SPS and temperature

I was surprised that SPS can generally do well in day time temperature of 29 to 30 degree celsius.

I am currently at Vilamendhoo resort Maldives that has one of the best house reef. Lots of SPS on shallow water.

This means that if we are keeping shallow water SPS we can keep our chiller to 29 deg without issue. May be only need to chill down if keeping deeper water SPS.

The water temperature here in the morning and afternoon are generally warm.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Thanks for the info solasido! I guess it has a lot to do with adaptation of the coral. We could probably do the same with our tanks, but require long periods of acclimatisation from 26-27 up till 29-30 for the corals to adapt well.

I Love Stagsss

You put a lower temp is to generally provide higher oxygenation level in captive environment for your animals. Also a lower temp gives you some buffer against cases of power failures.

Actually 29 is considered high by standards since not a few years ago it was only 27/28.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

29 deg is possible as the coral has already adapted to the warmer temp over the years.

Any chance of sharing some pics since you're there?

Sometimes the good guys gotta do bad things to make the bad guys pay. - Harvey Specter

I suspect the water temp will be cool even at direct sun and high noon

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

29 to 30 degree celsius = water temp or weather temp?

actually at some point it is 30 deg celsius

but up and down between 29 and 30

it is under water temperature measured using my Casio Protrek attached to swimming pant. Body temperature should not affect much because the water was moving.

I think then in this case, certain acro and stag horn can withstand higher temperature (the one live in shallow area). But the ones live deeper may not survive.

In our hobby we keep various corals and not all can withstand higher temperature unless we keep only those live on shallow water.

so the conclusion is then we cannot keep temperature at 29 deg due to some corals will not be able to survive.

I agree with temporary hitting 29-30degC is alright but not for long duration. This is from my personnel observations when I was hit by a power failure for few hours. Right now my mixed reef is controlled at 27.4 degC max. Good growth observed. Where is the limit? I have yet to find out....

Cheers,

James

www.sgreefclub.com/forum/topic/105744-the-journey-to-the-valley-of-the-reef-by-james

Cheers,

James

Reviving my reef tank :

Crystal glass 53" x 22" x 17" rimless (inclusive of 12"x22"x17" IOS)

Life Reef HVS3-24 with mazzei venturi

ATI Sunpower 8 x 39w T5 (4 x Blue plus, 2 x Aqua blue special, Coral plus)

ZET Light 3 x 3w LEDs moonlight

Arctica 1/3 Hp + 1/4 Hp back up

Vortech mp40w x 3 + Jebao wp25

Eheim 1264 x 3 + water blaster 5000

Vortech back up battery

TLF-150 + Rowaphos

Activated carbon

Kamoer 3 channel + CaCl2 + NaHCo3

150L Refugium with DSB, miracle mud, cheato

2ft T5 x 2 light tubes for refugium

For me,

HighEr temp (28-29) = growth fast but colour sucks .

Lower temp(25-26 , 26-27) = growth slower colour will better

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

| Display : 48x30x22 Skimmer : SK-201 skimz

| Sump : 30x24x18 Wavemaker : 2x RW-15 , 1x RW-8

| Cooling : 1HP titanium drop in coil ATO : JBJ

| Lighting : ATI Sunpower 8x54w + 48x cree xte royal blue Return : Jebao dc-6000

| Dosing : Jebao dosing pump [ CaCl2 + NaHCO3 ] Pump :

| Reactor : FSZ Z160 zeolite reactor & phosban 150

| System : ZEOVIT

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

:wub: >><< :wub:

Hello ! Just a qtn. Colour suck meaning more dull, more brown or faded ?

Brown (:

| Lighting : ATI Sunpower 8x54w + 48x cree xte royal blue Return : Jebao dc-6000

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

What would be the recommended temperature set for aussie sps?

Tank : 3 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup end Feb 2014 ) --> 4 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup early Nov 2016 )
Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC6 --> Bubble Magus Curve 7
Return pump : Jebao 10000l/h ( down in 17th December 2014 ) --> Jebao DC-12000 ( 19th December 2014 )
Compressor drop-in coil
Wavemaker : Tunze 6105 x 1
Lights : Modular based DIY LED light x 4

Chaeto in the sump

What would be the recommended temperature set for aussie sps?

26-27 will be the most ideal.

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

Hi I would like to throw a qn for all to discuss and share...:)

Why would a higher temperature 28-30 resulted in a less appealing coloration compared to lower temperature of say 25-27 ?

Does anyone knows of an actual experiment ( meaning repetitive exercise ) to accertain the observation ?

If possible, a reference to some scientific research or credible info on this topic would be very helpful for the benefit of readers :thumbsup:

Hope this would help kick start some form of research on the topic and provide a different dimemsion of sharing base on the understanding of actual biological/chemical relationship between SPS - temperature.

Treat others the way you wanna be treated...

Base on my observation only when i tried keeping mine at 29 then 26 As i was wondering why must so low temp and notice sps color seem to be brown out after sometime at higher temp.

Observation only lah (no repetitive excercise & my nutrient all along is low.) U all can try slowly slowly veryvery slowly raise to 29deg and see what happen after soemtimes.

what i think is that higher temp water will have lesser oxygen , more co2 , and thus fuel more zooxanthellae (idk the spelling , no need good angmoh lah xD ) in the sps which causes it to be brown since zoox is brown.

Haha i may be wrong, dont come m16 me xD But it seems logical leh. Lololol

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

Base on my observation only when i tried keeping mine at 29 then 26 As i was wondering why must so low temp and notice sps color seem to be brown out after sometime at higher temp.

Observation only lah (no repetitive excercise & my nutrient all along is low.) U all can try slowly slowly veryvery slowly raise to 29deg and see what happen after soemtimes.

what i think is that higher temp water will have lesser oxygen , more co2 , and thus fuel more zooxanthellae (idk the spelling , no need good angmoh lah xD ) in the sps which causes it to be brown since zoox is brown.

Haha i may be wrong, dont come m16 me xD But it seems logical leh. Lololol

Bro, that's a commendable effort to try and think and reason out why certain things happen the way it does :thumbsup:

Though i am not sure if your reasoning using O2 and CO2 is the answer to the browning part. But obviously, you are pretty right to say that the zooaxanthelea is the factor towards browning.

Any other contributions / research artical on this area ?

Am also sure there are members who are well learned in the areas of reef biological behaviour, please share your view points with us so that we can all learn from each other :)

Just my guess and no test. Is it because at high temp 29-30degC, metabolism rate increases, bacterial growth increases, so bioload will increase, Zooaxanthelea increases, everything increase except oxygen never increase, things start dying, nutrients gets high, sps turn brown or stn? Please pardon me for my simple minded theory.

Cheers,

James

Cheers,

James

Reviving my reef tank :

Crystal glass 53" x 22" x 17" rimless (inclusive of 12"x22"x17" IOS)

Life Reef HVS3-24 with mazzei venturi

ATI Sunpower 8 x 39w T5 (4 x Blue plus, 2 x Aqua blue special, Coral plus)

ZET Light 3 x 3w LEDs moonlight

Arctica 1/3 Hp + 1/4 Hp back up

Vortech mp40w x 3 + Jebao wp25

Eheim 1264 x 3 + water blaster 5000

Vortech back up battery

TLF-150 + Rowaphos

Activated carbon

Kamoer 3 channel + CaCl2 + NaHCo3

150L Refugium with DSB, miracle mud, cheato

2ft T5 x 2 light tubes for refugium

Agree on the metabolism.

Claude from fauna marin preferred 24/25degree celcius for sps though.

decomm-ed :

Ydkm SPS reef

Hi Cedric, may I know what temp you are keeping your SPS at? Just want to set a baseline for myself. :)

Hi Bro, I keep mine at 27-29 :) During the day time, the ambient temperature ( which i set at 25 air con for the room ) is able to chill the water down to 27.

The aircon is off at 1am till morning 7am, and the temperature would have risen to around 29 in the morning ( probably cause by the heat dissipated from all the wavemaker and return pumps ).