Miniature Reef Wonders

Lauya

Started a mini pico tank recently after decom of my fresh water planted tank.

My ex planted tank.

Newrescape.jpg

Planning to keep SPS on the top portion of the tank and LPS at the bottom.

Some info of my tank:

Tank size - 45cm x 25cm x 30cm

Tunze DOC skimmer 9002

Tunze nanostream 6045 with mechanical flow control - adjusted to around 2000lph

Iceprobe Tem chiller - maintaining temp at 27 degrees

Aquazonic Sirius LED light set 8.4w per set x 2 - testing this light on Walt smith purple humilis and Pink birdsnest, may change to PAR 38 LED bulb if needed.

Arcadia 1w Royal blue LED for moonlighting x 2

Dosing regime:

Brightwell Microbacter 7 - 4 drops every alternate days

Brightwell Biofuel (carbon source)- 3 drops daily

Pohl Xtra - 1-2 drops daily

Trace Elements - 1ml weekly

Brightwell KH Buffer - will do measure the consumption rate of calcium and kh once i stock it more with SPS.

Water change with D-D H2Ocean salt - twice weekly

• Replies 50

I like your planted tank! Looking forward to your nano marine setup!

Thanks. Currently going slow on stocking.

wa so eng ah bian zhou gang sibo :Pwheres ur fts :chair: :chair:

zzzzz kena spotted <_<

shhhhh....... :fear:

not so soon fts.....currently work in progress.

Expected!!!

Was about to tell u that u can have such nice planted tank,I wun be surprise if your sps r as nice as them! :)

if I got such nice planted tank I think I'll just keep.

Very wasted bro!

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Sneak preview of my Pico tank :P No fishes yet, plan to add only after stocking tank with corals. Planning on 2-3 gobies with some shrimps. Currently with 4 astrea snails in it.

DSC01147.jpg

Nice tank bro. Wondering how do you mount you ice probe at the top right? By any chance your ice probe is exposed to salt spray? How is the temperature like? able to keep at 27C constantly?

Sorry for asking so much qns.

Right now planning to rebuilt my tank setup. Looking at ways to better use my ice probe (like using in a slightly bigger tank (currently mounted in HOB for my 1ft cube). Will be great if you could share alittle of your mounting method.

Thanks!

Tank setup

4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft (3 way viewing)

ATI Sunpower 6 x 39w

Arctica 1/5Hp

Skimz SM161 skimmer

Smart ATO system

Jebao DC 12k

Jebao dosing pump (Fauna Marine Lite balling - Thinking)

Jebao RW 15 wavemaker

Upgrading in Process.....

More infomation coming soon!

Expected!!!Was about to tell u that u can have such nice planted tank,I wun be surprise if your sps r as nice as them! :)if I got such nice planted tank I think I'll just keep.Very wasted bro!

Thanks bro. CO don't allow me to have 2 tanks. Can only choose one. :chair: So i give reef tank a try. Still new at keeping SPS though. The challenge of it is keeping the KH and calcium level in check. Wonder if i stock a alot of SPS, how much buffer and calcium i need to dose daily.. :blink:

Nice tank bro. Wondering how do you mount you ice probe at the top right? By any chance your ice probe is exposed to salt spray? How is the temperature like? able to keep at 27C constantly?Sorry for asking so much qns.Right now planning to rebuilt my tank setup. Looking at ways to better use my ice probe (like using in a slightly bigger tank (currently mounted in HOB for my 1ft cube). Will be great if you could share alittle of your mounting method.Thanks!

My tank's rim have few mm of edge running along the rim, i cut a strip of egg crate place it on the edge and put the iceprobe resting on the rim and egg crate. So far no salt spray. The iceprobe can keep the tank constantly at 27 degree and on hot day maybe 27.5degree. What i do is i mount another fan to blow at the fan of the iceprobe which help to circulate more cool air to cool the heat sink. My tank have higher rim on the front and back which block the view of the egg crate. Will try to post a picture.

eh u nv secure the egg crate ? not scared it drop in meh

Secure with 2 rubber stopper. Anyway the iceprobe wire is clamp behind of the tank so no chance of it dropping in the water. So free ar, no need study for exam meh. :bow:

"trying" to study now lor :whistle ...u nv noe when uncle murphy will come knocking hurhur :evil:

Bro whq,

Hope these picture helps.

Thanks bro for the details:) seems like ice probe works better with slow flowrate. I am getting a bigger fluctuation in temperature as I mounted mine in a mod hob filter. Will definitely try ur method. Thanks again for the information, helps a ton.

Tank setup

4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft (3 way viewing)

ATI Sunpower 6 x 39w

Arctica 1/5Hp

Skimz SM161 skimmer

Smart ATO system

Jebao DC 12k

Jebao dosing pump (Fauna Marine Lite balling - Thinking)

Jebao RW 15 wavemaker

Upgrading in Process.....

More infomation coming soon!

Thanks bro for the details:) seems like ice probe works better with slow flowrate. I am getting a bigger fluctuation in temperature as I mounted mine in a mod hob filter. Will definitely try ur method. Thanks again for the information, helps a ton.

No problem bro. :)

Some picture of my corals. Slowly stocking up.

Thanks to bro qiang for scouting out my red blasto today. :ThanxSmiley:

"Brown" purple humilis acro, slowly bringing back its color if possible. :(

Some common rics, open brain and radioactive and eagle zoas.

post-17527-044206700 1289060295_thumb.jp

post-17527-005891000 1289060314_thumb.jp

post-17527-087878600 1289060329_thumb.jp

post-17527-044959800 1289060347_thumb.jp

post-17527-008907400 1289060534_thumb.jp

Some picture of my corals. Slowly stocking up.

Thanks to bro qiang for scouting out my red blasto today. :ThanxSmiley:

"Brown" purple humilis acro, slowly bringing back its color if possible. :(

Some common rics, open brain and radioactive and eagle zoas.

hows the color of the blasto in ur tank ? got as red as juz now anot...

the ring is yellow or orangy har

Think u will invest in good slr in no time, lol. Nice tank. Hope the dark force will not draw u further. Hehe.

hows the color of the blasto in ur tank ? got as red as juz now anot...the ring is yellow or orangy har

Color not as bright red under my LEDs. Look bright red that time under T5s. The ring is yellow.

Think u will invest in good slr in no time, lol. Nice tank. Hope the dark force will not draw u further. Hehe.

Such a small tank, invest in slr, take few photos nia :heh: . Hopefully i can resist the dark forces temptation. :evil:

Finally added some LS to my pico tank.

Blue Hermit (Clibanarius tricolor) x 2

Midas and Tailspot Blenny - Bought it from a kind reefer. Qiang, I will take care of them for you :eyebrow:

Yasha Goby pair with pistol shrimp

Some pics of the new house mates, trying to take picture of the Midas but he always dart into his home when he saw the camera <_<

Initially took a pipe and guide the Yasha Pair to burrow at the front side of the scape but overnight they shifted house to the side where my skimmer is. <_<

post-17527-002868600 1291040734_thumb.jp

post-17527-072644200 1291040747_thumb.jp

post-17527-023694400 1291040761_thumb.jp

@@