post-5359-1235467016.jpg

post-5359-1235467022.jpg

post-5359-1235467027.jpg

post-5359-1235467031.jpg

false killer whale (actually a dolphin)

post-5359-1235467035.jpg

caribbean manatee

post-5359-1235467046.jpg

bottlenose dolphin (it makes a air ring and plays with it, really cool. find it on youtube)

post-5359-1235467049.jpg

cownose rays

post-5359-1235467053.jpg

cool connected fish tank at a hotel in mexico city

post-5359-1235467056.jpg

• Replies 148

wow my favourite leopard shark!!! very graceful

yeah.. v nice hor? back in 01, when i first dove at similan island (phuket), there were tons of them there.. every dive we saw a few.. v nice sharks and they weren't that afraid of divers... but last dec i went back, never even see 1.... haiz... what have we (human) done?

humans are the most advance living creature on planet earth. mother nature has given us with the knowledge and skill to preserve this earth. but do we do? we kill it. slowly. it is ultimately our own genius that will be our downfall. its happening world wide. unessecary killing and consumption of animals in china, even though there is sufficient cow,chicken etc etc, rare and exotic species are being kill and consume. why? because of ignorance and power.

logging is happening worldwise, global warming, pollution. its out responsibility to take care of the earth and its inhabitants. but we choose to play god and rule this earth. so clever we are to decide the fate of the earth...but never did we think about the fate of ourselves, when this earth is no more (:

my 2 cents.

Sea World, Orlando, FL, USA

Enjoy!

Leopard shark

post-5359-1235467003.jpg

lepoard shark w/ golden trevally

post-5359-1235467008.jpg

black tip reef shark

post-5359-1235467012.jpg

killer whale aka "shamu"

post-5359-1235467016.jpg

post-5359-1235467022.jpg

post-5359-1235467027.jpg

post-5359-1235467031.jpg

false killer whale (actually a dolphin)

post-5359-1235467035.jpg

caribbean manatee

post-5359-1235467046.jpg

bottlenose dolphin (it makes a air ring and plays with it, really cool. find it on youtube)

post-5359-1235467049.jpg

cownose rays

post-5359-1235467053.jpg

cool connected fish tank at a hotel in mexico city

post-5359-1235467056.jpg

Wow connected de arh... :eyebrow:

yup! there's a sailfin swimming over to the next tank!

there's also a very unique tank at underwater world... it allows you to stick your hand into the water at mid tank level and feed the fish. for some reason the water doesn't flow out from that opening... which it should due to the placing of the opening? too bad i dun have a pic of that.. hand was too wet to use the camera after sticking my hand in

yup! there's a sailfin swimming over to the next tank!

there's also a very unique tank at underwater world... it allows you to stick your hand into the water at mid tank level and feed the fish. for some reason the water doesn't flow out from that opening... which it should due to the placing of the opening? too bad i dun have a pic of that.. hand was too wet to use the camera after sticking my hand in

you mean OUR underwater world?? strange, didnt see it the last time i was there... hmm... maybe it's high time i go check it out... has never been to UWW before...

yeah yeah.. pic is here...

taken for my friend from NY.. =]

post-5684-1236170052.jpg

post-5684-1236170062.jpg

if im not wrong it has something to do with air pressure. as we all know, air pressure presses down against us. the air press against the "hole" where ur hands go in, and presses at the top where the surface of the water is. and because standard atmospheric pressure is the same around us, both pressure are equally exterted, and maintains equlibrium, thus no water spill out. I THINK. correct me someone if im wrong, this is my best explanation how come its like this.

here is a poorly drawn picture to illustrate... the red arrows show the air pressure. equal.

post-15755-1236175695.jpg

if im not wrong it has something to do with air pressure. as we all know, air pressure presses down against us. the air press against the "hole" where ur hands go in, and presses at the top where the surface of the water is. and because standard atmospheric pressure is the same around us, both pressure are equally exterted, and maintains equlibrium, thus no water spill out. I THINK. correct me someone if im wrong, this is my best explanation how come its like this.

here is a poorly drawn picture to illustrate... the red arrows show the air pressure. equal.

yeah i think you are on to something. the tank itself is maintained at a lower pressure, so that the atmospheric pressure exerted at the opening is enough to stop the water from flowing out... think of it as a semi vacuum in the tank... the 'semi vacuum' 'sucks' the water in the tank maintaining it at that level... interesting!

and cool picture of the hand in the tank btw.. haha

yeah yeah.. pic is here...

taken for my friend from NY.. =]

post-5684-1236170052.jpg

post-5684-1236170062.jpg

That was a lousy 1, I spent my 2 bucks to buy the food no fishes eat so just let go and it floated up to the surface lorh... Haiz... <_<

This was wad they reported in last year's LRD (little red dot) There's a vacuum at the top sucking so that there wasn't any spillage.. :upsidedown:

• 4 months later...
Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

The main tank called the 'Kuroshio Sea' holds 1,981,290 gallons of water and features the world's second largest acrylic glass panel, measuring 8.2 meters by 22.5 meters.

http://www.muchosucko.com/show/okinawa_chu..._aquarium-61563

Enjoy ;):mellow:

Ahem... a healthier link. :heh:

Hmmm... End of this year going to Macau... Any chance of seeing any public marine tank thr?? :unsure:

• 9 months later...

Saw this tank at VivoCity today..

go check it out if you're around there..

was very attracted to the pair of true percs in the tank..

some pictures..

post-16223-12754850082547_thumb.jpg

post-16223-12754850860622_thumb.jpg

post-16223-12754850992604_thumb.jpg

Saw this tank at VivoCity today..

go check it out if you're around there..

was very attracted to the pair of true percs in the tank..

some pictures..

post-16223-12754850082547_thumb.jpg

post-16223-12754850860622_thumb.jpg

post-16223-12754850992604_thumb.jpg

Tank at vivocity? Got meh? U mean 无招牌?

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Btw,I'm going to Hokkaido this coming 12th. Any1 know any famous place there where I can find marine fish coz wanna bring back... Haha

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Sometime misses the giant tank use to be at wisma thou most or all of the coral were fake wan...

Fishes there were nice...

• 10 months later...
  • 3 months later...