What is the best sand to use

usally i would go to the beach and get my sand lol but thats only in perth singapore u cant do that ... also wat type of sand bed u making ? a shallow one just to look nice ? or a deep sand bed to denirate

Usually people would go for Grade 1 or Grade 0 sand as they make good sandbed and a suitable environment for those bacterias namely,anaerobic hertetrophs and aerobic hertetrophs to live.As more R&D are conducted now,people have found the DSB to be a huge source of nutrients as they leak PO4 into your system,this is one reason why people convert to BB systems...

well 1 inch is ssb

anyway the types of sand i think are limesand (crushed limestone into sand)

agranite coral sand crushed marble ..... the list can go on :)

i think the real difference between all them would be particle size

most ppl as veliferium said mix between grade 0 and 1

anyway good luck :)

Aragonites are the best.

Some of the lfs carries them under caribsea...

By the way, is 6' too much for a sandbed??? :paiseh:

Its alright, but i hope ur tank is at least 2.5 ft high.

Do you mean 6"? 6' (feet) you will need a 30' tank! Wow.... diving time. :P

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

6" is the minimum recommended depth for DSB.

If you low in tank height, 4" or 4"+ still good enough.

Suggest you avoid mud type sand, although its probably the finest and best for DSB. You will have many headache with it later on, sand storm (far worst), etc.

I'm using grade 0, 4" in main tank. Been running it for about 4 months. Seems good.

IMO... 2 feet tank too small 4 dsb....

my personal experience : http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=2874&hl=

dunnoe if u can see the pics.... i think too old liaoz... kena archived....

but if u got say 1 feet space... u put 3 inch 'DSB'... u left 9 inches of space...

leaving a top allowance of 2 inches just in case... leaving u 7 inches left of space...

wad u want to keep??? flounder ah???

Btw, my apology to bro Mazdadan for using your thread.

IMO... 2 feet tank too small 4 dsb....

my personal experience : http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=2874&hl=

dunnoe if u can see the pics.... i think too old liaoz... kena archived....

but if u got say 1 feet space... u put 3 inch 'DSB'... u left 9 inches of space...

leaving a top allowance of 2 inches just in case... leaving u 7 inches left of space...

wad u want to keep??? flounder ah???

How about a 18" (depth) tank leh?

Qazwer

Pls do read up more on sandbeds as 6" is way too deep for a DSB

Sand grade will affect the types of organisms that proliferate and thus, careful considerations must be in place :lol:

It is Ok anyone call share this tread to discuss about Sand

Check out this interesting site

http://www.aquabuys.com/page/aqb/CTGY/z2i

I am looking for Sugar Grade which mean very fine grade 0.2 mm to 1.2 mm grain size unfortunately in singapore it is very expensive. The price for this grade cost S$150 for a 30Lbs bag and in the US the same sand will cost less than US$25, unfortunately this shipping cost is too expensive. If anyone know where I could purchase at a more resonable price please let me know. Thank you all