Utility Bills

Melvyn Tan

I just received my utility bills for the month ! Guess how much S$354 ! Everytime when it reaches May 05th month of the year, the farking bill always increases for no reason !

I checked !

1) no i did not purchased a new chiller for my tank

2) all equipments are maintained so ascertained of maximum operation

3) just changed a fridge (the lightening & thunder sometime ago causes the whole house to trip - must be the lousy lightening protection afforded by the developer, causing my fridge to fried) did not use the fridge for almost 1 week - so supposed to have savings instead

4) My new fridge has inverter system, so it should save on electricity not increase it

5) this months' weather is exceptional, more rain than usual unlike the rest of the May months, so usage of bills for air-con and all should be average or slightly lower

6) everything else status quo

so how the hell the bills total up so much ?

Did they increased the tariffs again? Chi bei ! so the "speculation" they told are true, give first take later?

Whoah bro you have another skimmer ah...whats the cover of the schuran collection cup doing on your signature? want to collect "sai chwee" is it? or you using the skimmer cup as a begging cup begging for more progress package? thought you just took home a box of extra "progress package" hehehhehe

I sold my precious metals too fast, else it would have cushion this effect comfortably! nabei Gold price today S$700 per oz !

My May PUB bill indicates electricity tariff is still at 20/21 cents per kW/h. Could your bill be an estimate for the month instead of an actual reading?

I once had an estimated PUB bill that indicated $100+ for gas supply usage alone -- only a 'sze cha' food stall could probably use that much gas.

When I went down to PUB to challenge the estimate the customer service person just couldn't get herself to admit to their mistake. She said that estimates were based on average usage over the last 3 months. I had brought along my previous bills that showed 0 gas usage and I questioned their calculation for this estimation. In the end she said I should ignore the bill and wait for the next one the following month for the amended amount.

Good thing I don't believe in paying by GIRO for bills, otherwise they would have conveniently deducted the amount of $300+.

saltwateraquariumhobby.com -- a work in progress!

So what should i do? ignore the bill ah..

Huh? Got such thing as estimated billing one ah.. darn.. my dad always wanna hammer mi when the bill hits 250... so now i dun leave my comp on 24hrs leow.. off whenever not in use.. walk ard in dark when tank lights are off.. shower twice a day instead of 4 times a day~~

ps: was kidding abt the last pt

Normal bills about S$280/- that is with my family.

Previously 2 person world only S$110-S$150 at most !

Did they increased the tariffs again? Chi bei ! so the "speculation" they told are true, give first take later?

come on lah .. you really believe they give you $$ izit.. No need speculations also know. They give and take back few times more from you.. remember they always think 10yrs ahead..

I totally understand how you feel... When my electricity bill came one month, it rose by ard $250!! I called them and they said that the bills from the previous few months were merely estimates. What the! :pinch: Gave my parents such a heart attack when they saw the electricity bill. :(:paiseh:

Thought they increased the tariff for the blardee bills again? No wonder more and more ppl giving up this hobby.. Sigh.. sibeh sian

Another solution is to downgrade to a smaller house(non private developement) :P . I understand per KW charge is lesser for 3 and 4 rooms flat. My friend at holland village switches on his air con for whole house(windows never opened except for cleaning) whenever he is home and bills only come up to $100. He mentioned that his utitlity bills are even waived on certain months government feels generous. He had his 4 room flat renovated in condo style and is very luxurious.

Time to downgrade? Anyway, most of us are living in homes too big . :lol:

Technically, electricity and water tariffs are the same whether its HDB/condo/private.

The variance is in the charges for waterborne/sanitary appliance and rubbish removal services.

But then again I have noticed a difference in electricity consumption from the time I lived in a rented condo and my present HDB. And electricity consumption for the condo was well and above common rationalisations such as 'bigger room size = increase aircon' type formulas...

saltwateraquariumhobby.com -- a work in progress!

I totally understand how you feel... When my electricity bill came one month, it rose by ard $250!! I called them and they said that the bills from the previous few months were merely estimates. What the! :pinch: Gave my parents such a heart attack when they saw the electricity bill. :(:paiseh:

It gave your parents the :pinch: but in my case lucky thing this time round my Mrs did not put me in the oven for grilling :lol:

There are privileges of lower charging rate to smaller units via rebates and all, so actually having a smaller unit but making it luxurious might be the right thing to do.

Oh yeah ! smaller fully air-con 24/7 house with a huge tank makes sense, at least you need no chiller for the system.

hhahaha...must save for retirement mah....