Maxstar81's Nano

Maxstar81

Xenia, new, pulsing rate decreased after a day in the tank.

Still no idea wats wrong with my tank....

Did the universal remedy - water change.

Cleaned the filter media too.

Test for ANN b4 the water change is OK.

Total lost is for the nano from start to now is:

2 monkey shrimp

1 cleaner

1 bumble bee

1 electric blue hermit

2 cardinal

1 RG

post-34-1145202965.jpg

• Replies 231

The Zoos were fine till my tank start to crash.

Now they are all extended.

Not nice. Does this mean my lights are lacking?

If yes then may have to change back to stock lights. :snore:

Yup, my suns are not open yet....

Almost but still haven't open yet ....

post-34-1145202938.jpg

Even Hermit died? Bro... seriously the system is in deep trouble... how about temperature? Perhaps some toxic material the tank been releasing (somehow)... could it be electric leakage?

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Super sun dying also....

Moved my S$20/- zoos (dark red with green mouth) to main

tank together with super sun. Don't know whats the cause.

Golden maroon also look sian sian. (cannot tong much longer)

May have to shift them to the main tank tonight.

F*** lah. Wait fight with my nemo pair ....

Very sian. <_<

Big tank much more stable....

More space to place equipment too.

Bro colinsoon,

The skimmer working really hard for me. (main tank)

But abit leaky. :P I need to put more white tape when I next clean it.

:thanks: !!!

haha... its leaking from inlet elbow right... it used to leak for me, but stopped after like 3 days, so i tot its over... guess its the problem for newer weipros... i had another weipro dat leaked from the same place..... anyway really sorry bout that... cos it never caused trouble for me, so i totally forgot bout it till you mentioned....

anyway howz the skimmate? i always wanted to try a 3000L pump... wonder how will the skimmate look like... hmmz.

Super sun dying also....

Moved my S$20/- zoos (dark red with green mouth) to main

tank together with super sun. Don't know whats the cause.

Golden maroon also look sian sian. (cannot tong much longer)

May have to shift them to the main tank tonight.

F*** lah. Wait fight with my nemo pair ....

Very sian.  <_<

Big tank much more stable....

More space to place equipment too.

Bro colinsoon,

The skimmer working really hard for me. (main tank)

But abit leaky.  :P  I need to put more white tape when I next clean it.

:thanks:  !!!

eh Kev,

if u scare ur super sun up lorry, "i extend my tank to you..." (hmmm, sounds familiar...) keke

just like how Honda is to ur black sun.

or u wanna exchange ur super sun with my florida ric? pm me ya?

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

Bro Colinsoon,

Never change the pump.....

Hey no prob with the weipro.

Just need some white tape can liao.

Bro Elune,

Dun need x-change lah.

Wkend come & pick up loh.

Pass to U more con since we stay so close.

U and Hondaker are sun keepers of the east.... :lol:

Should bee very safe with U lah.

(better than me at least :P )

:cry: Bro Colinsoon dun cry ok, U stay too far lah. :evil:

:pirate: My anemone is gone....

Detached from LR & just a clump on the SB.

Very lucky to have come home b4 it start to melt.

Did a water change just in case.

Bro Fuel,

Might be water & PH. Cos my water surface is coated with a layer of ???

I seldom drip my kalkwasser also. Will do it tonight. (after lights out)

Cleaned the surface layer by manually pouring the water over a sponge.

Much better. About 95% cleared. Thanks !!!

post-34-1145369748.jpg

there's a layer of oil in ur nanocube's surface?

the top inlet nvr do its work ah?

bro, might wanna try to temporary block out the lower inlet, just let the top inlet overflow the tank water in, this way, u'll get rid of the 'oil'

btw, i've just modded my surface skimmer to supply water to the weipro, theory behind this is that i've seen ppl post in threads that the top layer of the water column is the most nutrient rich area, so by skimming the water there, more efficient it is

as for nanocube, since you cant mount the skimmer in, best way is to overflow the layer into the back compartment, and let the sponge do its work

i guess this is one of the reasons why ppl convert to sump, so as to prevent the layer of oil from occuring

hope this helps

anything can call me, u know the number

If you fill your nano too full (higher than the filter grate) the oil will remain on the surface. My last nano was like that, but luckily the Reefpack comes with surface suction.

The original JBJ NC comes with a surface protein skimmer right? Can buy for $6 only, got 2 sizes for 24g and 12g... but dunno effective or not :rolleyes:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

After a break.... (more like time out, go & face the wall)

A little update. Went to buy this "SORB4" which is supposed

to suck up the phosphate & silicate that causes nuisance algae

growdth. Hope to see results "soon".

Anyway, I've got myself a tiny white goby same as the 1 from my

main tank & some shrimps. All from the beach comb on Sunday.

Nice sun & cool breeze. Shiok leh. A good change instead of the 4

walls of the office.

:heh: I don't know if its a little too soon but I went Reborn & couldn't

resist lah. Bought some LS. Will post them if they can survive through

this wk. No point showing you guys dead fish right....

Pray for me guys....

Don't wanna see another crash ....

Heart pain, wallet pain, everywhere also pain lah. :pinch:

Show us lah! Since $$$ already spent... share with us, make the $$$ worth mah! At least if :nuke::nuke::nuke: still got pictures to remind you lor... that's what I usually do, lol.

PIX PIX SIX ###### PIX PIX

Yo Bro...

You want Demsel, I give u lah!!!!!!! :angry:

They are still in sump.....

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Restarted 30G Corner Tank.