Gary's Marine fish Tank

mengyang_neo

Feed 6 time a day with diy food (prawn, sotong, clam and pellet blend with DI water). I found out using blend food can make the suncoral open up better compare to cube of brine shrimp, maybe because the food particle is smaller and the coral can receive better. And between it is blended i can just spam the tank instead of target feeding.

Result:

post-11499-12771757675977_thumb.jpg

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Feed 6 time a day with diy food (prawn, sotong, clam and pellet blend with DI water). I found out using blend food can make the suncoral open up better compare to cube of brine shrimp, maybe because the food particle is smaller and the coral can receive better. And between it is blended i can just spam the tank instead of target feeding.

Result:

post-11499-12771757675977_thumb.jpg

Henry's gourmet also...just that these potent meaty foods will cause nitrate will go up...hur hur... :eyebrow:

My super unhealthy supersun is also recovering, some of the head is almost gone when i got it, hopefully they will recover. And because i feed like 6 time a day, my dispar anthias also become fatter. :groupwavereversed:

post-11499-12771763174265_thumb.jpg

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)

Henry's gourmet also...just that these potent meaty foods will cause nitrate will go up...hur hur... :eyebrow:

Totally agree, but henry food a bit ex and far for me to buy. For the nitrate thing i can slowly feel it liao, brown algae forming on the tank wall liao. :pinch:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Totally agree, but henry food a bit ex and far for me to buy. For the nitrate thing i can slowly feel it liao, brown algae forming on the tank wall liao. :pinch:

:agreed: same here...cyno bac growing like crazy on my back walls that i have to scrap them off :angry2:

i can c some cauliflowers in the background...how r they holding up? :ThanxSmiley: just want to know their survivability in an enclosed tank

Hmmm I have 2, 1 of them not opening up since I get it, the other one doing fine for the moment. Have them for 3 weeks liao, still too early to comment whether they will survive.

For brown algae i find that yellow eye kole tang is very good in keeping them in check, but i just lost it last week and u can see the effect of without having the tang. Brown aglae everywhere. <_<

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Hmmm I have 2, 1 of them not opening up since I get it, the other one doing fine for the moment. Have them for 3 weeks liao, still too early to comment whether they will survive.

For brown algae i find that yellow eye kole tang is very good in keeping them in check, but i just lost it last week and u can see the effect of without having the tang. Brown aglae everywhere. <_<

but mine was so thick that even my YT dun dare to peck on it...anyway, i managed to scrap them off before they ruin my tank...hur hur... :eyebrow:

btw, how abt a FTS of your tank?

but mine was so thick that even my YT dun dare to peck on it...anyway, i managed to scrap them off before they ruin my tank...hur hur... :eyebrow:

btw, how abt a FTS of your tank?

Yup agree, like hair algae also need to trim a bit before the tang will start to peck on it.

I cant seem to get a good FTS maybe my tank too long liao. Hee how about your FTS for your nano tank. :P

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

My super unhealthy supersun is also recovering, some of the head is almost gone when i got it, hopefully they will recover. And because i feed like 6 time a day, my dispar anthias also become fatter. :groupwavereversed:

6 times?!?!

wow!

glad to hear that your supersun is recovering..

6 times?!?!

wow!

glad to hear that your supersun is recovering..

Thanks bro, hee ya lor, kind of free now, holiday mah, happy happy just feel hor. lol. U also having holiday now correct?

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

it's good to feed many small meals a day. especially since you have anthias.

anthias like dispars, are feeding non stop 24/7 in the wild. their metabolic activity is very high and they make up for it by frequent small feedings a day.

in your tank, by feeding them 5-6 times a day with small small servings, it will serve them very well and maintain their weight.

for a bonus, feed them cyclopeeze and their colours will pop.

but make sure each feeding is very little. small feedings througout the day is better than 2 major feedings at day's start or end/

it's good to feed many small meals a day. especially since you have anthias.

anthias like dispars, are feeding non stop 24/7 in the wild. their metabolic activity is very high and they make up for it by frequent small feedings a day.

in your tank, by feeding them 5-6 times a day with small small servings, it will serve them very well and maintain their weight.

for a bonus, feed them cyclopeeze and their colours will pop.

but make sure each feeding is very little. small feedings througout the day is better than 2 major feedings at day's start or end/

Thanks for the advice. :thumbsup:

Totally agree with u on the colour thing, when i bought the anthias the colour is very nice, after with me for around 6 mth, the colour like fade quite a lot, even the female who change to male, the colouration also cannot compare to those that is selling at LFS.

I am feeding the dry cyclopeeze everyday but the colour like not improving lay. Any food or method to improve on their colour?

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

nope... school started few weeks back already.. haha...

I see, jia you for school. =) :friends:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

• 3 months later...

Some update.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

nice rockscape and princess anthias!

Thanks. =) Btw the 3 sunset anthias i ask about yestersday all up the lorry liao. Haiz.

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Thanks. =) Btw the 3 sunset anthias i ask about yestersday all up the lorry liao. Haiz.

dun be discourgaed. sunset anthias is not the easiest anthias to keep.

my beautiful gorgeous alpha male MIA yesterday. i removed one rock and i did not know it was hiding inside. when i put the rock back in, i never saw it again.

dun be discourgaed. sunset anthias is not the easiest anthias to keep.

my beautiful gorgeous alpha male MIA yesterday. i removed one rock and i did not know it was hiding inside. when i put the rock back in, i never saw it again.

Thanks for the encouragement, but very strange i find that the one chasing them is my Saddleback clownfish, i thought different type of fish will not disturb each other?

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Agree. Very nice rockscape. Princess v healthy looking and not scared at all despite under such strong lightings. Now U need some flavo anthias..

Ya after hidding for a few hours they start to come out and swim in the open, not scare at all, hopefully can get them to feed. =) Yup flavo anthias is on my list also. But maybe i need to remove my Saddleback clownfish pair. they r chasing most of the fish in my tank. :thumbdown:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

not true. clowns can be very aggressive once settled down. especially if they have already hosted something and are defending their area.

I see, no wonder. 1 of the Saddleback clownfish is station at one area then the other 1 is like doing guard duty swimming all over the place. :wacko:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es