Shun's 1st marine tank - JBJ 28g nano HQI

yongshun

some nice blastos for u ...

eh u no nid worry abt fraggin it lahz

u shld worrying abt controlling it from growing in long run

its pretty common so no point fraggin it n sell..

ya its ok to place toher zoos near it..

e prob is i scare it outgrow ur other zoos rate...

hehe u wanna frag the blastos for me? lol

haha no lar..nt planning to sell frags...bt dun mind giving haha im planning to frag it bcos i nid more space to add in more varieties of zoos hehe cos the colony is bigger than my palm...too big for my tank oreadi...if nt will throw it in my new tank the nxt time haha

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

• Replies 299

haha ok...when i bought it it was not opening and it was placed 2gether wif other favias, so i tot it is a favia haha hopefully it will do well in my tank cos i read that survival rate for gonio in captivity is usually less than a yr...

When I bought my blue gonio, it was closed and I thought they were blue zoas!

Anyway are those pink ones expensive? I almost bought the red/orange ones, but rather expensive, quoted 3 blue notes. I don't think i will pay that price for gonio, since they have poor longterm survival rates (according to literature). In fact the blue gonio has ceased to extend much now. The common green one (stokesii, I think) seems to be more active.

When I bought my blue gonio, it was closed and I thought they were blue zoas!

Anyway are those pink ones expensive? I almost bought the red/orange ones, but rather expensive, quoted 3 blue notes. I don't think i will pay that price for gonio, since they have poor longterm survival rates (according to literature). In fact the blue gonio has ceased to extend much now. The common green one (stokesii, I think) seems to be more active.

haha cant really tell the difference rite...juz like i mistaken it to be favia lol

wa 3 blue notes?? realli ex man...nope...i bought it for 2 red notes only

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Detaching of tentacles mainly due to stress becos of the flow... Try placing it near moderate flow area... They dun really like high flows..

Oh, i think you r right cos I place my gonio near the surface with the most flow. I tot they prefer flow in order to bloom....

Thanks for the info....

: )

my gonio when fully opened up...

post-15010-1231567474.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

my gonio when fully opened up...

Nicee!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: and remember to feed it frequently... So it'll be healthy... ;)

another nice addition...bt can ne one help to id this?

post-15010-1231603129.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

look like open brain to me,

will it be too close to the hammer?

hmm dunno leh...bought frm GO, the person told me tat it is a simphilla...din managed to find much info on it though...

juz shifted it further away frm the hammer...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

You got many coral bro, your JBJ air bubble skimmer will be stressed out. :eyeblur:

hmm dunno leh..hopefully it doesnt...haf to change the air stone more often i tink...

den how do i feed the open brain? cos i cant seem to find the mouth...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Bro yongshun, yes is an open brain. Seem like a Symphyllia :rolleyes:

Look closely and you can see they have a mouth on each head.

Imo, can be fed. But their mouth not as big as Trachyphyllia so might stress it if overfed :rolleyes:

And move it further from the hammer, they also prefer low current quite similar to prata.

Imo, can be fed. But their mouth not as big as Trachyphyllia so might stress it if overfed :rolleyes:

And move it further from the hammer, they also prefer low current quite similar to prata.

Actually juz for your info, in the past I feed my corals alot and also make it a point to target feed some of my corals. Ending up stressing some of them. Might be due to overfeeding. Some spiting our the balance food.

Now I only flood the tank with little amount of mixed food and my corals seem more happy. The same amount of food that I feed the coral in the past for 1 time, now I use the same amount feeding the corals 3X more :rolleyes:

I'm just sharing....

But frankly speaking, that brain looks abit stress, so imo put it at a very low or even no flow area and try not to move it again or feed it for awhile.

Actually juz for your info, in the past I feed my corals alot and also make it a point to target feed some of my corals. Ending up stressing some of them. Might be due to overfeeding. Some spiting our the balance food.

Now I only flood the tank with little amount of mixed food and my corals seem more happy. The same amount of food that I feed the coral in the past for 1 time, now I use the same amount feeding the corals 3X more :rolleyes:

I'm just sharing....

But frankly speaking, that brain looks abit stress, so imo put it at a very low or even no flow area and try not to move it again or feed it for awhile.

hi bro, thks for ur kind advice. I haf juz shifted it to a location wich seems to haf a little flow...hopefully i can nurse it back to health..

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

some small frags of zoas...

post-15010-1231647156.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

a top view of my tank...din managed to snap everything though...

post-15010-1231649142.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

my fts...nt realli nice though...

post-15010-1231649450.jpg

post-15010-1231649460.jpg

post-15010-1231649478.jpg

post-15010-1231649490.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Nicee!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: and remember to feed it frequently... So it'll be healthy... ;)

eh nid to feed one meh? tot dey r photosynthetic?

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

eh nid to feed one meh? tot dey r photosynthetic?

Some feed them to keep them healthy... :) Btw is tat an eagle eye zoas?? Top left hand corner??

haha i dun tink i will feed dem hehe the most will i put 5 in 1 coral food hehe yup...its a small eagle eye colony hehe...i have another small frag of eagle eyes mixed with dragonnet (nt sure of the spelling) eye oso hehe it hiding behind my big zoa colony if u noticed...used to stick it onto a pc of LR, tink current too strong, came off the LR n float n settled bside the big colony..so i juz left it there as it is...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

I saw your corraline encrusting very fast..what addictive that you used bro? By the way,nice tank you've got there, keep it up! :rolleyes:

Display 3ft x 1.5ft x 2ft Custom Tank with 52 kg of Live Rock.

Sump 2ft x 1ft x 1.5ft Custom Tank with 5kg of Live Rock,6kg of Bio Home and Chaeto.

2 x 39w T5 HO Aquaz True Actinic.

2 x 39w T5 HO Aquaz Blue Plus.

1 x Resun 650 Chiller.

1 x Weipro 2012 Protein Skimmer.

1 x DIY Fluidize Reactor with Rowaphos.

2 x Hailea 5000L/hr Return Pump.

1 x SunSun Flow Pump.

2 x Seio 820 Flow Pump.

eh bro pardon me but issnt tht coral jsut a simple lobo phyilla ??????????

erm.. i duno if u guys r realli very specific on e species..

but u can sure say its e lobo family..

n then bro every coral nids to feed one lehz..

if u dun believe i can show u..

just a matter of what u feed then n whether e environment give thems a chance to eat a nt..

but with e commando fish i tink diff lahz..

cus e lobo eat damnnnnn slow..

definately slower than tarchy brain coral but still will feed lahz..

but dun over feed it orhz..

u will crash e coral stomach,reali reali nice lobo colours r diff to retain...

but ur still okie.. :rolleyes:

I saw your corraline encrusting very fast..what addictive that you used bro? By the way,nice tank you've got there, keep it up! :rolleyes:

hi thks a lot bro..im using aquapharm a+b..its been working very well for me so far :)

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup