RedSea Berlin Protien Skimmer

Acanthurus pyroferus

• Replies 217

seems everyone's getting hooked and i dont have time to pm everyone....

go to ebay... some items brand new, u r dealing directly to suppliers....

but just an advise; u might wanna get the aquamedic turboflotor 1000, its far more effecient.....

Yah the skimmate that aqua medic produce is super thick.. more sludge than kopi o

Hi Acanthurus,

I'm using 1 for about 4 yrs now, good skimmate with min

2500L/h power head, manageable at 2000L/h. only thing is,

after few months, you need to flush out the sediment below.

Hi Acanthus ,I am glad the RedSea Berlin has proven a good and useful appplication towards your reef tank. I for one am very pleased with the results. I have not seen other skimmers which have a drainaged at the collection area and this is very conveinient for me. :D

Hi Acanthurus,

I'm using 1 for about 4 yrs now, good skimmate with min

2500L/h power head, manageable at 2000L/h. only thing is,

after few months, you need to flush out the sediment below.

Hi Acanthus ,I am glad the RedSea Berlin has proven a good and useful appplication towards your reef tank. I for one am very pleased with the results. I have not seen other skimmers which have a drainaged at the collection area and this is very conveinient for me. :D I think for every skimmer it needs to have proper maintenance all the time to function properly and skim well. So thats where the husbandary skills come in :D

:yeah: someone agrees with me....thanks ;) So you have a hang-on version? Must be the turbo version or the prizm?

Mine is actually same as yours except its a Hang-On Version! Not the turbo type but modified the pump to use needlewheel technology for better skimmate!

Looks like this Berlin is a good skimmer. Can I buy it in any of of our local store?

And does it comes with the powerhead?

yes you can dragon , but you have to check with your supplier regarding stock wise. I heard there was only 10 pcs. left from the distributor. The turbo version comes with the pump but the classic venturi comes without. I had my free pump from my dealer because I'm a regular....he..he ;) the Berlin skimmer really does it's job for such a good price and I'll post the skimate pics soon.

...just got this thread from rc.... not trying to say red sea berlin is not good, but try to consider this from other's point of view... actually i almost purchased it last week if not for the aquac ev-200 i bumped into....i think i have to agree that in bigger tanks u need a better skimmer, try red sea berlin classic xl maybe......

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.p...=red+sea+berlin

...just got this thread from rc.... not trying to say red sea berlin is not good, but try to consider this from other's point of view... actually i almost purchased it last week if not for the aquac ev-200 i bumped into....i think i have to agree that in bigger tanks u need a better skimmer, try red sea berlin classic xl maybe......

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.p...=red+sea+berlin

well thanks for the vote of confidence...reefer guy! :D Well , if the aquac EV seems to be the most sought after , I guess the makers will be reeling in the money then :lol: It is good to listen to suggestions and experiences though but one has to rely on his or her own experiences to know. :D Previously , my 6 x 2 x 2 had no problems using the Berlin and thats why I have the most confidence in this skimmer. ;) I did not actually want to post the review on this skimmer and was a bit hesitant in the begining but I thought to share with those who have not used it before. :D

i could have gotten the berlin xl last week for US$87.50 plus shipping which roughly about US$30 via USPS, taking a week to deliver.... Aquamedic Turboflotor 1000 is US$130...

just another info for efficiency evaluation of skimmers....

http://www.marinedepot.com/a_ps__index.asp?CartId=

wah....then we all should order from you then.... :lol: so cheap one..ah :lol:

classic XL is a taller version but I dun think importer has it.

as for skimmate, is super thick if adjust correctly. my other

aquamedic tuborflotor produce same type of skimmate, so to save some $, RSB oso can lah..

there you go , acanthus has used it before so reefers don't be discouraged from what you read with other peoples experiences. Berlin skims well regardless of the size. :D

yeah...similar to your berlin...i am using the sicce extrema...maybe the extrema is just the suitable pump to drive alot of venturi skimmers....go go extrema...hehe

I agree , the extrema is excellent regardless of what people say! :lol: I had it for almost 4 years now and it's still working in good condition. :yeah: way to go extrema! to be able to pump up to 2500litrs for such a small body is just great. Used it as a return pump for my 4 footer and almost blew my LR's off :lol: