Shark

Nicholas Phang

Sharks are not advisable to be kept in captivity.

Also, high maintenance, unless you are very rich, own a big space, can afford a huge tank. Come to think if it, the Marine Tank at the basement of Wistma Atria has a Black Tip Reef Shark right???

Then you can call up the LFS and say "erm, I wanna order a tank... U sell?"

LSF owner: "of cuz, wat size?"

You: "erm... abt 30 feet"

LSF owner: "30 feet... FEET~! So big ah~!"

blah blah blah~~

LSF owner:" We also got turtle, sealion, dolphins, killer-whales....."

Well, to end it off, if you are trying to get this Black Tip Shark here, you had better check out Singapore's AVA first. I dun think this species can be so easily imported into Singapore. You need a license for this one.

Just my 2 cents... ;)

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

the radio... the radio....

Not exactly.

People were telling me this during our few recent illegal gatherings at an undisclosed location.

I am planning to set up dugong/manatee tank, polar bear tank to supplement my Orcra tank.

a black tip shark?!! if you can afford a tank of 20 feet length by at least 7 feet width, then perhaps you can keep a juvenile black tip well, for say, half a year, till it almost doubles in size.

the only shark that may be sustainably kept in local home aquariums is the bamboo cat shark, and even then youd need a five/six feet tank with curved edges to simulate unending water expanse for it, which will be costly. they arent difficult to feed, but will try to swallow most other bite sized inhabitants in the tank. its best to avoid keeping all sharks, and definitely, not free roaming sharks like black tip sharks. im sure you wouldnt like to live in a toilet sized cubicle which is already more than ten times your body volume in size (average HDB toilet)- so imagine what its like for a shark that has the ocean for a home, and has then to tahan being stuck in a glass shell of less space than a toilet presents to us.. it wont even be able to swim in second gear.

next thing you know, someone's gonna get a seagull to help remove unwanted damsels.

pls kindly avoid the shark.

Not exactly.

People were telling me this during our few recent illegal gatherings at an undisclosed location.

I am planning to set up dugong/manatee tank, polar bear tank to supplement my Orcra tank.

Does polar bear live in harmony with whale shark?

I am thinking of adding a pair to my aquarium too.... :blink:

kekeke

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

black tip can be found in LFF.. but provided u got a fibre tank or at least 8ft and more to keep the fish.. and a good chiller, good skimmer.. this few is already good enough for u to stop dreaming.. ya..

I am not slamming or whatsoever. This is just my personal take on this. First of all, here is the link: http://www.arofanatics.com/members/sil80/sharktale/

Lets assume that this is true. This dude here really has a black tip shark in his house. If that shark is 2 feet, from my judgement, the tank looks to be around a 6 footer.

IMO, that is still not enough space. Sharks are one that need to move around alot to breathe. Their gills do not naturally have muscles to pump water in. They need to move around to let the water go into the gills. for a 2 footer shark. I would think at least a 10 foot tank would be the minimum, and if you really care for the bugger and feed it properly, it will outgrow the 10 footer in no time. How many times are you willing to upgrade your tank in a year? Do you have that much space in your house?

Shark + damsel = Ok.

Shark + volitan = Fish being eaten + Fish die of literally food poisoning.

I just assume that the Volitan is in the same tank, as both pictures look like the same kind of tank.

Honestly, since, it is not my tank, not my friend, not my problem, I frankly can not be bother to find this Sil81, and clear things up with him. Nor do I expect him to come here and clear things up, as he has no reason for him to do so, and I am not that big a deal for him to come here too.

My message that I like to put across to this community is that unless you can afford a 12 footer, and with connections to Underwaterworld, and convince them to take your shark when it outgrows your tank. Forget about keeping a shark.

My personal experience: I did research and asked for feedback in keeping sharks. Those who are here long enough, you would have seen my threads about starting a marine pond. Those who join here not too long ago, you may want to search for my threads if you really bother to.

I have a 30' by 6' pond and a roughly 12' by 12' pond that is like 8' deep to play with. And I still do not think that I am capable of taking care of a shark.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...ndpost&p=204125

Note that the pond that is in question, is the smallest pond I can use and it is definately too small. The other 2 ponds that I mentioned, 1 is in a farm in Lim Chu Kang, and other is in my parent's house.

Always remember:

1. Rearing sharks as a private individual is almost illegal in most countries of the world. I am sure Singapore is one of them.

2. Keeping fish is not about, putting the fish in the tank, snap a few pictures, post it online, enjoy an ego-trip for a couple of days, then few days later post say how to feed shark, what to feed shark, then after a few weeks, putting it up for sale in Pasar Malam, then putting it up for auction, then when no one responds, put a damn cheap price tag to it, then finally it dies in your tank in less than half a year.

3. What I or the rest of the world can offer is only advise. Of course, by no obligation or reason, you do not need to listen to us. We are not the goverment. End of the day, it is your call. When you called, do not come crying, running back to us for remedies. Prevention is better than cure.

4. I personally think Sharks are nicer seen in Underwaterworld, than in another reefers tank or in fact, in my own tank.

I have given up the idea of keeping a shark already. I think putting the money into getting an Exige would be a far much better idea. :evil: