Weekly Updated - 5th to 11th Feb 07

spotted PEPPERMINT SHRIMP at T95 Jalan Kayu.

Did you see any clown fish on sale at T95?

(~ cci[RR]us ~)
A pair of Nemos :: Deep Sand Bed
Solite 2x24W T5 :: Prizm Skimmer with Overflow attachment

Nope. Didn't see any clown fish at T95. Even if got, I think is only a few (and small) ones. Those normal pecular ocellaris clownfish. They have a lot of bicolor dottyback.

Correction, I mean the normal ocellaris (false pecular) clown. ;)

Oh another thing about the peppermint shrimp. I THOUGHT it is the peppermint shrimp that is sold there. I bought one home. However, after checking online about peppermint shrimps (Lysmata wurdemanni), I have series doubts whether it is this variant.

Below is the picture of the shrimp I bought. It doesn't look like the camelback shrimp (it doesn't have white strips), but it has a small 'sharp tip' that only camelback species have (or so I believe). It's body has only distinct strips at the top, and its legs are long and skinny.

I don't blame the uncle at T95. He didn't told me it was the peppermint shrimp. I 'act smart' and told him it was the peppermint shrimp :P

Any expert here care to enlight me what is this shrimp? I checked online already. It doesn't look like the typical camelback (Rhynchocinetes durbanensis or rhynchocinetes uritai). Neither does it look like other variants of the true peppermint family (lysmata rathbunae and Lysmata californica) :blink:

post-25-1170682657.jpg

yep looks like the Flamingo ... if i m not wrong, Henry brought it in b4 a couple of mths back

does anyone know if there are still $1 damsels around? im looking for some as feeders for my lions. thanks!

Why don't you feed your lionfish with feeder freshwater mollies? Mollies adapts very well in marine tanks, no need to acclimatise, just throw them in. You can get them $2 for a bag of almost 20 from C328.

Damsels seem quite a waste to be feeder fish.

Why don't you feed your lionfish with feeder freshwater mollies? Mollies adapts very well in marine tanks, no need to acclimatise, just throw them in. You can get them $2 for a bag of almost 20 from C328.

Damsels seem quite a waste to be feeder fish.

I do hearsay that the lion will lose it colour(faded due to let of vitamin)) if long term feeding of fresh water fish :fear: .

It sound logic to me..but however i might be i'm wrong 2 .. :D .

I do hearsay that the lion will lose it colour(faded due to let of vitamin)) if long term feeding of fresh water fish :fear: .

It sound logic to me..but however i might be i'm wrong 2 .. :D .

i also hearsay this b4.

alex826768 wrote:

looks like flamingo

Dazza wrote:

yep looks like the Flamingo ... if i m not wrong, Henry brought it in b4 a couple of mths back

Paiseh, wat does/will a Flamingo do?? Will it eat aiptasia? I do a search at LiveAquaria.com but do not have any relevant results.

actually quite evil leh.. :P

Well, unless you think mollies "deserve" to die "more" than damsels, otherwise there should not be any difference in the level of evilness. :D Actually, mollies and damsels are equally "ke lian" (in chinese) when they are fed to predatory fish.

We should try to keep the environment as close to the real ocean as possible, whenever we can. For e.g., some people feed their tangs with lettuce while some feed them with seaweed. Given a choice, I'll definitely go for the real deal.

Since mollies are not found in the ocean, damsels should be a better choice for the lionfish. Personally, I find damsels evil. :evil: They terrorised my tank in the past. They created chaos, instilled fear in my tank. They ran and hide when I tried to purge them. It took me great pains to remove them and I vowed never to introduce them into my tank again. On the other hand, my past experience with planted tanks told me that mollies are peaceful and cute. They are non-territorial and are great community tank mates. I can't imagine them being munched by the monstrous lion fish! The gentle mollies must be thinking, "how the hell did I end up out of the peaceful pond and into a freaking salty tank with a fierce, hungry lionfish? I don't deserve this!" :whistle

(~ cci[RR]us ~)
A pair of Nemos :: Deep Sand Bed
Solite 2x24W T5 :: Prizm Skimmer with Overflow attachment

wow, thanks for the tip. i will pay a visit to ah beng real soon. im trying to wean the lions of live feed, but no luck so far. the remaining damsels in my tank now are very well behaved, as they live in the valley of the shadow of death.

the weird thing is that my cleaner shrimp keeps trying to clean the 2 lions. and they let him. shrimps have very big ballz

wow, thanks for the tip. i will pay a visit to ah beng real soon. im trying to wean the lions of live feed, but no luck so far. the remaining damsels in my tank now are very well behaved, as they live in the valley of the shadow of death.

the weird thing is that my cleaner shrimp keeps trying to clean the 2 lions. and they let him. shrimps have very big ballz

Regardless of mollies or damsels, imagine we ourselves are being thrown into an enclosure of lions to be live fed...how wld we feel?? :(

Anyway, to get back to topic, l saw prob over a hundred of small to large blue tangs at Reborn, many non-reef safe wrasse species, mini size orange shoulder tangs and PBTs last friday.

1. 4

Wts lots of dry rock

WTS 2FT CUBE TANKSET & 2x ORPHEK ICON COMPACT

3. 1

WTS: Clarisea SK5000 Gen 3

4. 0

Jual Obat Aborsi Di Kuta Bali Wa 0838-4800-7379 Obat Penggugur Kandungan Cytotec