The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB! (2'x1'x1.5')

johntanjm

• Replies 226

fwah... ya you power leh.. ur corraline algae super duper !!!

what's the secret formula?

The secret is good water condition lor :rolleyes:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

bro jervis you said it spot on perfect. the secret is good water quality.

basic water qualities like salinity, pH and dKh must always be right

in my opinion the secret is magnesium and subsequently calcium.

keep a high Mg at 1000++ and a good calcium level + a good salt. i use coralife.

i've been having a magnesium problem for quite sometime and i've been sourcing for a cost effective way to correct the problem and have recently experimented with lab grade 99% pure MgCl to very good effect.

like that lor. maybe got other factors but these were the factors that I changed and i saw an improvement.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

You running any Blue or Actinic tubes? Some claim that it helps coralline algae growth too :P But beware... once they start to grow like wildfire... you will grow to hate them :eyebrow:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

bro Jervis, for a period of time i experimented with FL lights. one tube was a reefsun 50/50 the other was a 20000K coralsun i think. with the stronger blue spectrum I did observe a improvement in growth. Now i use a 20,000K MH Iwasaki so its still in the blue spectrum. funny thing that MH shines white. Henry from ML told me that Iwasaki 20,000K bulbs are weird. they shine white.

bro X, nakazoru on sgreefclub sold his MgCl to me. he seems like one chemical guy. do alot of DIY stuff. very interesting. but again he will advise to use with caution.

-------------------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in my HDB

and from another angle. see who can spot my mandarin goby!

---------------------------------------------------

post-34-1168353755.jpg

Thanks to you... I started another tank... inspiration bro... keep it coming... but feeling a little cramp already :lol:

bro Jervis, honored to be ur inspiration man! hahahah! I saw your mini J tank. waiting for your reviews for the nano reefpack man. the reefpack 500 looks really power lar but was thinking if the nano is too simple on the inside. Tunzes are something i've always wanted to use but never hit that level yet. you also inspiration lar. haha! yes very cramped already. must clear up sand bed then look better.

bro godzilla, yes I want an anemone too! but ti'm running canisters so if it crawl into the inlets. DIE!

eh don't tempt me to keep anemone lar. I know its super nice to watch when the clowns go into it. but in the case it kena suck in, i will cry leh!

anyway will false perculas accept any anemone?

yeah my mr. and ms. Mo always play around my hammers too!

ok bros i have one big problem I need to address. I'm afraid that I might starve my kole tang in the long run. I put this up in a seperate thread but no reply at all. I'm desperately seeking solutions

Kole Tang is a super hard worker. it has wiped my tank VERY CLEAN of diatoms (micro algae) and now everyday i see it pec pec pec, also got not much for it to peck.

1. Do they accept other food? I tried seaweed but it didn't bother

2. Shall i remove my rowaphos so the diatom population will boom?

Kole Tang is a super hard worker. it has wiped my tank VERY CLEAN of diatoms (micro algae) and now everyday i see it pec pec pec, also got not much for it to peck.

Solve one problem by giving a new problem :evil::lol: why reefing so shiong one :ph34r:

yar lar. that's the way it is mah. when it comes to aquariums we seek to build an eco-system with minimal human input. now rowaphos is the unnatural part of the system to help kerb the growth of diatom. now with kole tang in, hopefully can remove rowa phos redi lor. then the system become more natural.

Second problem, mandarin goby very happy, go all around the tank pec pec pec also. I wonder when the pods will run out. pods feed on what ah? plankton? so i better start dosing plankton

bro .. try to wean your mandarin on pellets.. tho i don't have a mandarin , i have a scooter blenny ( which is similar to a mandarin in feeding habits and movement) and somehow it started eating pellets, which is a big relief if your tank is fairly young ... unless u are insanely rich like jervis, u can try arti-pods. if not the only save bet is to have a system tat is a few years old with alot of rock-work to rear pods. oh and ive heard from a reefer before that SPS skeletons are good for pods cultivation , somehow they like to make thier homes there. how true is it im not sure, mebbe u can be the first to prove tt. :lol:

problem solved, mandarin jumped for the second time. sian. I think there's a fair amount of pods in my tank. from time to time i always see the pods moult then their shells floating around. how you wean it to take pellets? I want to wean my kole tang too!

The way i did the lights is very glaring, cos its at eye level so today i built a hood to sheild the light for better viewing pleasure. softer on the eyes. here's how it went.

does anyone know how to use the signature function? i'm quite sick of typing

-------------------------------------------------

post-34-1169049915.jpg