Noobie needed help

hi all, just did my readings .

This is whats happening now....i just did my readings after i added in the new LR yesterday:)

salinity- 1.021

temp - 28 deg

ammonia - safe

pH - 7.5

kH - 11 dh

NO2 - 0

NO3 - 20

its there anything wrong with my reading ?

pls advice....thanks all

cheers!

"How do I know my tank is cycled?"

A tank is considered "cycled" when repeated tests for ammonia and nitrite read 0 ppm. The time it takes to cycle a tank depends on a number of factors, so the only way to know for certain is to test for ammonia and nitrite (NO2).

It is important to test for several days to make certain that your tank is cycled. It is possible for ammonia and nitrite to read 0 ppm on one day, and then appear in significant amounts the next day due to increased waste or decomposition in the tank.

As for NO3 its should be kept below 20 ppm. So i guess you have done bro! Congrats, but please stock slowly from now on - 1.5 weeks per livestock. ;)

• Replies 99

Cool....im waiting for my new skimmer to come in before i add in any LS...

Will test for them in a few days later.

But im still hestitating on the fishes ...hehe

what would be a hardy, peaceful fish to keep ?

i f possible some bright ones ?

i would like to hear from all...so i can read up on them before i buy them.

So do i change my water now ?

like 20% ?

Thanks for all advice :):)

Will test for them in a few days later.

i f possible some bright ones ?

So do i change my water now ?

like 20% ?

Thanks for all advice :):)

Will test for them in a few days later. Good

i f possible some bright ones ? My personal favorite Fairy Wrasse Cheap, easily available, reef-safe and hardy.

So do i change my water now ? Should be alright to stock on and change 1 week later.like 20% ?

Tang are strong and fast swimmer and thus needs the space to swim if not they tends to loose color, stunted growth and die. Even the smallest tang (Ctenochaetus tominiensis) when fully grown can reach 13cm.

Thus for 2ft tank it is not adviseable. In fact, in Reef Central the reccomended minimum size is 4ft.

wat other fishes do u recommend for a 2 feet tank?

pH7.5 enough?

thought salt water fish need 8.2? or something close?

Hi all, i just paid a visit to the lighting shop just now.

I was told that the mH lights holder cost 110 and the bulb for 10000k - $130

17000 - $160.

So in this case, it is still cheaper than those sold in the LFS right ?

i will post pics of the mH lights online tonight as im not home at the moment.

will keep u guys updated ....happy weekend ahead :)

BTW i will be dropping by Aqua Marine later to check on skimmers..

Tang are strong and fast swimmer and thus needs the space to swim if not they tends to loose color, stunted growth and die. Even the smallest tang (Ctenochaetus tominiensis) when fully grown can reach 13cm.

Thus for 2ft tank it is not adviseable. In fact, in Reef Central the reccomended minimum size is 4ft.

wat other fishes do u recommend for a 2 feet tank?

pH7.5 enough?

thought salt water fish need 8.2? or something close?

According the A. Calfo in the Book of Coral Propagation, "Reef invertebrates are known to tolerate a range of pH from 7.3 to more than 9.0." ;)

Hi des, i think you better PM the moderators to re-size your image.... too big liao. If not, wait kena warning. ;)

Beware of temp. increasing and water evaporation (salinity & PH flutuation) when you add the MH to your 2ft tank.

Oh ya, if you want to cycle faster, get those live sand and cure live rocks. That will help to a certain extend.

Eric

HI all, needed some advice on the new readings today.

ph = 8.0

NO2 = < 0.3 mg/l

KH = 11DH

NO3 = 5.0mg/l

salinity = 1.022

temp = 28 deg

got a life rock from farmart yesterday:)

Still finding ways to get rid of the bubbles :(

BTW...my maroon crown has been in there since fri nite..

its been swimming up and down at the corner...is he ok ?

Thanks for all advices....

HI all, needed some advice on the new readings today.

ph = 8.0

NO2 = < 0.3 mg/l

KH = 11DH

NO3 = 5.0mg/l

salinity = 1.022

temp = 28 deg

got a life rock from farmart yesterday:)

Still finding ways to get rid of the bubbles :(

BTW...my maroon crown has been in there since fri nite..

its been swimming up and down at the corner...is he ok ?

Thanks for all advices....

Clown swims in up and down manner thus it is alright. ;)

The rest of the params are ok except NO2 maybe its because added some more LRs.

Btw, did you get there fiji LRs? Although they are $$$ but they are beautiful. ;)

hi bro yiling

i am already keeping flame angel and coral beauty liao. no probs.

i think it should be okie for you.

:paiseh:

newbie lizard

Your tank is not doing well already so suggest you stop advising others..... ;);) bro yiling you are on the right track.... just remember dun stock up too fast... remember stay with a few fish and your tank will be alot healthier and nicer ;):lol:

as for the moving the tank, think i will ask some strong cousins to hep me move them...

Will you be empyting the contents first and then move? The base of the tank can take the weight? Just want to know in case I do encounter such problems in future :rolleyes:

Cheers.

Will you be empyting the contents first and then move? The base of the tank can take the weight? Just want to know in case I do encounter such problems in future :rolleyes:

Cheers.

Have to drain off and remove sands, if not you may crack the tank.

yes !! i finally got rid of the bubbles ...all thx to henry :)

BTW ive found something very interesting...

i saw something growing on the LR...the reason is because that area is exposed to sunlight during the day....

is it harmful to my FOWLR setup ?

is it advisable to replace my tank because the present are causes my tank temp to fluctuate...

pls advice ...thanks :):)

:bow::bow::bow::bow::bow:

post-6-1106640207.jpg