Is wavemaker important?

JeffL

seen many using wavemaker, may I know why is it useful? do I need one for my 2 ft tank? :blink:

need advise....tks

2 Feet Tank: (Decom Feb 2015)
-Lightings : Pharos LED light 90W with wireless controller
-Chiller : Arctica 1/10HP with H2Ocean Flow Pump 2000

-Wavemaker : Vortech MP10ES
-Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC 3.5

-Return Pump : Eheim Compact 3000
-Reactor – TLF150 (Mod) with NP Biopellet
-Reactor – TLF150 with Rowaphos

seen many using wavemaker, may I know why is it useful? do I need one for my 2 ft tank? :blink:

need advise....tks

depends on what you wanna keep. If you are able to keep SPS in your 2ft, go for a wavemaker. They need lots of wave.

Else, LPS and softies dun need. In fact these species are not very good with too much flow.

Also depending if your main flow is good. Water too stagnant is not good.

Maybe you can update what equipments you are using, eg canister (model, make), sump return pump, etc.

For sure, putting a set of Tunze Wavemaker in your standard 2ft setup is way too overpower... you can create underwater hurricane using Tunzes!!! Perhaps you wanna consider other smaller capacity brands such as SEIO, IMO SEIO is quite suitable for your tank, get the smaller model too. Regardless of what you keep, flow is a good thing. Just make sure the current is not too strong as they can easily blow the tissues off your corals :shock::shock::shock:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

ok my setup is jebo cannister, weipro 2011+atman 103 only

i only keep leather,mushrooms, xenia, zoos, mostly cheaper corals

think no need hor?

There's no harm in adding another SEIO or something. Especially flow directed from the left front or right front... blowing towards the scaping... don't get too big a model, a bit of flow is good enough. Flow is also good to stop dirt from settling on your LR too much... blow them away so that your canister can trap them.

For your information leather, xenia and a lot of other cheaper corals also require moderate to high flow. Especially leather... if your flow is not strong enough, they will always release slimy excrete which can be very bad for the other corals.

A pix of your setup can also help us identify any dead spots in your tank... IMO the smaller the tank, the harder it is to create perfect flow.

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

i run a 2 footer before and personnally, my feel is wave is as important if not more important in then a bigger tank. Main reason is oxgenation. For a 2 footer, its hard to maintain a highlevel of oxgenation in the tank. With a decent wave maker, the higher water flow will results in better o2 level for your fishes...remember, most of your fishs will probably comes from high current places, so adding a wave maker would make them 'feel' at home....

(PS: used to put in a Tunze 6100 and cycle between 30%-50% in my 2 foot nano before...:))

i run a 2 footer before and personnally, my feel is wave is as important if not more important in then a bigger tank. Main reason is oxgenation. For a 2 footer, its hard to maintain a highlevel of oxgenation in the tank. With a decent wave maker, the higher water flow will results in better o2 level for your fishes...remember, most of your fishs will probably comes from high current places, so adding a wave maker would make them 'feel' at home....

(PS: used to put in a Tunze 6100 and cycle between 30%-50% in my 2 foot nano before...:))

lol bro cos u BB tank and put sps rite? :lol:

anyway, a seio620 would be good for your tank, no expensive and not too strong

and they are not expensive

wavemakers help with preventing excess dirt or food from settling on the sand and dirtying your tank...IMO, better use 1 than don't

tks bros...think i should invest in one, maybe seio 620. Hopefully someone selling...

If you can't find Pasar Malam, you can try a new unit... I saw a piece at AM (J.Kayu) the other day :lol: If you wanna know how a SEIO looks like, you can visit bro HAMMY's thread, he used to have 4 SEIOS in his 2ft cube!!! Those SEIOs nicknamed CCTV :lol::lol::lol: They will serve your tank well IMO.

If you can't find Pasar Malam, you can try a new unit... I saw a piece at AM (J.Kayu) the other day  :lol:  If you wanna know how a SEIO looks like, you can visit bro HAMMY's thread, he used to have 4 SEIOS in his 2ft cube!!! Those SEIOs nicknamed CCTV  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  They will serve your tank well IMO.

haha it looks big in a 2ft tank leh.... takes up my limited space

dun be scared by sieo size!!! i use a seio 4 my 2 footer too n they serve me well!!!a value 4 money product....if u can't find a 2nd hand one...try getting one from clemanti c328..i think they might be selling it at a lower price...

how much is it?

$35

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef