i got 3 common clown fishes

1st i got a pair.. both abt 1.5inches??

with me since 01/07/06

07/08/06 - 1st pair gone MIA..

find and find, flip LRs oso.. cant find

that is the most irritating part!

no idea where it went! :cry:

thou common clowns are cheap.. BUT... haiz.. :(

imagine its ur Blue tang or achillies tang??

how will u feel?? haha.. damn fed up rite?? :angry:

11/08/06 - introduce another 3.5" common clown in..

so now i got a pair again...

observe the big guy for awhile..

looks ok, did not bully any fishes (as i tot is big size, tend to act fierce) :lol:

but tio bully by yellow tail damsel and brown surgeon tang instead

chasing ard and a few attempt to bite to bite each other with the damsel only

D-DAY +2 - observe it, its left fin seems to have problem

cuz it only swim with one fin leh! the onther one seems to balance nia..

the other fin isnt not moving much

and it dun seems to eat whenever it feed every fish..

then small blood mark observe on its side belly

immediate action i catch it and quaratine it..

D-Day +3 - let it outta the quaratine box as i think it is quite pitiful to be in there

i observe it closely for a few hours..

looks ok.. Still not eating and stuff..

and occassionally chasing by the damsel

D-Day +4 - still see the big guy in the morning b4 i went for work

4 hours later, my mum called and say that there is an orange looking thing on the floor under the dinning table (which is juz next to my tank)

said my fish jumped out and it has hardened aly.. :shock:

speechless.. abit sad.. but @ least i noe how it died..

so heart not so pain after all..

myb becuz i am prepared for that juz din expect it to jump out

FYI i did not let them watch FINDING NEMO the movie

:lol::lol:

D-Day +6 (which is todae 17/08/06)

morning my fishes.. all greeted me

except for my last common clown fish!

where is it?? :cry:

even the last one standing (which is the one that tahan the longest one)

oso gone.. MIA :ph34r: play ninja?

i got no anemone for them to protect them

and they got no hiding place oso as they dun like to hide in LRs (duno y)

they will usually juz swim ard in front and sleep where-ever @ nite

always can see them no matter which angle u look @ the tank

summore orange color.. very obvious one..

today cannot find.. fate same as the 1st one

MIA.. look high and low still cant find..

sadden.. the most irritating part.. thou they are cheap fishes..

but still are small lifes.. saddening..

am i not fated with clowns?

still tot of owning a pair of trues soon..

but now.. relax 1st..

:evil: all my clowns die on me :angel:

my water para is quite ok

PH and ammonia is alrite

No2 and NO3 din check yet thou

but my frens having high NO2 and NO3 in their tank are doing fine leh

their corals are nice, fishes enjoy themselves

no fatality so far ..

y mine?? :cry:

haiz.. nemo.. WHY??

:(:cry2:

anyone share the same fate??

...not sure what to say to you man...I got 1 maroon clown that survived 2 tank crashes! The 1st crash wiped out all fishes...including damsels! Unless your fish jumped out and you didn't find...do you have something else in your tank eating dead fishes???

bro, how big is your tank? Normally for fish to jump out of tank would mean that they are stressed. Either by the water parameters or other fishes in your tank. Damsel are known to be aggressive and should be added last to the tank if possible. Injuries on the last clown fish u added is evident that it is being attacked by other fishes in your tank thus it is being stressed. Maybe you should "lock up" your damsel first for a few days when adding new fishes. Will also be good to add new LS when the lights are off.. so they have more time to adjust and the other fishes wun bother it much cos they will most likely be ZZzzzzz This is just my 2 cents worth.

my tank is a 2.5ft..

parameter is fine..

i think its stressed up too..

try catching damsel, but u noe its damn difficult

nope.. there is notting that eat dead stuff in my tank

i clear all the crabbies..

myb i will try ur matter when i add new fishes..

thanks anyway..

u mean mi having high no3 & no2 i think i really have a problem with NO3 i tested it read 200ppm but wat the hell it shloud out all my coral but hei all my coral well and healthy.Maybe my test kit contaminated or wat dun know why.....hehe.But i have grow alot macroalglea in the refugium to help maybe u should try but messis.

