Binosage's 24G nano tank

albinosage

wow..

anyway looking at your FTS really make me seriously consider changing mine to black sand too.. haha.. :upsidedown:

Yah man, I got poisoned by raydiactive's FTS too hahaha.

Hahahaha, your influence is passing on from one reefer to another. Quick better update your own tank thread!

haha... nothing much to update... still looking for my final 2-3 corals to complete the tank...

only think is the skimmer is at its best already after some very slight modification! =]

Ur LED oso poisoning me... can PM me whr get?? :eyebrow:

Just chilling out...

post-15730-1247284105.jpg

Anyone knows how to get rid of the brown algae growing on the seahorse? :(

post-15730-1247284208.jpg

Peekaboo, I see you!

post-15730-1247284150.jpg

Flame hawk has been behaving weirdly last two days, doing things like swimming up and down repeatedly on one side of the tank near the surface. Colour around the belly seems to have faded too... Could it be stress?

post-15730-1247284314.jpg

Yellow wrasse has tattered fins, but all fishes mind their own business. The tank is very peaceful, nobody is targeting him in the tank. Could it be that he doesn't have a sand bed to sleep, and his exposed butt got chewed off by pests?

post-15730-1247284506.jpg

Is the coraline algae receding? Seems to have peeled back with white edges... Maybe the light is too strong?

post-15730-1247284628.jpg

And finally, new purchase last night from Reborn :upsidedown:

"Hi I'm a marble sea star and I enjoy extreme sports like clinging to the wavemaker! TTYL! Woohoo!"

post-15730-1247284693.jpg

In the time the new sea star has taken to circle the tank one round and climb onto the wavemaker, the older sea star moved just 1cm LOL!

"Just chilling, growing my limb out yo... BRB"

post-15730-1247284798.jpg

Flame hawk has been behaving weirdly last two days, doing things like swimming up and down repeatedly on one side of the tank near the surface. Colour around the belly seems to have faded too... Could it be stress?

post-15730-1247284314.jpg

Yellow wrasse has tattered fins, but all fishes mind their own business. The tank is very peaceful, nobody is targeting him in the tank. Could it be that he doesn't have a sand bed to sleep, and his exposed butt got chewed off by pests?

post-15730-1247284506.jpg

Is the coraline algae receding? Seems to have peeled back with white edges... Maybe the light is too strong?

post-15730-1247284628.jpg

White colour izzit growth tips?? Just like sps... :eyebrow::lol:

i love the dialouge of the 2 starfish. very funny haha

not to worry for ur flame hawk. mine has a slightly faded belly too. but it eats worse than a pig and is very healthy. it does occasionally swim up and down too. but not all the time.

Weeee...... Got my LED modded canopy yesterday from Sherman!

Sherman fiddled around with the layout and white/blue ratio after my feedback about the dark corners. Supposed to be more evenly distributed now. Although the LEDs mostly came with lens, I removed them gradually throughout the day when observing the corals.

post-15730-1247455914.jpg

I asked for two separate power supplies so I can set the lights on timer, now I can utilise the royal blue as moonlight before and after the main photo period.

post-15730-1247456043.jpg

I left behind one single lens on the blue LED right in the centre, for a beaming light effect when I use it as moon light.

post-15730-1247456200.jpg

When fully switched on, this is bright enough to make a blind man cover his eyes! :upsidedown:

post-15730-1247456217.jpg

Wah lau, damn sad... My RBTA was traumatised by the porcelain crab which decided to call it home for the last 3 weeks :pirate: . The anemone curled up into a ball and hid in a hole and didn't see light 2 weeks while the crab treated it as a bouncy bed!

This is the RBTA opening for the first time after I removed the crab...

post-15730-1247456686.jpg

Very bleached right? :(

Some pictures under moonlight:

Anyone know what colour temp to adjust to while shooting blue light with dslr? Fiddled around whole night trying to capture the super luminous colours... The following pictures represent only 50% of the intensity seen with my eye.

post-15730-1247456950.jpg

post-15730-1247457077.jpg

post-15730-1247457106.jpg

Shimmering water ripples!

post-15730-1247457121.jpg

Finally... FTS!

