Newbie tank

Davidlow

I am confused ... How to read the no3 level ? According to the salifert's instruction , place the test vial on the white part of the the colour chart and compare colors looking from the TOP .

So which is the correct method ? Can enlighten me please for those who use salifert test kit . The 1st pic or the 2nd pic is the correct method to read ?

post-21711-0-12926100-1354634989_thumb.j

post-21711-0-50014500-1354635032_thumb.j

System 45 - 1.5 ft cube with sump

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

BM MF70 reactor - Rowaphos

Phosban reactor 150 - NP Biopellet

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

I am confused ... How to read the no3 level ? According to the salifert's instruction , place the test vial on the white part of the the colour chart and compare colors looking from the TOP .

So which is the correct method ? Can enlighten me please for those who use salifert test kit . The 1st pic or the 2nd pic is the correct method to read ?

I assume the first one is the correct way, but that doesn't really matter, as long as you can tell its pinkish, it's no good :)

It's called system 45 . U can get from DE lighting , one of the sponsor .

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

Do u dose any bacteria liquid? It has to be part of your maintenance routine after WC to keep your bacteria population in check.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

try to do a bigger water change ~20% or so with quality salt mix and run some media (biopellets, etc), reduce feeding (food adds waste, fish adds waste)

over time should help :)

Yup . Roger . Can I use Pura nitratelock? Anyone use b4? Comments please ?

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

Do u dose any bacteria liquid? It has to be part of your maintenance routine after WC to keep your bacteria population in check.

Yup , I dose bacteria after each WC . But I realize I never have a constant type of water change, sometimes I use NSW from lfs and sometimes I use ready salt mix water from AM or Madpetz . Any wrong with that ?

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

The review about pura nitrate lock look good but I would like to ask anyone is using it ?

NitrateLock is a very unique product. It is the only true nitrate remover that works 100% in fresh and saltwater!

NitrateLock rapidly removes and maintains extremely low to non-measurable levels of nitrates in fresh and saltwater aquariums.

BENEFITS:

-Drastically reduces number of necessary water changes.

-Long lasting, can be regenerated 100’s of times.

-Regeneration is accomplished with plain table salt, quick and completely safe.

-Completely safe for even the most delicate invertebrates.

-Convenient to implement, comes enclosed in a 6" x 12" 300-micron media bag.

PURA NitrateLock in freshwater will remove and maintain nitrate levels up to the resin maximum capacity before regeneration will be necessary. In saltwater expect half of the present nitrates to be removed prior to regeneration. After each regeneration half of the present nitrates will be removed. 500 mL will remove up to 19,000 mg and 1 L of the media will remove up to 38,000 mg of nitrates.

500ml induc. sealed jar, Treats 50Gal

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

I using but nearly 2 yrs never changed liao. Put in filter bag & juz throw inside sump. Did regenerate once but nitrate unable to go below 5mg/l.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Currently I using BW aquatics reef biofuel which is more effective. Managed to achieve near zero readings for nitrate & phosphate in juz less than 3 weeks.

hi bro, just run biopellet better..

Today went to few shops to look for pura nitratelock, but ended up never buy . Lfs owner also said that Run biopellet is better. Headache lah , now need to crack head to find a place to install FR inside sump

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

TLF Phosban reactor 150 can run out of tank but for biopellet need rather big pump so not sure if suitable. i personally run both biopellet n phosban + carbon so far so good.

Btw, for small tank salt mix better choice can either buy or mix urself... When im too busy i also go find madpetz to buy premix so far oso no issues

:cheers:

send via tapa

:: just a noob ::

Thank jxlex for the advice . Must start to hunt for FR ? Any kind soul ? A miniature one ?

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

Got small FR for nano tank one

I using one..

Cheap and gd

U selling ? What is the brand ? U have a pic ?

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

Still can't resist the beauty of mandarin fish , wifey insist to have one . This cutie is less than 1 inch . Hope is can be pellet trained .

post-21711-0-38190400-1354945798_thumb.j

post-21711-0-31940600-1354945824_thumb.j

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David

pods pods pods.... most tank will have unless u have competitions for them amongst fishes else i think some bros here sell so you might wanna consider adding it in while pellet training this boy...

:: just a noob ::

pods pods pods.... most tank will have unless u have competitions for them amongst fishes else i think some bros here sell so you might wanna consider adding it in while pellet training this boy...

Yup , u are rite . I have plenty of pods in my tank . But I realized that this cutie is observing the rest of the fishes when pellet feeding session .

If really Bo pian , then go ah beng to buy Copepod loh ...

Vortech MP 10

Maxspect Nano Razor 60W

BM Nac 3.5 Skimmer

Hailea chiller HS 28A

Newbie_David