Any recommended test kits?

[d]3v|L

hi all i would like u all to recommend me some test kits for measuring nitrite, nitrate, calcium etc. i think my sera test kits is lousy cos when i add the yellow liquid reagent nth happen and the water sample turn yellow..

ORDed

back to studies and reefing again..

Salifert is the best all round!

Except for alkalinity where Seachem is the best because it tests for borates too!

Seachem has decent, fast and easy to use Nitrate and Phosphate testkits but aren't too accurate compared to Salifert.

I too need to get test kits and would like to know what is necessary to get.

I only have:-

1 old 5 in one test kit - Tetra Test. people say not good.:(

1 KH tester - Aqumedi (brown box)

1 Superbuffer-dKH - Kent

1 salt tester

I know i need a lot more stuff but so many things to get :blink: so blur!

Acrylic Aquarium Filtering Systems

Acrylic tanks, sumps, protein skimmers, overflow box, refugium, calcium reactors, zeovit reactors and many more...

Our New Address:

Blk 9003, Tampines St. 93,

Tampines Industrial Park A,

#03-134, Singapore 528837

(Located behind Tampines SAFRA)

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

Email me : info@iaquatic.com

*Please do not send PM's to us. Thank you

If you have a reef tank, testkits you must have:

Calcium

Alkalinity

pH (preferably electronic)

Salinity (preferably refractometer)

Nitrate

Phosphate

If your tank is new, include:

Nitrite

Ammonia

Good to have Magnesium test kit too if keeping SPS.

I oso tried lookin' for Saliferts but cannot find. Mayb I dunno hw to pronounce or Petmart and Aquamart reali dun haf... Onli saw SeaChem @ Aquamart and den Tetra & JBJ @ Petmart... Nv bother to mention abt Sera... I've read the ugly history of it!

Seachem makes decent testkits too, but I think they are more expensive.

try marinelife hobbliest. loads of salifert test kits. :P

They have Ammonia, Nitrite, Calcium and Phosphate Salifert testkits.

For Seachem they have Alkalinity combined with Borate and Strontium test kits.

So are you all sugeesting to get all the test kits from Salifert, Seachem or both?

:blink:

Acrylic tanks, sumps, protein skimmers, overflow box, refugium, calcium reactors, zeovit reactors and many more...

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

Something like that unless you want something more accurate for analytical use.

Hmm, :unsure:

I'm a simple man with simple needs.

Can you narrow it down for me please?

Calcium - (brand)

Alkalinity - (brand)

pH - (cannot afford ectronic) - (brand)

Salinity - (brand)

Nitrate - (brand)

Phosphate - (brand)

Nitrite - (brand)

Ammonia - (brand)

I just want to go to the shop and ask for the correct brand and testkits. And also which shop should i get them from?

I know a bit leche but i really need help on this.

I cannot afford to go and buy somthing and latter find out it is not accurate or good or stuff like that. Cannot afford any more mistakes lah!

I'm scared if i delay in buying the propper test kits things might go wrong and it may be too late :( :( :( :( :(

Thanks in advance. ;)

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

Calcium, nitrate, phosphate - Salifert

Alkalinity - Seachem

Salinity - any swing arm type will do. The floating type hydrometers are harder to use.

pH - Tetra has a decent kit for good price.

Nitrite and ammonia - the cheapest kit. You are going to use them once only during the cycling phase and are not required for regular maintenance. Only a rough indication of the presence of nitrite and ammonia is required. The cycle is considered to be completed when the peaked, then fall and nitrate goes up.

Calcium, nitrate, phosphate - Salifert

Alkalinity - Seachem

Salinity - any swing arm type will do. The floating type hydrometers are harder to use.

pH - Tetra has a decent kit for good price.

Nitrite and ammonia - the cheapest kit. You are going to use them once only during the cycling phase and are not required for regular maintenance. Only a rough indication of the presence of nitrite and ammonia is required. The cycle is considered to be completed when the peaked, then fall and nitrate goes up.

Thanks alot Tanzy! :D

Probally get it first thing next year! B)

How often do you guys check the water? All different or let's say once every 2 weeks all the test are done?

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

I test pH, alk and cal a few times every day cause my cal reactor is not working and I'm dosing manually. Nitrate and magnesium three times a year or when something looks wrong. Phosphate only if green algae starts growing a lot on rocks.

Hi

After reading all the alk, pH KH GH carbonate borates bicarbonates, I'm still blur like sotong.....

perhaps can i ask for even more layman advices like

when alk is low, i add _________

when pH is low, i add _________

when kH is low, i add _________

reef buffer raises carbonates, but thats kH? i got this seachem reef buffer which says it will maintain pH at 8.3... so issit just this i add, to maintain pH and kH? what abt alk?

i know kalk raises calcium and OH- but OH- relates to pH or alk? So is there any additives that raises alk only? coz i already have high calcium level in my tank 480ppm...

sorry to troublez...

Hi all I'll be getting the following tommorow:-

Should I buy and test my little reef first, and later get the "buffer" or get all together?

Is there anything else i should get?

Should i get it from Marine Life? Do you know what time it opens?

or is there anywhere else better to get them from?

Salifert:

Calcium Profi-Test

Nitrate NO3 Profi-Test

Phosphate PO4 Profi-Test

Seachem:

Alkaline Buffer or Alkaline Regulator(not sure which one.)

At present i have:

KH tester - Aqumedi (brown box)

Superbuffer-dKH - Kent

hydrometers - swing arm type

Thanks in advance. :)

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...