Crept's 24G Journal...

Crept

Well, the day has come.

Cue the horn intro and roll out the red carpet!

Well I figured I would go ahead and get my thread started,showing my journey with salt water fish tank before I get too far behind.

I am fairly new to the nano world and i hope the reefer out there can show me the ropes here... :eyeblur:

I have done alot of reading all over the net... and im really keen on the natural method of filtration.

Im planning on having a 2-4 fishes, more on soft corals and mayb abit of LPS so i hope its suitable for this type of filtration.

Furthermore, my LFS have the same system btwn 6 mths to a year and is willing to give me some coaching.

My JBJ 24G Nano Cube came on the 30 July 08. :rolleyes:

My LFS set up my tank with SW and sand, all from LFS.

The cycle period have begun...

Here's a picture of it cycling.....

post-9366-1219594481.jpg

This baby below cost a bomb... However, im looking from the point that it is reliable, energy saving and runs quietly.

At the same time, it comes with warranty. Its my pride and joy, hopefully it wont disappoint me... :upsidedown:

post-9366-1219594975.jpg

Liverock was added on the 16 Aug 08. Cycling continues.

Not too sure on the rock landscaping, however it feels stable enough. :unsure:

post-9366-1219595828.jpg

• Replies 68

Well finally decided to put in some corals in my tank on the 23 Aug 08...

Im not really sure of the name of some of these coral (most of the name, i research on net) so pls correct me if im wrong :thanks: ..

First to go in was....

A Grape Caulerpa - Heard some good things of it as well bad thing of it... Any feedback on this?? :unsure:

post-9366-1219677717.jpg

More to come..... :ph34r:

dun use the grape.. will grow asexual..later crash ur tank.

Thanks bro for the warning :thanks: ... Yes i know the potential danger it might cause...

However, im more interested in its ability to take in excess ammonia, nitrates, and phosphates from the tank.

Maybe i give it a try and see hw it goes.... Will definately moniter this marine plant everyday.. :eyeblur:

Thanks again...

More stuff added to tank... :paiseh:

Next in line...

Tube Worms - Inexpensive tubeworm.

post-9366-1219802682.jpg

Orange Fan - Not to sure on the correct name... Looks like fan to me...anyone knw the actual name for them?? :eyeblur:

post-9366-1219802829.jpg

Christmas Tree Coral - Bottom left hand corner, a pic of it at nite... Background pic of it,erected during the day. :rolleyes:

post-9366-1219803439.jpg

Red Sponges - I think they are a form of sponges rite... not so sure... :eyeblur:

post-9366-1219803796.jpg post-9366-1219803807.jpg

:ph34r: Many more pics to come...

looks good! are you using a skimmer? you may like to consider getting a nano wave maker as well to improve the flow in your tank.. =]

how did you connect your chiller?

nope, not using a skimmer, more to natural filtration... hope it works :unsure: ,

yup still pending on getting a wavemaker, scared its too strong, anywy only having softies and lps, dnt need too strng flow rite?

hmm so any recommendation for a wavemaker in particular? :eyeblur:

Connection of chller done on back of hood, theres a slot in the hood to put in the hose, it can be done easily :upsidedown:

hi crept,

possible to show me the slot of the 24G? just got a 24G 1 week ago. got headache finding ways t connect my chiller. any picture to show me this way run/connected?

thanks a lot.

nope, not using a skimmer, more to natural filtration... hope it works :unsure: ,

yup still pending on getting a wavemaker, scared its too strong, anywy only having softies and lps, dnt need too strng flow rite?

Connection of chller done on back of hood, theres a slot in the hood to put in the hose, it can be done easily :upsidedown:

hi crept,

possible to show me the slot of the 24G? just got a 24G 1 week ago. got headache finding ways t connect my chiller. any picture to show me this way run/connected?

thanks a lot.

Yes sure, i will take some photos and post it tonight if possible, erm i tink thts a slot near the hinges of the hood, the hose will get abit flaten, howerver i feel theres still good flow to the chiller... :upsidedown:

Picture do show a thousand more words, so i try my best to post it tonight... :thanks:

Thanks azlindaza :paiseh: , ur tank looks good too.... any new update on ur tank???

:thanks: No updated for now.Stillthe same.Only do some rescaping.Been looking for pair clown fish only.

But most LFS selling quite small.

BTW where u usually go for yr coral?

runninggirl.gif

:thanks: No updated for now.Stillthe same.Only do some rescaping.Been looking for pair clown fish only.

But most LFS selling quite small.

BTW where u usually go for yr coral?

pair percula?? CF usually have alot of pair percula, abit expensive thought, corals usually either at pacific marine or Iwarna. T95 also very cheaper bt the corals nt so good looking, need to nurse bac to health, bt defianely cheaper. Wat abt ya?? :upsidedown:

Just now went down to 201 new tiew.Just walk around only.They got a lot of sun there n cheap.Me usually go down to #####.

Most LFS @ Paris Ris there i only went Once.Quite far for me as i take Public Transport.And i staying in the west.

runninggirl.gif

Bro Az, so u took 925? Wanted to try taking public there...maybe good to organise trip down....lol...

To Bro Crept, only those unique pairs from coral farm are pricy, if you buy the normal true per, the price is rather competitive, not withstanding the fact that they quarantine their fishes before selling. Having said this, there are farms selling very cheap at times.....but it depends on your luck to pick one and surviving one.....(ever bought a bought from CF and they died....cos of my tank...).

Just now went down to 201 new tiew.Just walk around only.They got a lot of sun there n cheap.Me usually go down to #####.

Most LFS @ Paris Ris there i only went Once.Quite far for me as i take Public Transport.And i staying in the west.

aww is it??? i never go new tiew b4. it is cheap???.. shld have tell earlier then can chiong togther.. im at jurong today... :pirate:

Bro Az, so u took 925? Wanted to try taking public there...maybe good to organise trip down....lol...

To Bro Crept, only those unique pairs from coral farm are pricy, if you buy the normal true per, the price is rather competitive, not withstanding the fact that they quarantine their fishes before selling. Having said this, there are farms selling very cheap at times.....but it depends on your luck to pick one and surviving one.....(ever bought a bought from CF and they died....cos of my tank...).

erm ya bro Solo, i tink true percula everywhere very competitive bt CF price, abit funny leh, gt gst leh.. but also gt dscount :whistle ... well i still prefer pasr ris LFS... i tink buying fish always a gamble... nvr knw will survive or nt... lol... :ph34r:

Me share cab wit fwen.Take 925?No way..walking distance too far.Feel like road march. :cry:

runninggirl.gif

aww is it??? i never go new tiew b4. it is cheap???.. shld have tell earlier then can chiong togther.. im at jurong today... :pirate:

aww is wat thing??? :unsure: To me the price is ok2.Next time will inform u.

Maybe going down Yishun later to buy Pump. :eyebrow:

runninggirl.gif

hi crept,

thanks a lot.

Heres the picture of the hood, i hope u find it useful....:upsidedown:

Close up of the hose in hood

post-9366-1221056313.jpg

Picture of both hose

post-9366-1221056393.jpg

oh.. okie.. you can try resun nano skimmer.. wet skimmate but still does it's job decently well.

hydor nano would be good! i'm using it now for lps and softies as well. flow is about 900l (if i am not wrong) so it's just nice IMO

did the chiller the same way as you! however i used the 3 compartment for the return pump.. =]