Wil small, budget tank

wil_lee76

good day, great to see that more and more people are having this wonderful hobby. BUT im sad to see that lots of seniors reefers had decom and left the reefing scene. Well, just hope that I can see those seniors making a comeback just like me! :D

After stopping for almost a year, i have decided to make a small comeback into this expensive and time consuming hobby! (can't keep thinking of my previous fishtank, tank still hanging around my pal place) Maybe i will start a 3 footer once he got his 4 footer (Hey valerossis, have you decided your 4 footer??? Don't keep me waiting leh! :P)

Got this tank from one of the LFS at a discounted rate. (in fact, regretted! should come into Pasar malam realised that alot of reefers selling due to upgrading)

Thanks to my father in law for providing the few good pieces of cured live rocks & also all the necessary equipments like hydrometer, timers & etc

Thanks to cliff for selling me his remaining items at a special price. (sad to see you decom, hope that you can come back just like me soonz!)

ok, my intention of this small tank is to keep some simple but nice corals. Here are my wish list (so any bros out there, any donation??? :P)

Wish list include:

True Oct

Frogspawn

Mushies

Prata

Live stocks wish list

Pair True Percula

Chromis

Blue eye Antias

Blood shrimp

Cleaner shrimp

Dartfishes

Simple Equipments

24 Gallons Fish tank

Hopar 20W cooling fan

Resun Mini skimmer

27W - PL light 10K white & blue

Normal digital thermometer

a show of my tank with scaping. comments? feel free to let me know. Thanks!

post-3730-1205907924.jpg

post-3730-1205908010.jpg

• Replies 231

One mistake that I have done was that the sand grade that I use was incorrect....kind of thick. i think is grade 3... just recap that last time, i used to deploy DSB methods and uses fine sand.

Thinking back...haiz, feel like removing the sand bed and changes to black argonate sand that AM is selling...(if im not wrong)

Should I or should I not? :unsure:

sand bed pictures with algae

post-3730-1205908216.jpg

One mistake that I have done was that the sand grade that I use was incorrect....kind of thick. i think is grade 3... just recap that last time, i used to deploy DSB methods and uses fine sand.

Thinking back...haiz, feel like removing the sand bed and changes to black argonate sand that AM is selling...(if im not wrong)

Should I or should I not? :unsure:

sand bed pictures with algae

Do it! You won't regret it :D

And what better time than now when you're still cycling your tank and you haven't put in any LS or corals...

Or you're gonna forever be thinking...damn, I should have done that...

A cooling fan was deployed just infront of my tank opening. * just nice

Past days had monitor my temp and max is about 30-31 degree

Lowest that can go is 29 degree.

With cooling fan It can drop from 30 degree to 28 degree. Feel it with my hand, wow really chill. But one thing for sure...evaporation is like hell manz....i got to top up almost 2 - 3 days.

Thinking of getting a small chiller but lots of modification got to do behind the plastic casing.

Some pics

post-3730-1205908430.jpg

post-3730-1205908468.jpg

post-3730-1205908490.jpg

A timer was used on the cooling fan as to cool the water on daily and hourly basis. I never tried this method before BUT It just acts like what a chiller does! :P

Haven t really monitor the implementation, maybe going to do it on this weekend.

A pic of my colling fan connected to ben timer. If you look at the socket....im afraid one day my house will kanna burnt down!

post-3730-1205908709.jpg

Went back to AM for my shopping trip....haiz, im surprised that Janet still rem me...maybe i spend too much last time and also like to talk ###### with them!

Bought some stuffs & a hydro wave maker (* think it K1) from her.

really nice and powerful wave maker. :rolleyes:

Pictures of the wave maker.

post-3730-1205908976.jpg

post-3730-1205909064.jpg

Bought a Hydro deflector from her too. And realized that some water will touch the upper casing.So i uses 2 clothing clips as support. :P Gosh, my wife look at me as keep laughing at me...like that also can!

Pic of my clips that raise up the upper lid.

post-3730-1205909199.jpg

Sorry Guys. some pictures are not resize.

Ok, a feeding tray (is that what we called?) is used at corner of the tank. i do realised that previously when i uses, most of the fishes will know and come below waiting for feed. Not bad, and again for such a small tank....i uses a small one.

Pic of Dupla fish tray

post-3730-1205909701.jpg

Do it! You won't regret it :D

And what better time than now when you're still cycling your tank and you haven't put in any LS or corals...

Or you're gonna forever be thinking...damn, I should have done that...

bro, haiz...cycling already finish liao....tank stock up with some stocks liao.

Maybe thinking of transf the stocks into a blue tub and changes the sand. and maybe I will deployed uses NSW instead of pre mixed. More time saving.

Thanks for viewing and comments! :D

Well, yesterday went to one of the LFS. Supposed to go there for jalan jalan and not having intention of buying stuffs. But ended up with this red monster. Quite a size for my tank! :upsidedown:

Pic of the blood shrimp

post-3730-1205910197.jpg

Ok, that's all for now...send me your comments and suggestions.

Thanks for viewing, will be back with more pics and my stories.... :D

:rolleyes:

My tank sitting at a corner of my living room.

post-3730-1205910395.jpg

A summary of my current tank chemistry:

Temp - 28 degree (with cooling fan)

Temp - 30- 31 degree (without cooling fan)

PH - 8.3 (Salifert test kit, time for a water change)

NO3- 0 - 0.3

NO2- 0

Ammonia - 0

PO4 - 0 - 0.3 (if im not wrong, need to check my record book)

Thanks ! :rolleyes:

Wah ... nice old tank. Should not decom in the first place. :pirate:

Anyway, good to see back reefing again!

hi bro, yah....shouldnt done that...but no choice lah... :upsidedown:

great to see you tooo!! :upsidedown:

welcome back bro

Humble tank :

Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display 

Equipment :

Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1

Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1

CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium

Light : ATI 8x54W

Eh bro, good to see that u made a come back, looks like a good start :)

I miss the old times at src, its now very different.

SBS_Transit

welcome back bro

thanks and I have gone thru your thread toooo....i still prefer the AM scaping by steve and team.

:P:D

Eh bro, good to see that u made a come back, looks like a good start :)

I miss the old times at src, its now very different.

haiz....what to do? just limit ourself to words and comments nowadays...as most of us know..its just a hobby....why cant we make love rather than WAR? :P *im not a gay....!!!

great to see u around...i still miss my SIFU....hes really gone...been a decade that i seen him here..

really happy to see u ard!!! :D

Yo.

I think ya can remove the front cap of the K1, will have more wider flow. :)

Welcome back.

hey lim!! thanks for the input!! thats one thing i will DO IT IMM!!

great to see u ard!!!!