Kikobananas Marine Tank

pokmingsheng

do not think theres any fishes that have different scientific names for male and female.

post-17012-12769845331191_thumb.jpg post-17012-1276984553628_thumb.jpg

(left)FEMALE MALE(right)

if their shipment list named it right that should be a not so common wrasse. not sure bout leopard wrasses lookalikes, never really take note of them.

but if its rare and you want it .. better be early! you just created spoilers

Brown SPS > Kinder Surprise

White SPS = Kinder Surprise after expiry date

Assumption killed the dinosaurs, they didnt have test kits.

hey reefers,

i've got a question here,

not sure if this question can be replied in time before i head down to AM tomorrow to take a look...

got an email from them that their Maldives Shipment just came in...

there's so little information online about MACROPHARYNGODON CYANOGUTTATUS, is it the male of MACROPHARYNGODON BIPARTITUS?

understand that the MACROPHARYNGODON BIPARTITUS is the female Splendid Leopard Wrasse that i got previously..

is Macropharyngodon cyanoguttatus the male version?

i've only got pictures of that when i googled it up,

no names other than its scientific, not much info about it..

post-16223-12769765105546_thumb.jpg

Sure is Macropharyngodon cyanoguttatus??? They dun come from Maldives leh?

They are found in Mauritius and South Africa...

Sure is Macropharyngodon cyanoguttatus??? They dun come from Maldives leh?

They are found in Mauritius and South Africa...

Terry, i guess you were right..

no leopard wrasse when i went down today...

not even Maldive shipment..

it was Bali shipment..

felt abit cheated..

they should just put in the effort to update the stocklist and not use the old/previous stocklist...

do not think theres any fishes that have different scientific names for male and female.

post-17012-12769845331191_thumb.jpg post-17012-1276984553628_thumb.jpg

(left)FEMALE MALE(right)

if their shipment list named it right that should be a not so common wrasse. not sure bout leopard wrasses lookalikes, never really take note of them.

but if its rare and you want it .. better be early! you just created spoilers

shipment list wrong... :chair:

it was Bali shipment..

felt abit cheated..

they should just put in the effort to update the stocklist and not use the old/previous stocklist...

LOL.. Not the first time... :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

it was Bali shipment..

felt abit cheated..

woa heng I never go down :pirate:<_<

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

Some pointers..

1)left panel blking the glass = can be removed?

2)The background is too far back, maybe losing e "touch"??

3)could use large LPS to host the nemos, budgetary choice for space

4)Hope sand gobies nv come with lps below..

5)volcanic sand hv a life span of 2yrs if i din remb wrongly?

6)future landscape consideration require for prata expansion

7) little rocks and different fish makes e tank looks weird..

:friends:

Hi bro..

thanks for the comments..

but dont seem to get what you mean by some of the pointers you mention..

Some pointers..

1)left panel blking the glass = can be removed?

are you refering to the overflow box? hmm.. that cant be removed...

2)The background is too far back, maybe losing e "touch"??

actually i was going for an empty clean sandbed infront without any LR, but alot of bros here seem to advice me to add on more LRs around that area...

3)could use large LPS to host the nemos, budgetary choice for space

currently its the true octo in the middle of the tank.. both my nemos dont seem to be interested in any LPS.. but they do sleep together at the sand bed everynight... :)

4)Hope sand gobies nv come with lps below..

so far no sand gobies..

5)volcanic sand hv a life span of 2yrs if i din remb wrongly?

heard about this somewhere before.. any effects on an "expired" live sand? i dose bacteria every 2weeks, and i've biohome and LiveRocks in my sump and tank respectively.. shouldnt be a problem right?

6)future landscape consideration require for prata expansion

actually considering selling off my pratas.. but currently not at the moment... i've adjusted their positions slightly after i took that FTS so that they can expand fully on the sand...

7) little rocks and different fish makes e tank looks weird..

this i dont understand.. hmmm.. i need more rocks for my tank? what do you mean by different fish makes the tank look wierd?

do you mean i should have a "wrasse tank", or a "goby tank"?

once again thanks for your inputs :cheers:

ooh don't get mixed up bro.

a scientific name allocated for one species includes males and females too. species is not determined by sex.

got it Lemon.. looking at all these scientific names made me go :wacko:

yes it can be a little :wacko: at first,

but if you have interest and really learn them in depth, scientific names are a very very powerful tool in marine. but not many people are interested because it's kinda dry.

trying this out..

hope it works out in my tank...

post-16223-12772114169092_thumb.jpg

Nice me also have something like your pink califlower but sian 3 week liao, still not open. :thumbdown: hope it work out in your tank. :thumbsup:

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Nice me also have something like your pink califlower but sian 3 week liao, still not open. :thumbdown: hope it work out in your tank. :thumbsup:

not open?

how does it look like closed?

is mine open? haha..

not open?

how does it look like closed?

is mine open? haha..

