14-1130599747.jpg

Utilisation of the sulphur - a cavity formed

post-14-1130599829.jpg

Another pic - different angle of the cavity formed

post-14-1130599901.jpg

Sulphur

post-14-1130599966.jpg

bro, I also suffering from high No3, saw ur review, drooling sia....

Grap 1 yesterday from sam :) . Hv nt fix up yet coz need to tidy up my messy sump :pinch: . Question:

- do u use the full pack of sulphur?

- do u notice the sulphur level dropped (dissolved...)

- any effect on the Po4

- wat is your current drip rate (cannot tahan the german english instruction sia :P )

- is there foul smell if the drip rate too slow

Hi Sotongball,

Yes i pour in the whole sulphur pack, the guide is to fill 2/3 sulphur beads and 1/3 coral sand (10mm size) leaving with some space (about 2 inches) above the coral sand.

Yes i see some of the sulphur gets "eaten" away and in some areas there is a "cave" created, but overall the level of both the sulphur and coral has yet to appear dropped.

I am using fr with rowas

In the initial stage, 1 drop per sec, now its about 3-4 drops per sec

In the initial part when i run it at 1 sec per drop, due to too long a silicon tubing with the one-way valve at the discharge, it sometime get stuck with the bubbles (nitrogen) and no drops coming out (overnight :shock: ) but the next morning, fresh from smelling coffee, i sniff it, doesn't have any unique smell leh...perhaps i rectify and noticed it fast enough. Running 1 drops will not cause hydrogen sulphide. The environment is suppose to be anaerobic not totally anoxic.

I run the drops over carbon before it get back into the sump.

Hope my experience in running the denitrator helps you.

hey melyvn,

me too looking closely at how this review turns out :P

Do u have initial algae (eg diatom, cyno) in ur tank before using the eq?

I'm feeding pretty heavy too ... and though my nitrate is OK < 20ppm,

but cyno is blooming. I had just switch over to use DI water but seems

not able to stop the cyno, though diatoms looks under control now. i

suspect my is a high nurtient issue ... but already using cabon ... not

sure this is eq will help me or not :(

Hi Sotongball,

Yes i pour in the whole sulphur pack, the guide is to fill 2/3 sulphur beads and 1/3 coral sand (10mm size) leaving with some space (about 2 inches) above the coral sand.

Yes i see some of the sulphur gets "eaten" away and in some areas there is a "cave" created, but overall the level of both the sulphur and coral has yet to appear dropped.

I am using fr with rowas

In the initial stage, 1 drop per sec, now its about 3-4 drops per sec

In the initial part when i run it at 1 sec per drop, due to too long a silicon tubing with the one-way valve at the discharge, it sometime get stuck with the bubbles (nitrogen) and no drops coming out (overnight :shock: ) but the next morning, fresh from smelling coffee, i sniff it, doesn't have any unique smell leh...perhaps i rectify and noticed it fast enough. Running 1 drops will not cause hydrogen sulphide. The environment is suppose to be anaerobic not totally anoxic.

I run the drops over carbon before it get back into the sump.

Hope my experience in running the denitrator helps you.

thanks melvyn, u got a nice setup bro, hope to c it one of this day ya ;)

Anytime my friend, you are welcome anytime...

hey melyvn,

me too looking closely at how this review turns out :P

Do u have initial algae (eg diatom, cyno) in ur tank before using the eq?

I'm feeding pretty heavy too ... and though my nitrate is OK < 20ppm,

but cyno is blooming. I had just switch over to use DI water but seems

not able to stop the cyno, though diatoms looks under control now. i

suspect my is a high nurtient issue ... but already using cabon ... not

sure this is eq will help me or not :(

We can discuss when you are more available...;)