Why we launched this Lounge...

Achilles Tang

Yahoo!+Photo+Album&.dnm=mug.jpg

RealName: Clarence Hoe

Marital Status: Single

Interests: Movies, HK TVB Serials, RnB/HipHop/Trance/Techno/Jazz/NewAge, Slacking...

Aquarium: 1 2ft FW (since graduation this year), 1 2ft Marine (4 weeks ago)

On the topic of signing on in the SAF... well... I probably shouldn't be saying this but I used to be in the Army Officer's Management Centre (I can't talk about my work and experiences) but I can at least tell you I agree that you should think twice, and then think again... you may change your mind after BMT/NSF... some people become more interested in a career in the force, but most people change their minds.

If you do become more interested... then I should advise that you have as many "what-if" questions on your mind for the recruitment officer, and ALWAYS read EVERY single crappy terms of service (TOS) as well as the many pages of "special additional terms (SAT)". You'd be surprised at what you'll find :D

p/s: On another note... I'm plakton! What determines my organism size?

• Replies 136

Oh! Got to love those carbines... ;)

Smell? Smell is fully mounted M113 after 5 days in the field with the inside plastered with mud and rotting combat ration baking in the sun! It's been more than 2 years and I still can't get the aroma out of my head. I took a thirty second lift from them and I decided to walk the next 4 km.throwup.gif

Who wants to sign on still? :blink:

that bad huh??? me posted to armour HQ as log officer.. if the smell is that bad like what tanzy had mentioned, me will think twice in going back for reservist.. hahaha

Smell? Smell is fully mounted M113 after 5 days in the field with the inside plastered with mud and rotting combat ration baking in the sun! It's been more than 2 years and I still can't get the aroma out of my head. I took a thirty second lift from them and I decided to walk the next 4 km.throwup.gif

Who wants to sign on still? :blink:

hey tanzy, i'm guessing u got a ride from the armour engineers then eh?

haha

never admired the AIs in thier M113s.... extremely proud 2 be a Tankee... haha.. but the similiarity in smell of my CVC helmet is .... WHOA.. :blink: Heavenly..... :blink:

:ph34r: Armour !

haha... today's my BiG dAy.... wow... saw someone here was from AOMC.. haha.... a big ###### up leh... AOMC has still no idea whtr im in RSAF or Armour.. hence.. i can onli get my beloved pink ic 2mmrw..FRDAY 13th ! :angry:

I hope no AOMC officer here, but I'd say, AOMC has been ###### up for so long. Did you know I actually knew more about policies than the NUSAF there? They actualy asked me to give them my "Wu Gong Mi Ji" to them... even when I did, they could not understand it... and asked for a step by step description of what has to be done, what are the typical questions officers ask when they call blah blah...

Oh yah, and things started to ###### up so much more when they started to employ 16/17 year old "ah lians" to do the job. They didn't know nuts about policies and GOMs. Dunno... but I always feel I missed out all the fun... I'd rather go chiong sua!

BTW, Shiokmc, there are hundreds of you pilot trainees transferring from RSAF back to Army... wouldn't be surprised especially when these new girls (actually they only stay an average of 3 - 4 months) take like 1 hr to do a simple job that only takes 10 mins... plus they spend so much time in the yellow box!

hey tanzy, i'm guessing u got a ride from the armour engineers then eh?

haha

I don't think it would have been any better. I walked a bit more and I got a ride from a SADA land rover.

shiockmc,

Remember to get the COE or something, Certificate of Enlistment.

Oh ya, knew something was wrong. I never got mine. <_

the COS, is it abt the conduct etc.. if so, then i got mine 6 months after i ORD... after i push for it.. and tehan my friend, S1 for delaying it... hahaha, then she said that have to go thru CO.. i wonder why..

Kelvin,

Its some stupid biased protocol. Didn't your CO sign the COS?

All Officer's (CPT and below) Conduct and Performance must be recommended by branch head and approved by CO. (MAJ to COL) recommended by CO, approved by ACGS. Us WOSE most pathetic one, Staff Officer recommend, Branch head approve, so we get ours without question. So yours may be delayed cos its prepared by AOMC and your unit too lazy to collect from them lor. :D Either that... or... refer to my post on the ######-up-ness of AOMC staff these days.

yeah clarance, u are right.. my CO delayed my COS.. coz he want to vet thru and end up, never read at all.. come back the same.. hahaha..

To those who haven't gone in to serve National Service... just remember... you are nothing but primodial seabed scum... so hold your bald head up with pride... and don't be a keng king or you'll forever hold that reputation in your platoon... remember... some of them may become your colleagues or bosses or worse, your boss's friend... and what they say you are in NS... is very much possible what you are in real life.

but based on merit on how you wish to prove yourself during BMT... you may become a Rotifer (Officer) (heh)... or be lobo as possible (drift with the tide like plankton) and hope time pass quickly... or you can choose to sign on as a specialist and ride the economic woes out unlike us... heh.

Aiyah... NS is just a phase of life... you won't regret it... just make it fun for yourself...and when you ROD... you will laugh as you drink beer next time with your ex-squad/platoon mates.... :D

but based on merit on how you wish to prove yourself during BMT... you may become a Rotifer (Officer) (heh)...

never knew that i was a rotifer till now!!! :(

Hi everyone,

Tigerkayu here. Age 39, hitting the big 4 very soon. Am I the oldest or what? Married with 3 kids & working in a bank.

A friend asked me to check out this site. I expect him to join soon.

But really, I've been very impressed. With the site, & the knowledge & experience of the members. I think the pioneers like AT is doing a very good job.

My marine aquarium experience is just about 4-5 mths. But sadly, I was already responsible for a number of fish death...

:(

I've got a number of books: Robert Fenner, John Tullock & Michael Paletta. But there are things here u wouldn't find in books & I do believe knowledge & experience shouldn't come from ang moh only.

So...ok. I definitely will start posting on some threads soon.

Hi guys! Welcome to the Singapore Reef Club!!!

Thanks for your compliments... like I said before... I just started the engine... and its up to the members to fuel the journey!

Trust that you'll make yourselves at home here... too bad you guys came in too late.. you missed our X'mas gathering at my place just yesterday!

Anyway... we have people from all ages, races, backgrounds, professions and family comittments... many of us are already married... some with kids... some are very young, some are newly engaged... but one thing in common....

WE ARE ALL MAD REEFERS!!!! :lol: