Planted tanks

FuEl

hmm can i ask a question... do all of u guys put base substrate below your gravel or do u put in the cubes of fert into the gravel?

i had a planted about a year ago and gave up because everytime i want to change the plants in my tank, all the base substrate would all come to the surface! :erm:

• Replies 83

Mix base fert with gravel for bottom layer. Then lay gravel over it. If you just dump gravel over the base fert over some time your plant roots will start rotting.

Hmm..looks like alot of people into planted tanks here. Feel free to drop by pet safari...I'm always glad to give free advice. Keeps my day going..long hours are made longer by boredom...:lol:

It's in eastpoint mall next to simei mrt. Met quite a few reefers there so far..most were shocked to find me working there.. :lol: Well..the pay is'nt really very attractive..but at least it's a job I enjoy doing without complaints. Meet all kinds of interesting people (even people who use S7 for luohan.. :blink: ). Also alot of chiobu! :evil::ph34r:

It's in eastpoint mall next to simei mrt. Met quite a few reefers there so far..most were shocked to find me working there.. :lol: Well..the pay is'nt really very attractive..but at least it's a job I enjoy doing without complaints. Meet all kinds of interesting people (even people who use S7 for luohan.. :blink: ). Also alot of chiobu!  :evil:  :ph34r:

wow... sounds exciting... maybe got time will visit pet safari... maybe can get discount :P

the price there always quite steep... maybe now that you are there, can get better price on products :D

Hmm..looks like alot of people into planted tanks here. Feel free to drop by pet safari...I'm always glad to give free advice. Keeps my day going..long hours are made longer by boredom...:lol:

wah u work there?

interesting..

i used to go there a lot to chat with 'botak' (i forgot his name)... :lol:

nw he is at marine parade rite?

nw at pet safari it seems like apisto crazy eh?

Since we are talking about freshwater tanks....

Out of curiousity, does the principle of DSB applies to freshwater setup as well? :huh:

Thinking of African Cichlid cave setup (no plants)... so thinking of possible ways of nitrate export...

I think it does apply... mine has a 6inch sand bed with Deneralle base fertilser... I think it helps both the plants to take root deeper and also for the bacteria to populate...

wah u work there?

interesting..

i used to go there a lot to chat with 'botak' (i forgot his name)... :lol:

nw he is at marine parade rite?

nw at pet safari it seems like apisto crazy eh?

Hmmm..you mean ah-john? He not with the company anymore. Heard he went china to set up his own aquarium biz.

Out of curiousity, does the principle of DSB applies to freshwater setup as well? :huh:

Thinking of African Cichlid cave setup (no plants)... so thinking of possible ways of nitrate export...

? Nitrates don't really harm fishes that much I think.. Do weekly water changes and buy an eheim professional 2 from me...problems solved! :lol:

• 7 months later...

Normally planted tank lights range from 6500K to 7000K only. Popular are also those pink light (dun know how many K).

Lighting depends on what plants you are intending to plant. Some high demand and some really easy as in moss/ferns need relatively lesser light. The other factors are CO2, fertilizers, etc, are just as important to maintain a nice planted tank.

For your tank size, probably a total 150 watts via PL tubes will be fine for most plants. I am using 4x36W 6800K PL light tubes for my similar tank size, with CO2 and fert substrates.

Hope info helps.

Normally planted tank lights range from 6500K to 7000K only. Popular are also those pink light (dun know how many K).

Lighting depends on what plants you are intending to plant. Some high demand and some really easy as in moss/ferns need relatively lesser light. The other factors are CO2, fertilizers, etc, are just as important to maintain a nice planted tank.

For your tank size, probably a total 150 watts via PL tubes will be fine for most plants. I am using 4x36W 6800K PL light tubes for my similar tank size, with CO2 and fert substrates.

Hope info helps.

oh icic i now using 12000k PL tube will it be fine for my plant ???

I actually use a soil substrate... i dumped a HUGE bag of potting soil then covered it with gravel sand... works miracles for the plants... never had to fertilise the tank..

Here's mine...

1m long.. running 4 x 36W PLs at 6500k.. no Co2.. soil substrate

Been running for many many years liao... I think 7-8 years already...

Technically, I thought soil substrate has high nitrate... by dumping so much, wouldn't it cause a spike in nitrate levels (too high)...

Sorry but when it comes to planted tanks, I know nuts...

BTW, if I want to convert my marine to planted tank, I currently have Dymax t5 at 12000k spectrum? Can I just change the bulbd to 6500k spectrum? Wonder if they have that spectrum for Dymax T5s?

Technically, I thought soil substrate has high nitrate... by dumping so much, wouldn't it cause a spike in nitrate levels (too high)...

Sorry but when it comes to planted tanks, I know nuts...

BTW, if I want to convert my marine to planted tank, I currently have Dymax t5 at 12000k spectrum? Can I just change the bulbd to 6500k spectrum? Wonder if they have that spectrum for Dymax T5s?

well for planted tanks nitrate is not necessarily a bad thing.. coz all the plants need it to grow...

and I not sure how much nitrates the soil... anyway I read abt this soil thing from an in-depth freshwater book... so far it's worked out well for many many years, i usually have problems with the plants growing too fast even...

Only twice I had major problems with black brush algae... each time owing to neglect on my part (sometimes don see the tank for weeks)...

As for the T5s if Dymax has 6500k then I suppose it should work just fine... do note that FW usually requires less light than SW tanks

well for planted tanks nitrate is not necessarily a bad thing.. coz all the plants need it to grow...

and I not sure how much nitrates the soil... anyway I read abt this soil thing from an in-depth freshwater book... so far it's worked out well for many many years, i usually have problems with the plants growing too fast even...

Only twice I had major problems with black brush algae... each time owing to neglect on my part (sometimes don see the tank for weeks)...

As for the T5s if Dymax has 6500k then I suppose it should work just fine... do note that FW usually requires less light than SW tanks

bro ervine, you wanna help me with this project?

I stopping marine fishes altogether...

In your opinion, which is lesser maintenance?

1) African cichlid tank - limestone caves with coral chip substrates?

2) Planted Amazon tank with discus and cardinal tetra?

Now, my tank is 5' x 2' x 2' with overflow and sump using a MAK4 as return pump. What do you suggest?

One thing for sure, if I going for planted amazon, I would have to remove my current crushed coral DSB.....