Full LED:

post-15730-1247457232.jpg

Moonlight (notice the beam of light down the centre, that's the LED with lens):

post-15730-1247457260.jpg

A comparison shot:

post-15730-1247457341.jpg

Okay, now a quick observation of the effects the light has on the tank. Previous light fixture from JBJ consumes 72 watts, the LED consumes 40 plus watts, but without the heat. The reduction in heat produced is really remarkable, it feels like a luke warm beverage -- you can even touch the LED without getting burnt (not advisable lah)!

I don't have the time to sit in front of the tank all day and monitor the chiller, but I can say that the chilling time remains the same. The main difference is that chiller really kicks in less often, the time between kick in is increased greatly.

I set my chiller at 26 degrees, and kick in at 28 degrees, with the ambient temperature at 29.5 degrees and all the lights on. It takes 55 minutes to chill down to 26 degrees with or without the LED.

The main difference is that with the previous CF light set, it kicks in every 80 to 90 minutes, while it takes 120 or up to 180 minutes before kicking in with the LED on!

(Will calculate my electric savings in $$$ terms later when I'm free.)

nice led fixture! :ooh::ooh: Sherman did that for you?

Yes, and he did a great job! Hehehe.. :ph34r:

Now my dream tank set is complete :)

The picture seems ok . But you can play around with the White Balance to get a more closer color.

On my canon the White balance have to be set to almost the highest (9550)

Normal daytime setting is around 7000.

Just observe closely on the live rocks and corals.

If breeching start to appear move them further away from the LEDs

or move the LED further from the LR or corals.

LEDs is powerful. Check the LUX reading I just email you

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hahaha, I thought so too, I set white balance to 10,000 and that's what I got in the pictures.

Okay, it's official, the LED light is 3.6 times more powerful than the stock JBJ lighting at half the electric consumption. LUX reading:

post-15730-1247461798.jpg

The LED consumes 32 watts, or 48 watts including the fan, compared to the 72 watts of CF lights. Here's the savings in electric bills with the latest tariff of $0.1928, taking into account that my chiller runs for more than 2 hours less per day.

post-15730-1247462110.gif

$6 savings a month might not be a lot, but that is a 22% reduction! Anyway, besides leaving a smaller carbon footprint, I also have the added advantage of keeping my reefing expenses off the bill: no paper trail of evidence = no nagging from gf. A good way to stay off her radar... like a ninja! :fear:

Okay, it's official, the LED light is 3.6 times more powerful than the stock JBJ lighting at half the electric consumption. LUX reading:

post-15730-1247461798.jpg

The LED consumes 32 watts, or 48 watts including the fan, compared to the 72 watts of CF lights. Here's the savings in electric bills with the latest tariff of $0.1928, taking into account that my chiller runs for more than 2 hours less per day.

post-15730-1247462110.gif

$6 savings a month might not be a lot, but that is a 22% reduction! Anyway, besides leaving a smaller carbon footprint, I also have the added advantage of keeping my reefing expenses off the bill: no paper trail of evidence = no nagging from gf. A good way to stay off her radar... like a ninja! :fear:

Bro, $6 might not be the actual savings.

There will be some loss when you step down DC voltage.

It can be quite a lot if you are using poor quality power supply cards.

Have to monitor your bills closely.

Bro, $6 might not be the actual savings.

There will be some loss when you step down DC voltage.

It can be quite a lot if you are using poor quality power supply cards.

Have to monitor your bills closely.

Yup, I agree that $6 is not the actual savings, cos there are a lot of other factors in play, not just the LED lights, but chiller and pump may not run at the rated wattage too. The power rating of 48W was actually provided by Sherman who tested the completed unit with a wattmeter.

Will be watching my bills closely :)

Edit: This is the wattmeter reading sent to me upon completion of the job:

post-15730-1247474803.jpg

This means that that's the wattage regardless of loss right? I'm quite bad at this one haha paiseh..