is invertebrates more hardy then fishes/corals?

angmoh

hi guys , i'm looking for some invertebrates for my NEW 10gal tank ... especially a cleaner team to clean the algae and some shrimps perhaps ..

any recommendations ? or any hardy invertebrates ?

i'm planning to get a coral banded shrimp .. do they need any special care ? or any note ?

thanks

my tank info @ www.ang.bz/tank.html

>>

fire shrimp ar... wahh quite expensive in JB ler.. one is about RM30 ...

hermit crabs in JB i dont see any LFS selling ... in SG, C328 got sell ?

coral banded shrimp is cheaper , only RM15 , but it's aggressive ar? will nip fish hor ..

>>

Heres my verdict, for starters

1) a Skunk Shrimp aka known as Cheaner shrimp. (Est. $14)

A must have for a new marine reefer!

Has alot of character, hardworking, easy going, friendly, and if kept long enuff it would swim up to your hand and eat from ur hand.

2) a eletric leg blue hermit crab. (Est. $8)

Cool colour, hardworking - cleansup left overs, reef safe, and friendly!

3) another skunk shrimp, if 1 is good, 2 is better!

Try to pair them up..

4) Blenny, sandshifter-type

Make sure they are reef safe, they will stir your sandbed making sure that it is clean :) Tho this is not an invert. its really one of the "must have" for a new reefer!

Generally super-friendly, full of character and cool.

5)snails

Hardworking, easy going and reef safe.

They are quite die hard too.

I wouldnt suggest coral banded shrimp as they get aggressive with tankmates.

Dont worry about snails falling off and the hermit come eating them - this only happens if you didnt feed your tank for... hmm 10years?

Happy reefing!!

CHeerS!

fire shrimp ar... wahh quite expensive in JB ler.. one is about RM30 ...

hermit crabs in JB i dont see any LFS selling ... in SG, C328 got sell ?

coral banded shrimp is cheaper , only RM15 , but it's aggressive ar? will nip fish hor ..

C328 normally don't sell any hermit. u can try Marine Life. not far from clementi.

178 Hong Leong Garden Shopping Centre

West Coast Way

i think u got to take 154 from clementi central. about 5 bus stop (i guess. can't remember liao) away to Hong Leong Garden ;) hope this helpful to you :)

age.png

http://www.liveaquaria.com/

I would always used the above URL for fast and helpful live stocks reference.

As about the hermit-party-on-falled-down-snail, well, can't tell if its triggered by hungry, but its well known hermit would go hunting for snail shell.

Generally, if you feed (pampering) the hermit, I believe this will make it less useful, it probably would sit there waiting for your feed, instead of performing cleaning duty. :P

There are some few different types of banded coral shrimp, some maybe more helpful.

HTH

'how much does a skunk shrimp sold in sg ?

in jb it sells RM35 = S16 .. is it that expensive ?

the cheapest shrimp i can find is ... coral banded shrimp ... RM15, but size is much more smaller compare to skunk shrimp..

the red fire shrimp also selling @ RM35 /pc . expensive :\

>>

'how much does a skunk shrimp sold in sg ?

in jb it sells RM35 = S16 .. is it that expensive ?

the cheapest shrimp i can find is ... coral banded shrimp ... RM15, but size is much more smaller compare to skunk shrimp..

the red fire shrimp also selling @ RM35 /pc . expensive :\

hi ...actually ... if u do a little finding here.. actually can get cleaner shrimp at 6 ~ 8 bucks.. but around 1" only ...

get your test kits first. since u r not familiar with EACH of the Livestocks

(care, natural habitant, feeding dietary needs, chances of survival thru collection, shipping, handling.....etc) U are in no position to ask general questions. Do ur homework first and asked more intelligent questions.