Hmmm u got a better pic? If the poly is open should be like the right orange one if not then is like the left hand pink one, really look like califlower.

post-11499-12772123499259_thumb.jpg

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)

nice cauli guys! thumbsup.gif

think they are filter feeders, so can try feeding phytoplankton.

keep me posted on how they fare... looking to get a pink one in future too.

nice cauli guys! thumbsup.gif

think they are filter feeders, so can try feeding phytoplankton.

keep me posted on how they fare... looking to get a pink one in future too.

Bro actually u can get a pink one already, i think they r like sea fan, your tank can keep the sea fan open up should have not problem keeping pink califlower. =)

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Bro actually u can get a pink one already, i think they r like sea fan, your tank can keep the sea fan open up should have not problem keeping pink califlower. =)

no space....!!!! I have to glue it to the tank wall if I get one now... haha.....

Hmmm quite true, yur tank like fully filled liao, maybe can get a small frag lor. Not sure califlower how to frag hor, maybe i can frag some orange one for u. =)

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Hmmm quite true, yur tank like fully filled liao, maybe can get a small frag lor. Not sure califlower how to frag hor, maybe i can frag some orange one for u. =)

haha +10000000

Now just waiting for the BM plugs and frag rack to arrive so that I can clear some space, sell some zoas, recover some $$ and buy new corals.... devil.gif

Sorry Kiko, end up talking about my tank... haha..... ==> Gary's fault ... haha... chair.gif

haha +10000000

Now just waiting for the BM plugs and frag rack to arrive so that I can clear some space, sell some zoas, recover some $$ and buy new corals.... devil.gif

Sorry Kiko, end up talking about my tank... haha..... ==> Gary's fault ... haha... chair.gif

Wahahahahah :blink: Dun worry kiko very friendly one. :friends:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

hahaha.. dont worry...

my thread has very low traffic,

so once in awhile if there's some TCSS around it would be great.. lol...

anyway,

do let me know PM/SMS when you're ready to frag your zoas..

i'll be interested in some frags...

of cos after the arrival of the BM plugs..

my neck also long already :P:P

hahaha.. dont worry...

my thread has very low traffic,

so once in awhile if there's some TCSS around it would be great.. lol...

anyway,

do let me know PM/SMS when you're ready to frag your zoas..

i'll be interested in some frags...

of cos after the arrival of the BM plugs..

my neck also long already :P:P

hmmmm seems like gonna be a party at my place when the fragging begins.....

ok ok....

Lets do a frag workshop and frag exchange at my place.

Gonna revive the frag exch club.

everyone gotta bring something to the party.

frags have to be screen through 1st... hehe.....

hmmmm seems like gonna be a party at my place when the fragging begins.....

ok ok....

Lets do a frag workshop and frag exchange at my place.

Gonna revive the frag exch club.

everyone gotta bring something to the party.

frags have to be screen through 1st... hehe.....

purple death acceptable?

i heard califlowers do best when hung upside down... these things rarely survive long but doing so will prolong its life by a lot, so tank walls are a good sub for it imo.

Brown SPS > Kinder Surprise

White SPS = Kinder Surprise after expiry date

Assumption killed the dinosaurs, they didnt have test kits.

purple death acceptable?

i heard califlowers do best when hung upside down... these things rarely survive long but doing so will prolong its life by a lot, so tank walls are a good sub for it imo.

not necessarily need to hang upside down. it's just that in the wild, alot of them grow in alot of weird orientation. simply because they don't care how they grow because they are not-light dependant.

they are 100% non-photosynthetic. need to be fed everyday live baby brine shrimp, phytoplankton, cyclopeeze etc.

this is the hardest non-photosynthetic coral to maintain and will never survive past a few months. these corals live for decades and decades in the wild. last a few months in our tank is not considered surviving. it's just prolonged death.

so far have not heard of anyone in the world to sustain this. wanna be the first? hehe