mY sImPlE nEw CuBe TaNk

Jameshong

• Replies 100

Nice DIY, bro! Will there be any heat issues causing the acrylic to warp?

Hi bro,

I'm using 2 strong 12V DC Fans which usually uses for plasma or LCDTV and 5 air ventalisation holes at left and right side panel to disperse heat liao :eyebrow: !

Below the LEDs is the 2mm glass filter so there is no direct light shining to the acrylic sheet and my guess it should be OK lor :evil: !

Nice DIY, bro! Will there be any heat issues causing the acrylic to warp?

Should be no problem .However better to take temperature reading of mounting plate after running for 2 hours.

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Wow.. Nice D.I.Y on your LEDs... maybe you could consider adding a heat sink at the back of your LED panels.. since heat is the killer for LEDs bulb..

My 2ft Tank

Tank specification ;

1) 8 mm glass with external overflow tank

2) 8 mm sump tank

3) Main return pump - AB 3000 ( 45 W )

4) Chiller main return pump - AB 2000i ( 18 W )

5) Chiller - Artica titanium chiller 1/10 HP ( 75 W)

6) Wave maker - tunze 6206 nano wavebox ( 10 W only ! )

7) Skimmer - H & S skimmer with AB needle wheel ( 18 W )

8) CR - RM Calcium reactor with AB 1000 ( 10W )

9) Denitirator - RM suplur Dnitirator with maxi jet pump ( 12 W )

10 ) Lighting - Lumen Auqa LED lighting ( 48 W only ! )

11) Hailei ozone generator ( 7 W )

12) Oceanus 2 x 2ft LED lighting ( 14 W) for chaeto planting

13) Tunze 6025 ( 6 W)

14) Skimz FR with rowa

TOTAL ; 263 W !!!

Wow.. Nice D.I.Y on your LEDs... maybe you could consider adding a heat sink at the back of your LED panels.. since heat is the killer for LEDs bulb..

The aluminum sheet is acting as a heat sink for his LED liao if not wrong...

Terryz is right...aluminum plate is already act as a heatsink liao :eyebrow: .

Should be no problem .However better to take temperature reading of mounting plate after running for 2 hours.

I have measured the temperature of 10 Royal Blues after running for 8 hrs by Fluke digital thermometer when initial setup time and surprisingly, it was less than 32 degree :eyebrow: !

Currently, I dun have the thermometer on hand...but will do it again with all 22 LEDs light on when I have it :eyebrow: .

Lighting completed...total 10 Royal Blue and 12 Pure white.

Set have been running for 5 hrs with 2 Fans and the temperature was still below 33 degree :eyebrow: !

DSC00048.jpg

DSC00049.jpg

DSC00047.jpg

Lighting on for nearly 15 hrs.....only 33.5 degree :evil: must specially thanks to the 2 hardworking fans :lol: !

Update.

Sump;

1.MCE600

2.Reurn piump 1260

3.PhosBan Reactor 150 with RowaPhos

4. Arctica 1/10hp with AquaBee 2000i

5. BLACKSEALAB Premium “VolcanALive†Trace & BioSubstrate

DSC02622.jpg

Tank under 10 Royal Blue lighting. Nothing much corals yet...will be adding Zoa and prata, fishes wise...AT :evil: !

DSC02618.jpg

Update.

Sump;

1.MCE600

2.Reurn piump 1260

3.PhosBan Reactor 150 with RowaPhos

4. Arctica 1/10hp with AquaBee 2000i

5. BLACKSEALAB Premium “VolcanALive†Trace & BioSubstrate

DSC02622.jpg

Tank under 10 Royal Blue lighting. Nothing much corals yet...will be adding Zoa and prata, fishes wise...AT :evil: !

DSC02618.jpg

ur tank abit small to keep AT

Keep a small AT lor.. :)

My 2ft Tank

Tank specification ;

1) 8 mm glass with external overflow tank

2) 8 mm sump tank

3) Main return pump - AB 3000 ( 45 W )

4) Chiller main return pump - AB 2000i ( 18 W )

5) Chiller - Artica titanium chiller 1/10 HP ( 75 W)

6) Wave maker - tunze 6206 nano wavebox ( 10 W only ! )

7) Skimmer - H & S skimmer with AB needle wheel ( 18 W )

8) CR - RM Calcium reactor with AB 1000 ( 10W )

9) Denitirator - RM suplur Dnitirator with maxi jet pump ( 12 W )

10 ) Lighting - Lumen Auqa LED lighting ( 48 W only ! )

11) Hailei ozone generator ( 7 W )

12) Oceanus 2 x 2ft LED lighting ( 14 W) for chaeto planting

13) Tunze 6025 ( 6 W)

14) Skimz FR with rowa

TOTAL ; 263 W !!!

Keep a small AT lor.. :)

Same idea...Got reason to upgrade the tank when it grow big meh :eyebrow: !

Was at lck on Sat. There's one more small AT, teardrop not out yet. :eyebrow:

Saw it but there was something popping up on the top dorsal fin so I never buy lor :cry: !

btw, wat's time are you there?

Saw it but there was something popping up on the top dorsal fin so I never buy lor :cry: !

btw, wat's time are you there?

Between 4-6. Drop off kids for class, visit lck and cf, go back pick them up. Just nice. :)

n34281892381_7606.jpg

super impressive! the light fixture is neat! and seems like you put alot of thought into your sump, convenient access to the skimmer cup and u even left a wierd gap in the wetdry box, just for the out flow from your skimmer! impressive!

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

super impressive! the light fixture is neat! and seems like you put alot of thought into your sump, convenient access to the skimmer cup and u even left a wierd gap in the wetdry box, just for the out flow from your skimmer! impressive!

The Skimmer outlet to 1st filtering chamber is to reduce mircobubble mah :rolleyes: !

Impressive diy for ur LED lighting. More pics more pics!

Thanks....but no more picture for this lighting liao...Why :whistle ?

B'cos' I'll be designing another new LED lighting of 33 leds and it has the extra space to extend another 4 pcs to 37 pcs incase of future needs.:eyebrow:.

This lighting includes combination of Royal Blue and Pure white, 3W UV LEDs which I heard n learnt from a few forums that UV promote better colouration and growth for SPS, coral... :yeah: . Beside that, I'm able to have a better lighting coverage for my 2ft cube to cater more corals to add in :evil: !

Casing will be using Acrylic as well but may be using coloured instead of black. In mind, I'm planning to use adjustable alumimum square rod for positioning but not confirm yet :huh: .

Currently, I'm sourcing for more LEDs, Star boards, 40/60 degree collimatosr from asia online store which previously what i have done before :whistle .

As of today, some LEDs are already on the way from HK... :eyebrow:

Stay tune :D .

Tank update.

Some SPS brown off due to direct under LED lighting less than 4 inches.. :cry: !

Currently not much coral and fishes as I'll slowly...really slowly top up as time go by :whistle .

FTS

DSC02644.jpg

LTS

DSC02660.jpg

RTS

DSC02661.jpg

Picture from top down.

DSC02662.jpg

5 buck from Iwarna.

DSC02645.jpg

DSC02646.jpg

my wife favourite from GO

DSC02655.jpg

Free from nice reefer.

DSC02658.jpg

Acan

DSC02657.jpg

My blotchy.

DSC02653.jpg