Never put that DAMM DAMSEL in yr tank unless u just want to keep damsel but nothing else, really nothing else. It kill my antias and gorby. Took me 1 day to clear my 5 x 2 x 2.5 ft tank to get to them out to dry land forever.....

there is nothing to do with the high NO2 NO3. i got 3 clowsn in my small pico, which i din pay any attention to. got 3 clowns inside, and i am quite sure that the NO2 in the tank is actually quite high. they are all still eating and all.

clowns are the hardiest of fishes IMO. same as damsels, if you get the healthy species. if you din get the healthy ones in the first place, they would have been stressed up enough. and i never had a jumping clown before. if they did jump right out of the tank, it would have to mean that they are super super stressed out...

actually i seen before. my female clownfish once jump into the overflow. as she was sleeping near the overflow i on the light out of sudden thus she got a shock and jumped into the overflow. parameter all was in good amount at that time. so maybe you would have shock them thus make them jump out of the tank

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

umm.. myb?? i wasnt @ the crime scene when the nemo made that jumped! i saw it last @ 6am b4 i went to work..

later in the morning.. call received, the body was found..

myb like wat weisheng said.. due to shock and stress building up, it jumped out to find nether world..

i got 3 common clown fishes

1st i got a pair.. both abt 1.5inches??

with me since 01/07/06

07/08/06 - 1st pair gone MIA..

find and find, flip LRs oso.. cant find

that is the most irritating part!

no idea where it went! :cry:

thou common clowns are cheap.. BUT... haiz.. :(

imagine its ur Blue tang or achillies tang??

how will u feel?? haha.. damn fed up rite?? :angry:

11/08/06 - introduce another 3.5" common clown in..

so now i got a pair again...

observe the big guy for awhile..

looks ok, did not bully any fishes (as i tot is big size, tend to act fierce) :lol:

but tio bully by yellow tail damsel and brown surgeon tang instead

chasing ard and a few attempt to bite to bite each other with the damsel only

D-DAY +2 - observe it, its left fin seems to have problem

cuz it only swim with one fin leh! the onther one seems to balance nia..

the other fin isnt not moving much

and it dun seems to eat whenever it feed every fish..

then small blood mark observe on its side belly

immediate action i catch it and quaratine it..

D-Day +3 - let it outta the quaratine box as i think it is quite pitiful to be in there

i observe it closely for a few hours..

looks ok.. Still not eating and stuff..

and occassionally chasing by the damsel

D-Day +4 - still see the big guy in the morning b4 i went for work

4 hours later, my mum called and say that there is an orange looking thing on the floor under the dinning table (which is juz next to my tank)

said my fish jumped out and it has hardened aly.. :shock:

speechless.. abit sad.. but @ least i noe how it died..

so heart not so pain after all..

myb becuz i am prepared for that juz din expect it to jump out

FYI i did not let them watch FINDING NEMO the movie

:lol::lol:

D-Day +6 (which is todae 17/08/06)

morning my fishes.. all greeted me

except for my last common clown fish!

where is it?? :cry:

even the last one standing (which is the one that tahan the longest one)

oso gone.. MIA :ph34r: play ninja?

i got no anemone for them to protect them

and they got no hiding place oso as they dun like to hide in LRs (duno y)

they will usually juz swim ard in front and sleep where-ever @ nite

always can see them no matter which angle u look @ the tank

summore orange color.. very obvious one..

today cannot find.. fate same as the 1st one

MIA.. look high and low still cant find..

sadden.. the most irritating part.. thou they are cheap fishes..

but still are small lifes.. saddening..

am i not fated with clowns?

still tot of owning a pair of trues soon..

but now.. relax 1st..

:evil: all my clowns die on me :angel:

my water para is quite ok

PH and ammonia is alrite

No2 and NO3 din check yet thou

but my frens having high NO2 and NO3 in their tank are doing fine leh

their corals are nice, fishes enjoy themselves

no fatality so far ..

y mine?? :cry:

haiz.. nemo.. WHY??

:(:cry2:

anyone share the same fate??

mi too...i got no fate wif 'nemo' too..... total 7 deaths.

either kena clown fish dieases when juz intro in....,or stress by damsels and tomato...... and some oso maybe not sure why it die.