Spikes got into my hand!

oh no..

can u determine where the spikes are from?

it can be quite fatal if its an urchin or some other foreign livestock

best option now is to see a doc to examine the injury

safety is the best policy

pls update us of your condition

huh .. don scare me ..!! the spikes are from the LR! ... it happened at Reborn . When i toss the LR . then i hold 1 in my hand . and felt something puncture my finger. then i look at my hand . and see some spikes. It looks as if i just touched a cactus.

Better to go to a doctor quick!!!

I've seen people who got poisoned by unknown spikes till the area actually starts to develop gangreen :sick:

Yes, i've got this too when i handled my LRs last time... If you look closely, they are actually tiny splinters stuck to your finger, or whichever part of you that got stung. The bristles of a bristleworm??

If you can see the splinter, you can pull it out with a pair of tweezers. Otherwise the part will hurt whenever it comes into contact with any surface. Will last for a couple of days then no more pain liao. Think the splinters fell out by itself, given time. :rolleyes:

Yes, i've got this too when i handled my LRs last time... If you look closely, they are actually tiny splinters stuck to your finger, or whichever part of you that got stung. The bristles of a bristleworm??

If you can see the splinter, you can pull it out with a pair of tweezers. Otherwise the part will hurt whenever it comes into contact with any surface. Will last for a couple of days then no more pain liao. Think the splinters fell out by itself, given time. :rolleyes:

I second bro Cornfish's quote. See any spikes or is ur hand swollen?

I see no spikes .. cause i pluck them out ,, my hand is not swollen . its my finger .. and i don feel any pain .

how abt when ur fingers press against any object, any pain? If there is pain, might be there r still spikes in there

Nope .. there isnt .. the spikes i pluck them out .. i assume i plucked them out .. but i not sure is break into half not .. maybe some stuck inside . But guys .. to think again . If the Uncle know LRs will cause this kind of thing .. why will he ask me to choose myself ?

cornyfish,

I F**King kana b4.

Whole palm.

F**King took me an hr with a tweezer to clear my whole palm.

Was washing the filter sponge when it happen.

rogerboi,

Look out for abnormalties in your hand.

Anything not right go straight 2 doctor.

Sorry bro, no jokes.

One of my friend got prick when he was arranging the LR. The tinkling pain persist for a couple of days, But was not exactly pain when he got a tweezers to pull out the spikes. aftertat, no more pain :rolleyes:

Actual fact, he describe it as uncomfort with slight pain <_<

Nope .. there isnt .. the spikes i pluck them out .. i assume i plucked them out .. but i not sure is break into half not .. maybe some stuck inside . But guys .. to think again . If the Uncle know LRs will cause this kind of thing .. why will he ask me to choose myself ?

Well cos different people have different preferences for LR shape, size etc... so best to choose yourself.

Now when choosing LRs at the LFS, i always grab it using pincer grip (index and thumb, of both hands), to minimise the surface contact area of my hand with the LR. So if really suay suay kenna, only my finger will kenna. Otherwise whole palm may kenna splinters, and that's really no joke.

well, i never really use the whole palm to grab LR. Like wat Bro confish say , use minimum contact on it

huh.... Me never use gloves to handle LR b4... maybe if u wanna use, maybe can get those cloth type that was use at construction site . Jus my suggestion :erm:

Aww .. man .. gosh .. Yah .. i will look out for abnormalties .. but i am perfectly fine right now . wat kind of gloves can be use ? i really wan to get a pair man .

I don't think it really matters what kind of gloves you use, as long as you avoid the rubber examination gloves (that doctors and nurses use when examining patients) which will leave powder everywhere..

could be just a light brush from bristleworm or other really harmless thingy

are u still in pain? feel like vomiting??

dont really have to jump at this issue if it doesnt swell up ..

ive got stung by long spined urchin (hurt for 1 whole day .. self medicate with vinegar .. never really removed the spike .. they got dissolved into my system) .. got bitten by 7" long dogface puffer (teeths mark stayed for 5min or so) .. and sometimes by some unknown thingy from LR (but i can usually spot the tiny spike and extract them! )

i tink u jus come n contact with some sponges on the LRs...i kena alot time liaoz..jus pluck it out n nth happen...

note that button polyps will hav spikes oso..