Lawchan marine tank part 2

lawchan77

Your new rockscape is very nice, bro.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Your new rockscape is very nice, bro.

Thank you for the kind complements!!

More than that, pocket also very deep. -_-

There already a big hole in pocket. So decided to rock scape than buy fishes. Save money. :P

(click to see my tank thread)

Skimmer : Deltec SC2560

Chiller : Sanyo 1HP Compressor with copper coil

Lighting : Ecotech Radion XR30w x 3 + 5 ft ATI power module 4 tubes

Dosing - Bubble magnus 7 channel

Main pump - reef octopus 7000

FR : Skimz phosphate reactor + FR45 Biopellet reactor

Wavemaker - Vortech 3X MP40W + 1 x sun sun

All your fish is very nice and big. My tang no eat seawead how you train them to eat?

didnt 'train' them leh.. they like seaweed naturally.. only thing was they had to get used to the orange clip. took them a couple of days to trust that the orange clip wont bite.

the big black tang, archilles tang and chevron tang were reefer's fishes. apart from the chevron tang, the other 2 were raised in Iwarna which i had the honour of buying over.. they were already trained on pellets, mysis, seaweed and what-nots. and they have all previously overcome ich and survived... there's a myth saying that once the fish survive ich, it develops a natural immunity that gives it an edge when there is an ich breakout.

although reefers fishes are more expensive than fish shipment, i think it makes a more worthy investment overall. i had 2 archilles and 2 black tangs from new shipment died on me before i had the opportunity to take over these fishes. The amount of money spent on those were much more than what i paid for these seasoned fishes.

the overall health condition of these fishes is obvious right from the moment i put them in the tank. while other new fishes would hide and refuse to feed for the first couple of days, these seasoned tangs began feeding barely 15mins in their new environment.

Buy those unseasoned seaweed..look carefully at the packaging. Cheers!

ya man.. dont get the tom yam flavoured ones!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

just when i thought the worst is over, witnessed the black tang turn against the archilles and a chunk of fin kena injured.... black tang must've been grumpy.

IMG_1596.jpg

decided to release the picasso pair into the main tank on 19th April since these 2 are less aggressive compared to the snowflake and black ice.

there is already a RBTA in the main tank which has stubbornly attached itself to the back of the tank. so im hoping that the picasso pair will host in the anemone the same way they are hosting in the current green anemone. they cant stay in the betta forever...

in betta with green anemone

IMG_1571.jpg

caught both fishes with bare hands and placed them near the RBTA... then cross fingers

IMG_1597.jpg

the clownfishes were puzzled for awhile and ventured away for a couple of times. they seem to be lost in such a huge world. each time, i would guide them back. picasso #2 seem to be more anemone frenly than picasso #1.

they are such good friends, i'm hoping #2 will keep #1 in the anemone since they dont seem to want to separate.

Day 2 - 20th Apr

found picasso #1 bobbing on the water surface out of the anemone alone. chased him back to the anemone and left for work.

both picasso together during feeding time in the evening.

Day 3 - 21st apr

same thing.. found picasso #1 bobbing on the water surface... AGAIN. chased him back to the anemone.

Day 4 - 22nd apr

found picasso # bobbbing on the water surface again. .chased him back to anemone again. think i have to resign to fate liao... sigh

Day 5 - 23rd Apr

when i thought i had given up... this morning i found this.. NO CLOWNFISH!!

IMG_1622.jpg

I got worried and decided to check it out.. then i saw picasso #2 peeking out from anemone to see who is disturbing his beauty sleep.. yippe!!

lets hope he stays that way..

After I released my rbta to my tank, my clowns also enjoy the huge reef tank space & dun want to host the rbta. Now I'm at a lost, dunno what to do.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

this video can see both picassos in RBTA

stalking the picassos early in the morning... haha

After I released my rbta to my tank, my clowns also enjoy the huge reef tank space & dun want to host the rbta. Now I'm at a lost, dunno what to do.

do they make a dash towards the rbta when they sense danger?

mine do... once they sense danger they dash towars the anemone even if they are away from the RBTA.

i used my net to gently guide the clownfish back to the anemone when it strayed initially. took me about 3 days to get him settled.

IMG_1617.jpg

guess where this came from.. haha

i got mixed up with the names.. can somebody assist to see if i label the zoas correctly?

and zoas #1, #2 and #3 ID please...

Ah girl, i dunno where you get those zoas from but i try :P

- zoas #1 is Purple Queen aka Crown Royal

- zoas #2 is Radio active dragon eye.

- radioactive Eagle eye i.e. without the 'radioactive'.

- zoas #3 is Pink Pather

- pink panther should be Pink Guava

- pink guave should be purple fusion

Hope it helps :)

Btw, your X-man look nice in the pic !

Treat others the way you wanna be treated...

how u know i hijack lawrence username.. haha

correct me if i got it wrong.. everyday i learn something new..

IMG_1617-1.jpg

MAY DAY Rock scape specials.

after doing up the left side of tank, decided that i needed more rocks to accomodate more shopping opportunites.

Do you think there are too many rocks now? comments appreciated.

before and after front view

IMG_1698.jpg

IMG_1708.jpg

before and after side view

IMG_1703.jpg

IMG_1717.jpg

IMG_1711.jpg

managed to take this top tank shot during WC.

do these 2 picassos seem to be a pair now?

:wub: :wub: :wub: