Nano Soho reef

yvoneysl

Hey guys/gals...

I got a small old planted tank from my previous office, which had been laying in the living hall for months empty & dirty now...

I'm going to transform this into a nano tank for shrimps inside my home office so that's something to look at while I'm working

Basic spec

Tank 950 x 180 x 280

Volmun 45I

Light 1 x T5

Subatrate Live araganite sand

Rock Tonga branch live rock

Here is my questions,

What Wave maker suitable for nano???

Do I need a filter ???

Do I need a skimmer ???

Most important... can I do without a Chiller ???

post-69-1167773472.jpg

• Replies 90

mayb u can buy external skimmer n place them behind ur tank...

wat shrimps u intend to keep?

shrimps dun move ard a lot lehz...

hoe u goin to view them ?

most of them tend to hide unless got food...

Possible to do without skimmer?? since most of the shrimps will be as small as 1-2cm... :P but need to add in some anemones

Initial idea is to keep the shrimps in my refugium... but think they are too tiny to be view... might end up in the main tank as food

Shrimps wanted list

Gnathophyllum americanum (Striped bumblebee shrimp)

Thor amboinensis (Squat shrimp)

Periclimenes sp. (Transparent commensal shrimp)

and many many more if I can find :lol:

I think use a eheim 2227. great bio action and the way that water returns into your tank, its in pulses so its really like wave.

I'd advise use chiller lar. maybe a small one. from your aquarium experience in planted i think you'd already observe that plants do better in cooler water. same goes for marine lor. so i really recommend a chiller.

The boss of jireh say he can keep 200pieces of fish in one tank without using skimmer. i don't know how he do it, but you can try lar. haha!

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

I think use a eheim 2227. great bio action and the way that water returns into your tank, its in pulses so its really like wave.

I'd advise use chiller lar. maybe a small one. from your aquarium experience in planted i think you'd already observe that plants do better in cooler water. same goes for marine lor. so i really recommend a chiller.

The boss of jireh say he can keep 200pieces of fish in one tank without using skimmer. i don't know how he do it, but you can try lar. haha!

Will go without skimmer & filter at the moment... try my best to keep bio-load to min & let marcoalgeas take care of the DOC

No budget for chiller now... will add in later...now limit light to 1 no of T5 & locate circulation pump externally... hope that help :pinch:

wah the space so tight.. heng u'r skinny.. if u like me fat fat, the hand sure kenna stucked... 

bro the space above the tank seems very small leh. when your lighting goes in i think u will have problems cleaning the tank 

;) Got too much problems with the making of this tank...

thinking of aborting the whole ideal... sad :cry2:

muahaha don abort lar. it will be a very nice tank. btw i dont think a chiller is necessary leh. the enviroment looks relatively cool from what i see in the picture lar. haha and the equipment used will be small. there is some space behind the tank too, maybe can use hangon filters.

bro...if u are intending to start the tank, i got a mini lobster to give away....u interested?(but it always hide)

Thanks...but only interested in super mini shrimps :lol:

muahaha don abort lar. it will be a very nice tank. btw i dont think a chiller is necessary leh. the enviroment looks relatively cool from what i see in the picture lar. haha and the equipment used will be small. there is some space behind the tank too, maybe can use hangon filters.

Thanks for the engagement...I will try to resolves some problems that occur now, then will decide whether want to go on or not :cry:

1 ;) Unstable tempeature when room air con is off after working hour

2 ;) maintainance problems as the space above the tank is very tight...and yes, PP my skinny hand still can go in :lol:

3 ;) a lot of salt precipitaes

hey..

hope ur tank dun leaks i c many books below e tank loh..

lolx.... some more is salt water...

u put so little clearance between e wood on top..

i tink might hav a lot of salt precipitaes later...

mayb u can put fan n blow at e tank top...

The tank is taken from my old office...not custom made to fit here la :(

Those below the tank are all catalogues :lol:

Hmm... can consider fan after the room air-con turn off :thanks:

aye! just keep damsel lar. that fish super hardy. i know my friend shut down the tank for weeks left only one puddle of water. that fish still surviving well.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

bro ,

get the MCE 300

artica nano chiller

and maybe 2x ATI powermodule.

hydor koralia 1

no need for filter :)

forget about the 200 dollars lah.

maybe try 2000 for the start :upsidedown:

bro ,

get the MCE 300

artica nano chiller

hydor koralia 1

no need for filter :)

maybe try 2000 for the start :upsidedown:

First class recommendation by Hammy!

i also like that say! keke

but can replace the hydor with Tunze NAno? smaller in size too rite?

time to go shopping + eat chicken wing + otah?

keke

bro ,

get the MCE 300

artica nano chiller

hydor koralia 1

no need for filter 

maybe try 2000 for the start 

2000 dollars for 45 litres tank...that will be $44.44444/ litre...

hmm... so all the nano owners here are all rich people :upsidedown::lol: