Mix Reef 2.5×2×2

Davissim

Hi Bro and Sis!

Started reefing not long ago as inspire by my brother tank as his tank is so colourful when I still keep freshwater in the end switching fresh to salt hahaha! Firstly I started by 2×1×1.5 without and sub tank and just couldn't keep the parameters stable as I thought small tank is easier as I didn't did more research as my bro keep giving me advise and i choose not to listen and believe in myself, In the end my tank crash and some corals has been bleach and some dead and now starting to start slow and don't wanna be a kan chiong spider hahaha hope any sifu and reefer can give me some advise on reefing.

Here's my tank and sub system graph.

Main Tank

2103c09cf6b186714fed2ae58c20b6bf.jpg

2d7a1e29f98e861cd7c43801c4c1c7d7.jpg

0d4e0df0f9162c1d530930bac08077e5.jpg

Sub Tank

5092d13260be5490a369d4a0171083b8.jpg

88bd763baa3bbc9906c6018a6f02c983.jpg

82c514eebe515d83ba5a1919d12f3751.jpg

Tank Equipments

•TANK- 2.5×2×2

•PUMP- Jebao 9000DC, DC 2500

•SKIMMER- Skimz SN123

•WAVE MAKER- 2×RW4

•CHILLER- Hailea 66a

•LIGHTING- DE Lighting T5 6×bulb

•REACTOR- Skimz BR80

•MEDIA- 2×Marine Pure Block, Marine Pure Balls, Bateria King, Bio Rods

•FILTRATION- Filter Wool

Here's a pics I took today as I just started cycle my tank today putting raw prawn as a old traditional way to cycle the tank (10082016).

7ea97fdfdc12194f03eaba950cb41924.jpg

fc6d3644886506eeed920ea26c18619f.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Nice setup! Look forward to updates.

I noticed that the return pump is in the same compartment as the skimmer. This means that the water level may not be consistent => skimmer performance may vary. It may over skim if water level is higher, underskim if too low. Hence, an auto top up system is probably required.

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/mysliceofnature/

Nice setup! Look forward to updates.

I noticed that the return pump is in the same compartment as the skimmer. This means that the water level may not be consistent => skimmer performance may vary. It may over skim if water level is higher, underskim if too low. Hence, an auto top up system is probably required.

Yeah I do have a tunze ATO gonna install when I have time

There might be micro bubbles being pumped back to your DT

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah there's micro bubble going to the main tank when the skimmer is on now I still thinking a way how hahaha

You can try to do a plate to separate the skimmer

I have thought of putting acrylic and a sponge on the top between the skimmer and the return pump but I scared still got the mirco bubble....

On Wednesday, August 10, 2016 at 1:12 AM, Davissim said:

Hi Bro and Sis!

Started reefing not long ago as inspire by my brother tank as his tank is so colourful when I still keep freshwater in the end switching fresh to salt hahaha! Firstly I started by 2×1×1.5 without and sub tank and just couldn't keep the parameters stable as I thought small tank is easier as I didn't did more research as my bro keep giving me advise and i choose not to listen and believe in myself, In the end my tank crash and some corals has been bleach and some dead and now starting to start slow and don't wanna be a kan chiong spider hahaha hope any sifu and reefer can give me some advise on reefing. emoji28.png

Here's my tank and sub system graph.

Main Tank

2103c09cf6b186714fed2ae58c20b6bf.jpg

2d7a1e29f98e861cd7c43801c4c1c7d7.jpg

0d4e0df0f9162c1d530930bac08077e5.jpg

Sub Tank

5092d13260be5490a369d4a0171083b8.jpg

88bd763baa3bbc9906c6018a6f02c983.jpg

82c514eebe515d83ba5a1919d12f3751.jpg

Tank Equipments emoji652.png

•TANK- 2.5×2×2

•PUMP- Jebao 9000DC, DC 2500

•SKIMMER- Skimz SN123

•WAVE MAKER- 2×RW4

•CHILLER- Hailea 66a

•LIGHTING- DE Lighting T5 6×bulb

•REACTOR- Skimz BR80

•MEDIA- 2×Marine Pure Block, Marine Pure Balls, Bateria King, Bio Rods

•FILTRATION- Filter Wool

Here's a pics I took today as I just started cycle my tank today putting raw prawn as a old traditional way to cycle the tank (10082016).

7ea97fdfdc12194f03eaba950cb41924.jpg

fc6d3644886506eeed920ea26c18619f.jpg

great sump..

Update yi xia

Recently had a change of the scape of my reef and of cos algae start to strike like there's no tmr, here's the pics of the tank for the past few weeks).

6c14a8322dde2d7433722dd259dabca8.jpg
Diatom algae started to come and stay my tank at 18082016

37805feb2cde13ed1aba74e9b67fb27c.jpg
And finally starting to disappear today which is 3092016

Thanks goodness it gone quite fast as I did a 80% water change on 27082016 as ammonia and nitrite reading has gone to zero and nirate has gone up. And also brought some clean up crew from ah beng to eat all the algae and it really help alot dk if I kiasu or what cos brought 12 Turbo snail and 5 Sally light foot crab and they did their work pretty well

Nice scape. Going to keep sps?

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

• 10 months later...