OMG! Look at these hybrids and rare fishes!

Someone on reefcentral hand caught this Pseudanthias leucozonus off east Java!

according to hiroyuki tanaka who posted in that same thread,

"Unbelievable !

It is a young male of Pseudanthias leucozonus.

The species is just restricted to southern Japan; Izu Peninsula to Izu Islands only !

As far as I know NO Japanese aquarist has tried it yet ! "

if it's true he got it east java, maybe we could see this in future! it's spectacular and CHECK OUT THE TEETH!

post-15755-12743549324282_thumb.jpg

post-15755-12743549381667_thumb.jpg

according to hiroyuki tanaka who posted in that same thread,

"Unbelievable !

It is a young male of Pseudanthias leucozonus.

The species is just restricted to southern Japan; Izu Peninsula to Izu Islands only !

As far as I know NO Japanese aquarist has tried it yet ! "

if it's true he got it east java, maybe we could see this in future! it's spectacular and CHECK OUT THE TEETH!

So cool.. But Java and Japan very far apart leh... Hemmm...

java not very very far from us, so maybe we will be able to see this.

the tail is very very nice

java not very very far from us, so maybe we will be able to see this.

the tail is very very nice

But if it is hand caught it should not occur very deep right? or am I wrong...Thinking would this be a one off incident?

not sure. should be hand caught but he didnt specify in the thread. it's not from a collector and i believe it's private collection.

yah shouldn't be too deep. i think it's a one off incident.

not sure. should be hand caught but he didnt specify in the thread. it's not from a collector and i believe it's private collection.

yah shouldn't be too deep. i think it's a one off incident.

Hmm. But we dun really get java shipment often? or is it together with other shipment? Hoping we can see it soon..

maybe if it's around the area they just lump everything in one shipment. java is in indo afterall.

ahh yah yah A. tuberosus.

went home that day from RB to ID it. didn't know gouldian did it already.

how is it? still alive?

Yes, feeding on home bred juvenile percula clownfishes..

Now considering to sell it to make room for other stuff.. :chair:

:chair:

wow chio, is that a type of anthia? any chance of getting it in SG? :)

" The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don't want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people! "

Randy Pausch, (The Last Lecture)

wow chio, is that a type of anthia? any chance of getting it in SG? :)

Pseudanthias aurulentus

Yes, it's an anthias and it hails from the central pacific. never see in SG before. it's quite rare and even if it comes to sg, it wont be cheap.

nothing rare or anything, just a comparison between F. flavissimus and F. longirostris. the latter really has a MUCH longer snout! i seldom see F. longirostris being sold in LFS. and even if they do, usually not big enough to show the extreme length of the snout. :( shame.

Long snout reminds me of humming bird.

It may be a new species too! Dunno if the person caught it in deepdive or shallow. BTW there are no collection in Java right? Only Bali?

nice maroon. but not as nice as lightning ones.

Looks fake, like marker drawn.

what a cute sized specimen....

Sargassum trigger or the recently described Xanthichthys Dorsopunctatus from Christmas island?

Yes, feeding on home bred juvenile percula clownfishes..

Now considering to sell it to make room for other stuff.. :chair:

Does the flame frogfish still has buoyancy problem as seen in RB? How big can it grow?

Long snout reminds me of humming bird.

It may be a new species too! Dunno if the person caught it in deepdive or shallow. BTW there are no collection in Java right? Only Bali?

Looks fake, like marker drawn.

Sargassum trigger or the recently described Xanthichthys Dorsopunctatus from Christmas island?

Does the flame frogfish still has buoyancy problem as seen in RB? How big can it grow?

Hey! your back?? :)

the frogfish is doing very well under joe's care and is feeding on baby clowns. he's considering selling it though.. -.-

you wan buy? lol

Hey! your back?? :)

the frogfish is doing very well under joe's care and is feeding on baby clowns. he's considering selling it though.. -.-

you wan buy? lol

Yes, temporary, leaving again in a week time.

Great to hear the nice little frogfish is doing well. I cant buy la, sure die in my hand one, somemore muz live feed so troublesome.

BTW where is our redsea pearlscale?!

anyway digiman, colinis coming tomorrow at iwarna. i think i might want to try 1 and keep at reefer's place for the time being. might stand a better chance if buy straight from shipment instead of letting them linger in a bare tank at LFS.