Vlamingi_cont's 2nd tank

can destroy yr zoas :pirate: ....once my tank was infested with lots of them bcoz they hitchhike in my zoas :pinch: and when i remove my zoas...they starve and disappear....

Oh god damn it... My zoas aren't opening... :(

• Replies 1.3k

try doing FW dip...add a bit of Lugol solution...it helps to remove all the pests tat cant be seen with our eyes...the lugol will act as a healing agent...tats wat i usually did...

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

always do a fresh water dip for indo corals. lost of pest. less than 10 sec will kill most pests. zoas can take 20min dip no prob, but longer to recover if dip too long. sometimes got hundred of nudi and f;lat worn per dip. but then again the dip will kill inverts like worms, pods and brittle stars too.

Yr zoas must be those indon zoas...dip yr zoas in iodine.

Yar my eagle eyes no prob still opening... Looks like must do the FW dip the next time i change water... But if nv put Lugol's solution can not huh?? :unsure:

always do a fresh water dip for indo corals. lost of pest. less than 10 sec will kill most pests. zoas can take 20min dip no prob, but longer to recover if dip too long. sometimes got hundred of nudi and f;lat worn per dip. but then again the dip will kill inverts like worms, pods and brittle stars too.

Thanks for the advice bro... will be more careful next time :heh: ...

Yar my eagle eyes no prob still opening... Looks like must do the FW dip the next time i change water... But if nv put Lugol's solution can not huh?? :unsure:

i tink shd be ok ba...cos currently i haf run out of lugol...so onli use FW nia...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

i tink shd be ok ba...cos currently i haf run out of lugol...so onli use FW nia...

OK... i've done it the lazy man's way... Dumped the zoas away... Hoping tat the nudis starve lorhh... haizzz...

:unsure:

Bro, I have bought a three dollars yellow wrasse from Ah Beng and he seem to have done the job pretty steadily (:

and I agree with the bros here about indo zoas. They are ridden with pests but a 5 minute dip with or without Lugols will remove almost 90% of them. The remaining 10% probability is left to their eggs and sort (:

In closing, don't give so easily up on zoas because of their nuds etc. They are still lovely and less maintainence required to keep them compared to SPSes.

Happy Reefing :)

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

:unsure:

Bro, I have bought a three dollars yellow wrasse from Ah Beng and he seem to have done the job pretty steadily (:

and I agree with the bros here about indo zoas. They are ridden with pests but a 5 minute dip with or without Lugols will remove almost 90% of them. The remaining 10% probability is left to their eggs and sort (:

In closing, don't give so easily up on zoas because of their nuds etc. They are still lovely and less maintainence required to keep them compared to SPSes.

Happy Reefing :)

Thx bro... Yellow wrasse de one that sleeps in the sand when the lights r off?? :eyebrow:

ya...im getting one oso

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

ya...im getting one oso

Whr you plan getting at CF?? :eyebrow:

Yeah bro, that's the one (:

Where do you stay?

If you stay in the east, just get from Ah Beng. No doubt CF offers one of the best livestock around, but the time and money spent into going to CF to get 1 yellow wrasse will cost you more than what you can get from Ah Beng.

Beside yellow wrasse, my homework showed me that there are good positive results from overseas reefers that green wrasse can do the job equally well. And Irwana has some green wrasses. They are at the back to the left, furthest away relative from the clam tank, opposite 4 blue fibreglass tubs selling anemones.

Hope this helps.

Cheers (:

yongshun: good luck bro to your endeavours (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Where do you stay?

If you stay in the east, just get from Ah Beng. No doubt CF offers one of the best livestock around, but the time and money spent into going to CF to get 1 yellow wrasse will cost you more than what you can get from Ah Beng.

Beside yellow wrasse, my homework showed me that there are good positive results from overseas reefers that green wrasse can do the job equally well. And Irwana has some green wrasses. They are at the back to the left, furthest away relative from the clam tank, opposite 4 blue fibreglass tubs selling anemones.

Hope this helps.

Cheers (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Where do you stay?

Hope this helps.

Cheers (:

thks bro, ya..im getting 1 frm Ah Beng :) my onli concern is my inverts...my 2 pistol shrimps...worried tat will kena wacked by it...

CF too inaccessible for me le...dun drive

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

thks bro, ya..im getting 1 frm Ah Beng :) my onli concern is my inverts...my 2 pistol shrimps...worried tat will kena wacked by it...

yellow wrasse will leave ur inverts alone. mine left my sexy shrimps alone even. not sure about te rest.

I believe it should not be a concern as bro LemonLemon experienced and reported the same experience as I do have. My yellow wrasse left my sexy shrimp alone (:

Cheers (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Where do you stay?

Hope this helps.

Cheers (:

Hmmm... Ah beng will be more accessible to me... :rolleyes:

Planning this week go to GO :eyeblur: Hope to get some nice spses... :eyebrow:

Some entertaining news...

On 9 March 2009

P1130095fs.jpg

In less than a month, it became this... On 30 March 2009

P1140118.jpg

I can see some growth.....Me going to get zoas from GO around next shipment....

girlone.png

Just collected 2 spses frm a nice bro, Clear Blue... 1 green bird'snest and 1 lime green monti... Will post pix 2moro... :eyebrow:

As promised... :rolleyes: Th monti...

post-14611-1238574199.jpg

A close up... :heh:

post-14611-1238574287.jpg

And the green bird's nest...

post-14611-1238574371.jpg