Buying overseas

Tanzy

s/t off the pt here but I noticed Tanzy & AT (correct me if I'm wrong) and a few others order their stuff frm overseas. Which trusted dealer do you guys go to? Hw do u guys pay? By card?

There are more than a few who are willing to order from overseas to save money. The shops I use are Champion Lighting, Premium Aquatics, Inland Reef Aquaria and some UK LFS. All the shops are very helpful and polite. Customer service is top notch except for Champion which is a bit shabby but it is necessary to get some stuff from them. Payment is by credit card and so far no problem. Downside is that if something goes wrong with the thing you buy, you will have to send it all the way back to get it replaced, but that's assuming the local retailers keep stock for you anyway. Most of the time, they order the product only when you want one. If goods are damaged by delivery, the online shops will help you make the claim with the carrier. One major reason to buy overseas is because most of the stuff I want is not available locally, so no choice.

Hope this helps.

Hi pple,

just wondering why order from US when you can get most of the stuff from Europe. Unless the product you looking for is not available there, I dun see why you need to order from US.

1. SHipping cost is alot cheaper than US.

ex. My remora cost ard US$130 w/o pump, air freight(UPS Express) cost US$150. total: US$280! exchange rate 4yrs ago is ard 1.85. Grand total = $500+

2. The voltage is the same as SIngapore. U do not need a transformer to change the voltage from 115 to 230V.

3. Most of the time, the prices are cheaper than US online shop.

Heres one link.

Online Shop in Germany.

Wei :)

link repaired

Limpc: personally, I fink if tt's the case, den we can like haf a special listing board whereby everybody lists wat they wan to buy. and we perhaps purchase the items listed every 3 mths. (3-6 mths wil b a gd time to gather up the 'wanting-to-purchase' list. Den, we arrow an indian chief to make the payment for us. Of coz we'll pay him first lar.

I'm in for it.

Tanzy, since you have experience in oversea order, can you take the lead ? (wah, arrow shoot liao). Maybe, better to meet face to face to firm up order and to pay the Indian Chief upfront to avoid any dispute.

Guys, what do you think ?

Limpc

PS: Eh !!! didn't realise that I have attain Goby status. Hooray.

*point point @ Tanzy*

he's the man!

wat I can say is list up all the items (eg by end Feb). Den meet up and pay money(by mid march). Once Tanzy (wah... already take him as though he reali in ar? :D) receive all the cash, he an order all in one shot.

wolfie, u damn too much, he might be foam partying in Sentosa and didn't realise the arrows on his back. But I like ....

We can meet @ AH Kun coffee shop and kopi on me.

Let's wait for Tanzy to be sober and reply.

Limpc

I'm for the idea too. I'm thinking of adding a 400w MH but could not anyone here that can do this. Basically, the price without the freight is reasonable. It is only the freight that can kill us.

HK is also another area that sells much cheaper than those over here. E.g Aquamedic stuff can be about half the price than those sold by Aquamart after conversion. I even heard of one hobbyist who bought 1/2H of Hailea chiller for S$600. He personally handcarry it!

So, if freight is expensive to bring over from Europe or US, we may want to find those over in HK. I'm sure HK freight is cheaper.

WHat are you guys looking for in HK ? equipments ? LIve stocks ????

any idea which products are cheaper ??

I found Aqualine MH light is much cheaper than those sold by Aquamart or even Petmart. For MH 150W 1000 (actually 13K colour temp) about S$100.

Bought my Aquamedic calcium reactor for only S$100 where Aquamart is selling for S$220. Bought Dupla activated carbon for less than 1/2 price compared to Aquatechnic.

So, mostly equipment. Live stock is not worth buying as it is slightly more ex.

I'll look for the cheapest price around. I get light bulbs from US because it's more expensive from Germany. ETS Skimmers and Blueline 400W MH e-ballast are only available in US. I won't touch anything that is 110V, that's why I got my Tunze streams from UK.

I can't consolidate orders for you guys because I'm not around in Singapore most of the time.

If I do buy anything now, it will only be replacement MH bulbs, I'll inform you guys if I do intend to order from US or Germany.

Aqualine Buschke (a.k.a. AB) is the name of a German company that specialises in aquarium equipment.

Actually, I can get my HK friend (who is a distributor for many top of the line/advanced marine products from Germany and the States) to bring in some products for you.

He keeps beautiful acros in his tank too and he is in touch with many experts from these countries so his level of reef-keeping knowledge is outstanding.

Freight from HK to SG is much cheaper too.

Actually, I can get my HK friend (who is a distributor for many top of the line/advanced marine products from Germany and the States) to bring in some products for you.

He keeps beautiful acros in his tank too and he is in touch with many experts from these countries so his level of reef-keeping knowledge is outstanding.

Freight from HK to SG is much cheaper too.

boss,

is it possible for him to ship a oceanrunner over ?? how much would it cost??