topping up using ntuc distilled water

chercm

is it ok to use those distilled NTUC bottled water ?

Humble tank :

Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display 

Equipment :

Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1

Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1

CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium

Light : ATI 8x54W

• Replies 54

is it ok to use those distilled NTUC bottled water ?

hi cherm.

well i hv being using distill h20 since i started this hobby. so far so good.

there is lubang to get good deal. go to my tread and you can find the info there.

Chercm, yrs a big tank. If you buy NTUC distill water, going to be quite expensive and waste a lot of plastic bottles.

Since you're not using DI unit, go for those 19 litres/5 gallon type (those big blue tub water dispenser usually used in office). Just call them to deliver to yr place (min 3 tubs), no need the dispenser...abt $6 per tub, free delivery (so much cheaper than individual NTUC 1-2 litre bottle).

There are a few companies' contacts in Bro MAG's tank thread.

Chercm, yrs a big tank. If you buy NTUC distill water, going to be quite expensive and waste a lot of plastic bottles.

Since you're not using DI unit, go for those 19 litres/5 gallon type (those big blue tub water dispenser usually used in office). Just call them to deliver to yr place (min 3 tubs), no need the dispenser...abt $6 per tub, free delivery (so much cheaper than individual NTUC 1-2 litre bottle).

There are a few companies' contacts in Bro MAG's tank thread.

the problem for those distilled water , there is some content of cholrine inside .

there seems to have one contact which is for polar in MAG's thread

Humble tank :

Equipment :

Yes, I have been using for 2 years. In my ex company, we have the big bottle gallon so everyday I just take 1.5 liter home to top up my tank water. Seems good. But now no more resources. Now I use tap water and 10 micron filter and carbon then use aragonite for overnight before top-up.

seems ok too.

Yes, I have been using for 2 years. In my ex company, we have the big bottle gallon so everyday I just take 1.5 liter home to top up my tank water. Seems good. But now no more resources. Now I use tap water and 10 micron filter and carbon then use aragonite for overnight before top-up.

seems ok too.

u mean u using polar ?

Humble tank :

Equipment :

i found all the distilled water have this chloride content , is it ok to have it ?

Humble tank :

Equipment :

Many reefers are using bottled distilled water with no problem. Don't worry too much.

The other contact in Bro MAG's thread is Lifesource, RO water, Tel: 63687909, $6 nett per 19 litres, free delivery, mon-fri only, min 3 tubs.  ;)

bro for that $6.00 price, u need to order 5 bottles and in fact there is a $50.00 refundable deposit ..

$7.00 for per 19 litres for 3 bottles

great !

i ordered for this life souce ! :D

Humble tank :

Equipment :

Is it worth the cost? If I use TAP Water filter (cost around $105) and can get 300-500L and the 2nd refill would be $50 replacement, wouldn't this save more money although it is a hassel to wait for the dripping water?

In the long run, it would save more than buying DI water, wouldn't it?

Just 2 cents worth of thoughts.

Is it worth the cost? If I use TAP Water filter (cost around $105) and can get 300-500L and the 2nd refill would be $50 replacement, wouldn't this save more money although it is a hassel to wait for the dripping water?

In the long run, it would save more than buying DI water, wouldn't it?

Just 2 cents worth of thoughts.

l'm sure using di unit and filter will be cheaper in the long run. No doubt.

l guess it's a matter of personal preference and convenience versus the cost.

You have to pay more for the convenience lor.

new lobandg: nTUC selling 1 carton 12x1.5 litres at $5.80

Humble tank :

Equipment :

new lobandg: nTUC selling 1 carton 12x1.5 litres at $5.80

Maybe that's ok for nano or small tank. But for big tank, u gonna create lots of plastic bottles waste to the environment and not mentioning carrying those heavy stuff home from NTUC.

Actually it's just a saving of 20 cents but short of 1 litre cos the big blue tub is abt 19 litres for $6 nett & free delivery wor..

Actually all plastic bottles can be recycled. By either giving them to the recycling bag, or drop them in the recycling bins.

I have been buying the RO water from life source as well. But I'm wondering if there is really no bad content in the water?

Actually all plastic bottles can be recycled. By either giving them to the recycling bag, or drop them in the recycling bins.

I have been buying the RO water from life source as well. But I'm wondering if there is really no bad content in the water?

i have just started to use lifesource RO water but i do not think there is any thing wrong with it

Humble tank :

Equipment :

Bad news: Lifesource is stopping their service by the end of this week

sianzzz... any more other lobang?

Humble tank :

Equipment :

What!!! Then their bottles they don't want liao? I think got Ice mountain one. But Ice mountain is mineral water and not RO water right?

i also headache .. the old bottles they will be collecting back and subsequently return the deposit back to u

have to find new source

Humble tank :

Equipment :

Dear all,

Allow me to ask some questions.....

Is your area of water that horrible until this is needed?

Have u take out whatever testkits u have and do some measurement to justify for this cumbersome action?

If the water really did not meet ur standard then maybe installing a simple water filter as what reeftask provided in the thread (drsfrostersmith) may be sufficient....

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...topic=62696&hl=

[i touch my heart to say this] If I am drinking water taken from the tap, what make me qualify for this action?

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm