Shun's 1st marine tank - JBJ 28g nano HQI

yongshun

The fishes i haf in mind are as follows:

3x chromis, 1x firefish, 1x either lawnmower or bicolor blenny, 2x true p. clown, 1x cleaner shrimp

So the order of fishes to be introduced into the tank will be as follows:

- 3x chromis

- 1x firefish

- 2x true clown (together at the same time)

- 1x blenny (either lawnmower or bicolor)

- 1x cleaner shrimp

Is tis order correct? From the most peaceful to the most agressive (not considering the shrimp)...The fishes will be introduced in intervals of 2-3 wks, depending on the water parameters and the availability of the fishes...though i really feel like putting all in together at the same time bt i noe cannot haha

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

• Replies 299

Just added a new beta box for my future fish additions...as well as performed a 15% water change....1st ever water change for the tank!! Performed a minor change to the rock scape as well...closed up the link btwn the caves...

post-15010-1220369367.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

One of my 3 yao-guis....say cheezz

post-15010-1220369582.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Temperature of my tank...wif the cooling fan on...

post-15010-1220371197.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

just added a cleaner shrimp today...bt its been hiding in a cave since i introduced it into the tank...hopefully it will come out after 1-2 days...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

ah ha!! saw u at last!!

post-15010-1220541487.jpg

post-15010-1220541502.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

bros/sis, nid some help..wat r these 2 tinggy? are they harmful? juz saw them 2dae...the 1st one look like a worm, the 2nd seems like a spider?? 8 legs... :(

post-15010-1220541709.jpg

post-15010-1220541743.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

cant relly see the 1st 1

2nd 1 look like spider,no ide awhat kind better remove it.. Lol!

and i dont think bio home and bio plus is useful.

the 1st one is something like a worm tinggy...a bit transclucent in color...it wriggles....

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

alamak...juz managed to check out the 2nd one...its a sea spider...its predation or parasitism is a potential threat to all corals, soft corals, and sea anemones that are kept in aquaria....gotta remove it... :sick:

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

just bought this cute little fella...bt seems like it has 2 little dots?? are they white spots or??

post-15010-1220628350.jpg

post-15010-1220628364.jpg

post-15010-1220628377.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

the little spots are gone...maybe they are juz some dirt that happen to stick on it....hmm juz curious...usually how long does a new fish take to start feeding? my little nemo doesnt seem to eat...nt even the same food tat it was fed when it is wif its previous owner....sob sob :'(

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

it still doesnt eat today..sob sob...2 days already...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

what ur previous owner feed it?

frozen food?

only ocean formula 2 flakes

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

bought some mysis shrimps n tried....n omg...nt onli my nemo, my other 3 yao guis definitely love it oso!! tink gonna add garlic juice to the mysis nxt time to boast their immune system...hmm wondering if my nemo will nw start to feed on flakes oso since it has already started eating...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

currently sourcing around for a FR...ne one has ne recommendation? those that can be used externally, cos my tank has no sump...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

giving up the idea of getting a FR after advises from a few senior reefers...not realli tat impt as mine is only a simple setup, w/o any sump

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

haiz...few days ago juz bought a blue and gold blenny...been keeping it in my beta tank and juz released it into my main tank...but my chromis seems to be quite territorial and refused to let the blenny blend in...im doubting that these are not chromis but damsels...haiz...

juz performed a minor rescape....hoping to confuse them of their territories....

well...tis trick seems to work n nw the blenny managed to get to the bottom of the tank w/o any major resistance from the chromis (or damsels)...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

giving up the idea of getting a FR after advises from a few senior reefers...not realli tat impt as mine is only a simple setup, w/o any sump

I think you definitely need FR, I had experience running NC 24 before switching to RSM. I use sorb-4 on the filtration chamber but it's not effective at all and PO4 removal media is not cheap. It solved my PO4 problem after I transferred my sorb-4 into FR. Anyway some FR can be used out of sump, like Skimz, Deltec , RM, etc. Get reliable one because if FR leak it will flood your house this down side of sump-less design.

RED SEA MAX - BLACK, JBJ ARCTICA DBA-075, HYDOR PRIME 30, VORTECH MP10

Can show more pix of your skimmer? Looks quite interesting hiding behind the tank :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Can show more pix of your skimmer? Looks quite interesting hiding behind the tank :)

haha currently unable to take more pics of it as my DC was sent for servicing :(

bt i haf a picture of it frm the distributor's website...go take a look :)

http://www.jbjlighting.com/prod_28g_nano.html

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

my cleaner shrimp has been to be trying hard to mount on my nemo, either to clean it or feed it (hopefully not)...bt my nemo doesnt seem to like it n tries to shrug it off leh....will this cause unnecessary stress to my nemo?? :unsure:

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup