this thread is too old

This thread only 16mth 10days old leh?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of my favourite fish only.

Give me one more chance....

saw it eating frozen cyclopeeze, quickly snap a few pix

i think it is surviving mainly on pods in my tank

thanks for your kind comment

how long has it been?

if it's eating, then we're going somewhere.

the main reason why it's still alive and okay is because you placed it in a quiet tank with only 2 clowns and alot of liverocks right? if i'm not wrong, that's what i remembered. alot of people fail to realise that this peacefulness is extremely important for golden angels. and should never be overlooked.

surviving on pods i'm not sure. but a main diet for dwarf angels are film algae, diatoms, hair algae, and other detritus or things growing on liverocks.

if it's eating prepared food, it's a good sign and you can slowly train it to eat more. soon it will learn to eat pellets and you will have a golden angel that will serve you for a long long time :)

good job!

finally manage to capture a pix of my golden

not the best but its my best

That's a good looking fish! Glad you got it feeding on cyclopeeze :welldone:

Hi guys, just to share and get some pointers.

I got my golden angel last weekend. It is a beautiful angel!

After I release him in the tank from my betta box;

I only see him once in a while; he is always hiding behind rocks.

Not sure he is feeding or not.

My blotchy chased him earlier; now my blotchy is in the betta box <_<

I hope to release the blotchy only after one week; hopefully he will not disturb the angel.

(-_-) Happy will do ... (o_o)

have it for 2 weeks plus

tankmate: 2 black clown, 1 boxing shrimp, 1 turbo snail, 3 nassarius Snail

feeding smash NLS pellets daily, but sure if it is eating

will try to widen the range of food and hopefully it will accept it

pix of my setup

246jn7q.jpg

thanks and cheers

Hi guys, just to share and get some pointers.

I got my golden angel last weekend. It is a beautiful angel!

After I release him in the tank from my betta box;

I only see him once in a while; he is always hiding behind rocks.

Not sure he is feeding or not.

My blotchy chased him earlier; now my blotchy is in the betta box <_<

I hope to release the blotchy only after one week; hopefully he will not disturb the angel.

you will not get to see your angel often, or at all with a tank full of crowded fish. esp in a small tank.

blotchy can get quite fierce so you can forget about seeing it, if the blotchy gets too fierce.

golden angels are the very definition of shy. anything less than peaceful or tranquil and you won't see it.

that's why a tank full of liverocks is important for it to hide and feel safe.

one more thing. if your golden is not feeding and you throw it in, chances of survival are very slim. to get them to feed is already difficult enough. to get them feeding in a main tank when it is so shy, is another thing.

good luck with it.

have it for 2 weeks plus

tankmate: 2 black clown, 1 boxing shrimp, 1 turbo snail, 3 nassarius Snail

feeding smash NLS pellets daily, but sure if it is eating

will try to widen the range of food and hopefully it will accept it

pix of my setup

246jn7q.jpg

thanks and cheers

this is a good size set up. try adding more liverocks so it feels more secure. and get it settled down. but it's fine. your choice of tankmates is excellent. i bet your golden feels very comfortable.

agreed with terryz. get some macroalgae to tide over it's hunger strike while it learns to eat more.

many people fail with this fish because they don't understand the captive requirements for it.

dumping it in a big rowdy tank with lots of fish is only going to kill it.

good on you dnsfpl for reading up and setting up a tank just for this fish. it will serve you very well..

in fact, you could put more rocks and dedicate this tank to golden, colini, multibar and venustus.

these 4 have very similar requirements and are all very difficult. they will do well in a peaceful tank

you will not get to see your angel often, or at all with a tank full of crowded fish. esp in a small tank.

blotchy can get quite fierce so you can forget about seeing it, if the blotchy gets too fierce.

golden angels are the very definition of shy. anything less than peaceful or tranquil and you won't see it.

that's why a tank full of liverocks is important for it to hide and feel safe.

one more thing. if your golden is not feeding and you throw it in, chances of survival are very slim. to get them to feed is already difficult enough. to get them feeding in a main tank when it is so shy, is another thing.

good luck with it.

My tank got alot of liverocks; Thinking of removing some.

But not that crowded as I have reduced the number of fishes :rolleyes:

My flame hawks never disturb the golden angel.

So far so good; keep my finger crossed :rolleyes:

My tank is very peaceful ...

(-_-) Happy will do ... (o_o)

hmm....

always thought that venustus was the more fierce among the two.

You got cheated by the multibar innocent face... LOL... The one I kept was the king of my tank... maybe becos it is the first angel in my tank...

where can i buy red grape algae?

how much does it cost? does it goes asexual?

thanks for the info

Most LFS have, Like Iwarna, CF and Ah beng.. I normally buy from Ah Beng... But they come in big bunch...

Quite cheap, only 6 gold coins only..

It wun go asexual that easily... It is the same as red bamboo...

Some time you see alot, sometime there are not.. So depend on your luck..

must i remove it after a few days?

or can just keep like other macro algae

i am using 36w pl light, 4 hours a day only

have no experience with red grape, only keeping chaeto at home

thanks for the info and the lead

must i remove it after a few days?

or can just keep like other macro algae

i am using 36w pl light, 4 hours a day only

have no experience with red grape, only keeping chaeto at home

thanks for the info and the lead

They can be kept for quite long... No need to remove if you dun see any melting of the algae...

They can be kept under normal lighting but not sure if 4 hours is a bit too short...