My nearly complete skimmer

typrobin

• Replies 74

AHH... how much it cost u?! how's the skimmate like??? I wanna try leh. can help? haha

the lousy one tat i am using cost about $150 of material....excluding pump....

the next project should be around $300-400...not too sure...haven't calculate

so far no skimmate...i think becoz i only have 1 fish left...

just discommisioned my skimmer....after a week of testing, only produced a little tea....very sad....

but i will be back for more!!!

Red Devil, Golden Tooth and Moron Clown pls be patient....will show u guys solid proof before making u invest in it....dun think u guys need the skimmer so soon right?? will keep u all posted....

gimme another 1 week....will show u result, if not, then i will not carry on with project...

just discommisioned my skimmer....after a week of testing, only produced a little tea....very sad....

but i will be back for more!!!

Red Devil, Golden Tooth and Moron Clown pls be patient....will show u guys solid proof before making u invest in it....dun think u guys need the skimmer so soon right?? will keep u all posted....

gimme another 1 week....will show u result, if not, then i will not carry on with project...

You might wan to try letting the injector spray directly on the water surface instead of routing a elbow into the reaction chamber. This will help creates more bubbles.......unlike the beckett or any venturi injectors, the air and water is already mixed upon exiting the beckett/venturi injector, thus you can route an elbow to the reaction chamber to form a swirl. For spray injector, the bubbles are form only when the sprayed water hits the surface of the water, therefore the use of a baffle plate to guide the bubbles up to the reaction chamber & also to prevent air bubbles from escaping to the outlet flow valve.

IMO, for thickness of the skimmate, the key lies on the water level in the reaction chamber.

Too low - the skimmate will get stuck on the surfaces of the reaction chamber or the bubbles will burst even before reaching the top of the collection cup therefore collecting not much skimmate.

Too high - definitely watery and tea light skimmate.

By using a more powerful pump together with a bigger outlet flow valve to control the water in the chamber at the right level, you will attain nice thick kopi 'O'. Of cos if you want dry skimmate, then you have to figure a way to get the smallest bubbles.

Above is just some personal experiences while playing around with my tupper skimmer & lots of read up...........don't give up, your skimmer is definitely of high potential, just need some fine tuning..........

Eric