islander

age 2 wks

tank -3x2x2

LR -30kg Fiji Lr

dsb - 2" of 0 micron,2" of 1 micron

water - DI water

salt - marine env.

pumps - eheim 1260(circulating)/weipro 3000(skimmer)

pwerhead - maxi 1200

filtration - sponge,activated carbon,zeolite,bio balls,ceramic.

ph - 8.0

nitrite - 0

nitrate - 0

temp - 29.5

future items 2 buy - definitely chiller and lights.

* :P this tank was set up after 2mths of soul searchin n most importantly the advise of the reefers in SRC.they have been patient,precise n most importantly...humor!

-this tank have been cycling for 2 weeks yet...my ammonia is still 0,nitrite 0,nitrate 0,phosphate 0.why this occurence?scratchin head....!

post-34-1068201631.jpg

actually if u understand the process, u just need to introduce ammonia to kick start the bio-cycle..

dead things, piss, vomit.. it all depends. I will says using a dead market prawn from NTUC will do. Throwing a damsel is not good enough, cause

1) Cruel

2) Insufficient ammonia (piss) from one fish

3) Introduce 2nd fish, X2 bio-load (piss), also toxic

4) Introduce 3rd fish, X33% increase in bio-load..etc..etc

With sufficient rocks n ammonia (could be solution type bacteria or prawn),

the tank will slowly but surely "cycled".

*disclaimer - not liable for any problem tat may arise using human piss.

Hey Guys,

My situation also the same leh...(haha.. even the return pump and PH we use also the same..) :D

I got about 35kg live rocks which i guess is pretty uncured... losta die offs and white patches. BUt today is the first wk liao i just test my water condition..

PH - 8.0 ( Do i need to raise it .. if so by using what??)

NH - 0

NO2 - <0.3

NO3 - 25mg/l

Does this mean cycle liao... can not be leh... got so short cycling time meh??

Pls advise.. :huh::huh:

P/s Sorry for using ur thread to ask questions.

JL

Hey Guys,

My situation also the same leh...(haha.. even the return pump and PH we use also the same..) :D

I got about 35kg live rocks which i guess is pretty uncured... losta die offs and white patches. BUt today is the first wk liao i just test my water condition..

PH - 8.0 ( Do i need to raise it .. if so by using what??)

NH - 0

NO2 - <0.3

NO3 - 25mg/l

Does this mean cycle liao... can not be leh... got so short cycling time meh??

Pls advise.. :huh::huh:

P/s Sorry for using ur thread to ask questions.

JL

u using berlin system? wats ur tank size?

i suspect ur LR might hav housed the nitrifying bacterias prior to ur cycling....

that's y these bacterias can cope with ur die-offs.... u hav to wait till no more die-offs comes abt.... this is to ensure that u hav enuff beneficial bacterias to cope with future additions of ammonia sources....

use a powerhead to blow the white patches on a few days basis to prevent too massive die-offs.....

when NH3 n NO2 confirm 0 n no die-offs, then i think ur tank is ready to cope with other additions of LS :)

or maybe the LR from C#r*l F*%M is really really cured.cos the moment i bought it i went straight to the tank for the aquascaping(more like a demolished pile of rubble of crap...hahaha...)guess i gotta to b patient b4 my LS becomes a patient!