ID game!!

yikai

Hi reefers,

it's been a very long time since we've last played the ID game!

care to play again? :)

there's no prizes this time but that's not saying there won't be in the near future. but i thought maybe we could just play for fun :)

here's something easy for starters.

anyone can guess the name of this anthias?

so everytime someone guesses it right, i'll put another picture and the game continues on and on. it could be anything from fish, to corals, to inverts and etc etc! anything goes here! :)

and hopefully we all learn something new everyday ;)

post-15755-085237600 1292337194_thumb.jp

• Replies 162

Pseudanthias privitera

Good try but no, not as rare as privitera anthias. May appear in singapore thru hawaii shipment, but the fish is not caught in hawaii.

Try again:)

Below is a privitera anthias, u can see it's more yellow than the anthias above. SO the above is not privitera!

Privitera_Anthias_ps.jpg

Aiyoh Lemon, edit out the photog's name lah~

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)

chaetodon fremblii

yup.

Bluestriped butterfly. beautiful fish from hawaii but doesn't garner much interest.

Aiyoh Lemon, edit out the photog's name lah~

oops! thanks for reminding ;)

but it's photographer's credit haha.

next fish will be posted by digiman.

so happy to see our forum members so enthusiastic in playing this game.

come come more people join in! when the guessing gets harder, we're goign to need more people. hehehe

yup.

Bluestriped butterfly. beautiful fish from hawaii but doesn't garner much interest.

oops! thanks for reminding ;)

but it's photographer's credit haha.

LOL. Credit's definitely due to the photog. however, google the photog's name, all the photos came out liao.... :upsidedown:

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)

Ok here goes,

for this fish ID i need scientific name as the common name can be misleading.

post-10328-097449200 1292340622_thumb.jp

Hint: This fish is occasionally available in our LFS thru philippines shipment but most pple including the LFS owner dunno wat this fish is. Both females and males are seen in the pic above. Remember provide the scientific name!

Ok here goes,

for this fish ID i need scientific name as the common name can be misleading.

post-10328-097449200 1292340622_thumb.jp

Hint: This fish is occasionally available in our LFS thru philippines shipment but most pple including the LFS owner dunno wat this fish is. Both females and males are seen in the pic above. Remember provide the scientific name!

OH!

this one is tricky :P

Pseudanthias Pascalus??

Well done!

There are two types of purple queen anthias from philippines, Pseudanthias Tuka and Pseudanthias Pascalus.

Males are hard to distinguish but females and juveniles are v easy to tell the difference! Tuka has a yellow stripe on the back whereas pascalus dun hav.

This is a female Tuka purple queen:

post-10328-056663200 1292341428_thumb.jp

This is a female Pascalus Purple queen:

post-10328-097673100 1292341436_thumb.jp

So next time when u are at LFS to buy purple queen, ask yourself whether u are catching tuka or pascalus :)

Mux up the challenge.

Try ID this one, it's not hard.

post-10328-010483500 1292341885_thumb.jp

Hint: This fish is a wrasse of course. It can be found in CF now! Occasionally will appear in LCK also! Cheap and beautiful wrasse but not v reef-safe cos will disturb shrimps.