tanks

ivor

• SRC Member

hey guys out there!!

anyone know where to customise tanks? 4feet by 2 feet by 2feet or 2.5feet?

price?

and as im new to marine, wads a SUMP? is it a must for all marine? thanks a million..!

Buying 2x2x2 tank cabinet with sump :) pm me!

• SRC Member

hi i think you posted in the wrong forum but no worries we were all "newbies" once b4 :lol:

mod can help to shift thread :thanks:

sump is for storage of equipment such as skimmer, return pump, chiller pump, as well as mechanical filtration (putting of wool to trap debris leaving the main tank).

this is a link showing the compartmentalized sump, look for diagram

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/plumbingmarart.htm

there are many pros for sump, the main thing is integrating the pumps and skimmer in the marine system while at the same time leaving them out of the main/display tank. they can be rather messy and become an eyesore, if put in the tank itself. :pinch:

but it is not a MUST to have a sump, many examples of successful marine tanks w/o, but since you are setting up a 4ft then might as well do it well; the sump way

here are some links that may help u in this hobby:

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/marine/index.htm

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=3141

all the best

p.s i hope u know what you are getting into, this hobby is beautiful, rewarding as it is expensive, time consuming and sometimes downright frustrating. Its what you make of it :peace:

• SRC Member
hi i think you posted in the wrong forum but no worries we were all "newbies" once b4 :lol:

mod can help to shift thread :thanks:

sump is for storage of equipment such as skimmer, return pump, chiller pump, as well as mechanical filtration (putting of wool to trap debris leaving the main tank).

this is a link showing the compartmentalized sump, look for diagram

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/plumbingmarart.htm