My 22G Tank

poh34

Hi, All

Just wanna check.

bought 2 red firefish over the weekend.

They got bullied by my bi-colour Dottyback until i decided to put the dottyback in a container and put it up for sale.

Since then, the 2 firefish kept hiding in one of the rock and refuse to come out to eat also. Is this normal?

Should i wait or put these 2 fish in container instead?

Hope brothers that is keeping firefish can enlighten me a little.

Many Thanks/

firefish are quite timid fishes... they must be very stressed by your dottyback.. are you sure that they are still hiding in the rock? are they still feeding?

Do not attempt to catch the 2 firefishes out as it will only stress them more... try to refrain from changing your rockscape too for the time being..

HTH

Cheers,

Ray

firefish are quite timid fishes... they must be very stressed by your dottyback.. are you sure that they are still hiding in the rock? are they still feeding?

Do not attempt to catch the 2 firefishes out as it will only stress them more... try to refrain from changing your rockscape too for the time being..

HTH

Cheers,

Ray

+1

even when you admire your tank or feed your fishes, stand a little further till they are more comfortable with your presence.

sorry to hear that bro...

we all learn along the way.. what corals we cant keep what fishes are more fierce and is better avoid.. which fishes cannot co-exist with which kind of fishes.. etc..

dun be afraid to ask questions before any purchase.. but of cos avoid asking those questions that are frequently asked as well.. many of the bros would have answered them liao...

happy reefing!

yeah sorry to hear that bro.

wow i just saw your anemone. really very very huge.

your tank has less fishes than mine but somehow i feel yours is more congested.

maybe it is becuase of the anemone.

Ya man...

It is getting bigger and bigger.....compared to when i first see it in the farm.

Look like i will have to stick with my 4 fishes (the pioneers) in tank. Can't increase anymore. Ha ha

good riddance to dotty smile.gif

Yeah Poh. selection of fishes are very very important for a small tank like ours.

btw, stay with 1 firefish hor, dun go and get another one, be it purple or red.

Ha ha...

Finally got rid of the bully...

Thanks for the advise.Bro Jacky.

my wife just about to get a red one. haha.....

look like got to stay put with current fishes.

Maybe add in more snails + hermit..

are you running carbon? with that gigantic anemone and all those leather corals, the amount of allelopathy (chemical warfare) going on in your 22gallon tank should be off the charts..

run carbon to reduce chemical warfare or you will lose some of your corals or even anemone in the long run.

Yes. Am running carbon to prevent tank crash....

Also, keeping an eye everyday to ensure that all the corals and anemone kept a distance from each other.

Increase the water change to about 15-20% weekly......

So far looks ok. Coral had also been doing better (grow new buds) ever since i added chiller and also started using some liquid micron foods for them.

Still considering whether or not to let go the anemone.

Of cos, another quick solution is to get a bigger tank...... :welldone:

Ha ha. still pending budget and space approval....

Maybe add in more snails + hermit..

hermit might attack other snails for their shell.

make sure you dump a few empty shell for the hermit to facilitate his home "relocation" program.

small tank very difficult to add fishes.. must be all peaceful.. unless u are Digibee smile.gif

Digibee's tank theme => survivior of the fittest!

Haha, must take a look at the tank picture.

we have never seen his FTS before too.....

but you should join our lunch meet and hear him count his fishes livestock.... guarantee you flip... haha.....stuart.gif

Jun Update

Pic 1771

Overview of the tank.

Pic 1772

Newly created tube worm garden.

Pic 1774

Last 2 weeks ago, head of this tube worm came out and disappeared.

2 weeks later, new one grow out already, unexpectedly. Haha

luckily never throw away.

Pic 1775

Latest additional - clam from sheng siong supermarket. Very yummy also.

post-17807-12760038951161_thumb.jpg

post-17807-12760039140801_thumb.jpg

post-17807-12760039278866_thumb.jpg

post-17807-1276003936631_thumb.jpg

lol... bro, everything I see your anemone... i have a good giggle.....

yeah dun throw away those tubes, new feathers will grow.

bro.. your corals are all not doing well.. think your light is insufficient.. thats why your anemone position itself all the way at the top..

Is it?

Actually, i have a question. What is the life span of T5 light?

Do we need to change regularly even it is not spolited?

I thinking of taking out the alantic blue light tube and change back to 2 x white tube.

Then go and buy one Hydor Submissible Blue LED to enhance the colour of the coral.

Time to invest.....

Is it?

Actually, i have a question. What is the life span of T5 light?

Do we need to change regularly even it is not spolited?

I thinking of taking out the alantic blue light tube and change back to 2 x white tube.

Then go and buy one Hydor Submissible Blue LED to enhance the colour of the coral.

Time to invest.....

yup. from what i read need to change every 6-8 months. Light intensity from e tubes will decrease and there might be a spectrum shift.

btw do you need to feed the clam?